1/3 Mikey PMPS 179, +2 275 non urgent question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marycatmom

Member Since 2014
Busy, busy day here! Had to take my sister half way home to upstate NY. Then my car mysteriously drove itself to the huge yarn shop in Northampton, MA, and forced me to take myself out to lunch and buy yarn. That car has a mind of its own! I got all the Christmas decorations down tonight. I'm very glad I've learned over the years that less you put up, the less you have to take down. I'm completely out of steam tonight, having overdone it, but it was worth it.

If anyone has time to look at Mikey's spreadsheet, I'd sure appreciate your opinion of these three cycles at .25. I don't quite know what he's doing, but then again, he likes it that way.
 
I'm wondering about giving 1-2 teaspoons of the medium carb at +1 rather than +2. It takes about 30 minutes for higher carb to show increased blood glucose, so it might work better to slow the sudden early drop.
 
Well, it could be New Dose Wonkiness. for some reason when we increase the dose the numbers can actually rise for a few cycles as the shed rebalances itself. It can last up to 6 cycles, just like bouncing.
 
I think what you've been seeing, certainly the first cycle after the increase, is "new dose wonkiness" (NDW). What this involves is that numbers go up after a dose increase which is illogical given that you're shooting more insulin. There's no good explanation for why this happens but at least for some cats, it happens.

There's also a reasonable chance that Mikey's numbers were a little lower this cycle and they may be bouncing back up. You'll have to see how the cycle plays out to know for sure.
 
How nice to have a car that has your interests at heart! Don't knock yourself out with all that new wool!

I agree that NDW is the culprit.

Have a great evening!

Ella & Rusty
 
I'm wondering about giving 1-2 teaspoons of the medium carb at +1 rather than +2. It takes about 30 minutes for higher carb to show increased blood glucose, so it might work better to slow the sudden early drop.

That's a great idea, especially when I have to leave for work at +1. I use a timed feeder, but there's always a chance DK will eat the food. If he dropped at +2 on tomorrow's cycles, I'll start doing that on Monday.
 
Ah, so this is what NDW looks like! I've heard of it and read about it, but I've never seen it in action. So unless he dives, we'll hold the dose and see what happens on Monday.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top