1/3 Munchie PMPS 368

Status
Not open for further replies.

ewest

Member Since 2011
Previous post

Checking in on Munchie. She had 5 nights in a row of greens and last night was a blue...but has had several dips. I caught a below 50 on 12/30 and reduced her and then next night caught a 53 but she was rising at that point so felt fairly certain that she had gone under 50 again. However, because I didn't get the actual reading I didn't do a full reduction. The following night she still got in greens but did a Somogyi rebound which she hasn't done for awhile...meaning she started to go up rapidly---I caught from 66 to 91 in half hour and was 437 by morning. I know Somogyi is supposed to mean too much insulin which is interesting to have that after having gotten 2 reduced doses...hm??? She does have chronic pancreatitis; we just redid her bloodwork. So it's possible or likely that may be affecting things. I also don't know if she might need less at night? I don't obviously have as much data during the day and the most recent daytime readings may be bounces from the night before? When I look at her blues during the day on 1.5 recently, she then had pinks at night on some of those days. So she may still be bouncing after she gets blues or greens. Will see how she does tonight. Don't want to keep her at this reduced dose if she really needs more but don't want to prematurely push her back up either.

Thanks.
 
Hasn't really started to go down tonight...at 358 +2. I will check her around +6 or +7 to see where she's at.

Question:
"If the cat will not stay in the normal range after a reduction, immediately increase the dose again to the last good dose."

How long does one give for the cat to get in the normal range if they had a bounce like Munchie did? In other words, I know the blood sugar can be higher for up to 3 days after a bounce so should one wait 3 days before putting them back up to the last good dose to make sure the bounce has cleared? She did get in blues last night so that seemed good but not sure how tonight will be. Even on the 1.5 or 1.25 she was alternating between good numbers and bounces it seems (one cycle green/blue, next pink).

I know this is in one of the sticky notes "Worse case scenario is when you over fill the shed/insulin depot... get very low numbers... then empty out shed by dropping dose too much... or having to skip the shot. Then you'll see high numbers from the combo of the effects of rebound and an empty storage shed/insulin depot. Most react by bumping the dose back up which overfills the shed/depot again resulting in a roller coaster ride to nowhere. Not the way to work this insulin." I don't know that I dropped the dose too much unless she really didn't get under 50 the 2nd night and just got right on the edge? But it sounds like from this to not increase too quickly. Just not clear on difference between this and the "immediately increase the dose again" part.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top