1/3 Noni AMPS~394+6~250/PMPS~448+3~252+4~308+6~252+9~302

Status
Not open for further replies.

asoolty

Member Since 2010
Good morning

I don't know whats with her BG that is always high ..? now I was thinking whole night about what doctor said that if it is confirm to be chronic heart that Noni will be under life time medication that she needs to take just like insulin, no dose to be missed. it was so scary what she said, that If she was on this medication that I don't know its name yet. and one dose was missing or maybe two max. as 12 hours without medication, she will have a heart failure in one day and collapse !!! she said its really serious and its I have to be very careful with it. Now I'm really worried ! is it the medication that all Kittens with this problem take ? there is no other medication that has less side effect !




Previous Condo

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=86117&p=922506#p922506
 
Re: 1/3 Noni AMPS~394

Aseel,

Why don't you send a PM to Jess and Earl. Jess works for a cardiologist and I bet could help to answer some of your questions.

Come on down, nice and easy, Noni girl cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 1/3 Noni AMPS~394

Don't worry about what may never happen ( like forgetting a dose) spend your energies worrying about how you are going to get her weight up! And look on the bright side, they told you a few weeks ago she was dying of cancer but she isn't, these meds will hopefully help her live a long healthy life!


Her numbers are looking better but you might need to increase again depending on how today goes.
 
Re: 1/3 Noni AMPS~394

Aseel, sending lots of vines for sweet Noni. Good info there from Dyana and hope you get some answers on the heart medication. When does your Vet want Noni to start the medication?
 
Re: 1/3 Noni AMPS~394+3~236+5~223

I did PM her last week Dyana, still didn't get anything from her ,

Michelle thank you, wishing you a good day,

Wendy you are right I we need an increase , plus i'm almost out of the 1 unit syringes and can't find them anywhere ! I have no other choice but getting back to the 2 units syringes which are very hard to measure with the 0.25 ! I searched the whole country I called every and each pharmacy but there are not used here at all.

Ann thats a lot dear, starting on medication in one or two week i supposed ! which is creeping me out @-)
 
Re: 1/3 Noni AMPS~394+3~236+5~223

Hi guys .. no advice from me as far as heart meds go, but it looks like Noni is a trooper .. I hope you get the med answers you are waiting for ..
 
Re: 1/3 Noni AMPS~394+3~236+5~223

I don't know anything about the heart meds, but wanted to send my healing prayers your way!!!
 
Re: 1/3 Noni AMPS~394+3~236+5~223+6~250

thank you guys , I appreciate your visit to our condo, and thanks for the wishes you sending for Noni ;) you have a great day
 
Re: 1/3 Noni AMPS~394+3~236+5~223+6~250

Good evening Noni. I hope you find out the information on the heart medication the vet is prescribing and that it helps her quality of life. I agree with Wendy about not worrying about what you might forget. We did the same thing when PF was dx. We kept asking each other "what if" this or that happens. Once we decided to take things one day at a time it was still worrisome but a little less stressful. That said, I can definitely understand your perspective. You have a lot going on with Noni but you have been doing an excellent job of caring for her and I'm sure you'll do the right things for her when she goes on the heart medication. She is very lucky to have a care taker that loves her like you do.

Hang in there and try not to let things get you down. We are keeping you in our Prayers.
 
Re: 1/3 Noni AMPS~394+3~236+5~223+6~250

thank you John, you are right, It's just so difficult to go on with such decision, I wish for an alternative, you know I won't be able to even travel or take a vacation without leaving her in good hands, it needs someone responsible, I don't trust the vet either. wishing for an alternative.
 
Re: 1/3 Noni AMPS~394+3~236+5~223+6~250

Have you tries eBay for the syringes? Or maybe your brother in Canada can ship them to you. Or you could use calipers to measure..
 
Re: 1/3 Noni AMPS~394+3~236+5~223+6~250

I know Aseel. After a while you just need a break, even if for only a couple hours to allow your mind to take a rest. Having to cope with the treatment requirements of caring for a diabetic cat is stressful enough but you also have the worry of Noni's heart problem and finding syringes and drugs, something we take for granted.
 
Re: 1/3 Noni AMPS~394+3~236+5~223+6~250

Hi Asoolty, I'm just dropping in to see how things are going since I haven't been in your condo for a long time. I am sorry to see the Noni has been dx'd with some heart issues and I am sorry to see that you are pretty stressed out over that and dealing with her diabetes and getting supplies. I'm sorry, but I don't have any input to give you in regards to the heart meds or treatment. Try to keep your head up and take one day at a time. Things will work out...you've got one heck of a support system here!
 
Re: 1/3 Noni AMPS~394+3~236+5~223+6~250/PMPS~448 dosecrease

Wendy, do you have a link to syringes in ebay ? i'm confuse with the measurements in ebay its not clear ! I will try ordering but not sure I can get them throu to the country .. clippers but not sure how to use
 
Re: 1/3 Noni AMPS~394+3~236+5~223+6~250/PMPS~448 dosecrease

thank you John and Deb for your support we really appreciate it , I know I should take it day by day or else I will collapse too ..! so many things to take care of, poor Noni wish we were in a better place where we can take a better care of her ! choices are limited here but won't give up on her
 
Re: 1/3 Noni AMPS~394+3~236+5~223+6~250/PMPS~448 dosecrease

increase dose by .25 so its 1.50 now hope it can bring her down more
 
Re: 1/3 Noni AMPS~394+3~236+5~223+6~250/PMPS~448 dosecrease

I hope Noni does well on her new dose.

You probably already know this but here it is just in case. The Royal Animal Hospital is in Kuwait Kuwait. It appears that they treat all types of animals and animal diseases. The website is at www.rahkwt.com. Maybe you could purchase some of the 1U syringes there.
 
Re: 1/3 Noni AMPS~394+3~236+5~223+6~250/PMPS~448 dosecrease

Thank you John, it's where they diagnoses Noni with cancer ! I really hate that place they don't even have a painkiller ! But no choice it's one of the only two hospitals in Kuwait. Thank you for trying to help. The insulin syringes are not available anywhere here only the one with 10,20, 30 which each line is measured by 2 U . So difficult to use with the .25 and .50
 
Re: 1/3 Noni AMPS~394+3~236+5~223+6~250/PMPS~448+3~252+4~308

Increased dose to 1.50 and her numbers are still high

+3~252
+4~308

feeding hight calories kitten food
 
Re: 1/3 Noni AMPS~394+3~236+5~223+6~250/PMPS~448+3~252+4~308

Hi Aseel,

I hope that when you get the diagnosis and the heart meds that it will not seem as complicated as it does now. As others have already said, one day at a time. If you can get a set of small digital calipers you can learn to use them to measure the insulin dose and don't even have to pay attention to the lines marked on the syringe (often the lines on the syringes are not correct in any event). Here is a link to a FDMB condo where Marje posted pictures of measuring with calipers.
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=79851&hilit=calipers

If you get the calipers, first line them up to measure your current dose on the syringe, then lock them. From then on, until you change the dose, you only have to hold them up next to the empty syringe, see where the measured dose should be on that syringe, then fill the syringe to that spot. It takes a little getting used to, but once you learn, it is very easy. The link that Marje gives to buy the 4-inch calipers is to a company named Harbor Freight, but I'm sure that any good digital calipers would work the same way.

Sending many, many healing vines to Noni.

Hugs from us,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 1/3 Noni AMPS~394+3~236+5~223+6~250/PMPS~448+3~252+4~308

I cant find the syringes on ebay :(
You could try calipers - see this thread http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=85241&p=913972&hilit=calipers#p913910 and http://www.harborfreight.com/4-inch-digital-caliper-47256.html

Or you could try american diabetes wholesale who ship worldwide http://www.americandiabeteswholesale.com/shippingreturn.aspx or it might be cheaper to get your brother to ship them from Canada.

Is the food high carb or just high calorie? Could take a day or two for her to settle into the new dose. Give her time...
 
Re: 1/3 Noni AMPS~394+3~236+6~250/PMPS~448+3~252+4~308+6~252

Thank you Ella, and Wendy I will order and hopefully they let me get them. ministry of health here take all the health shipments and inspect them. I hope they don't make problem for the syringes
 
Re: 1/3 Noni AMPS~394+3~236+6~250/PMPS~448+3~252+4~308+6~252

Or you could try american diabetes wholesale who ship worldwide

There is also a link to their site on the top of the pages of this forum. It's to the right of the SHOP logo and just under the WalMart square. If you access their site that way FDMB will get a commission which will help to offset the cost of running the board.

gan_impression
 
Re: 1/3 Noni AMPS~394+3~236+6~250/PMPS~448+3~252+4~308+6~252

Aseel

You have been doing wonderful for Noni....she is so lucky to have such a great mom as you. I hope you can get some digital calipers in Kuwait because, as Ella said, it won't matter what the marking are on the syringes. If you find calipers, and there is anyway I can help you, please let me know. Just be sure you get calipers that measure in millimeters.

I had a cat with heart issues and he was on heart meds but nothing that sounded so serious if one dose was missed. For a long time I was also in a yahoo group for heart conditions similar to the assisted feeding group. Let me know if you re interested in it and I could send you the link to the group. I know it is difficult belonging to several different groups.

Sending you and Noni many prayers.
 
thank you for reminding me John, I totally missed that ,, I will order through them of course , thanks again
 
Thank you Marjie , I only hope she gets he strength back , Noni was always my favourite kitten, I had some other kittens for some time, but Noni didn't like it, she want me all for her, so I gotta give them all for adoption.

I would like to sign in this group please, I need to know more about her heart problem. and If you please can check on the link Wendy gave me for Caliper, or you suggest another type, brand, etc. I will order one today.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top