1/3 Mikey AMPS 454

Status
Not open for further replies.

JenniferF

Member Since 2014
last thread

I wasn't surprised with the 454 this morning. Looking back when I first got him, he would go very low and then very high. Of course I didn't give insulin last night because he was falling
 
Hi Jenn!

I wanted to post a couple of links for you the next time you get faced with a similar situation at preshot. I thought I'd pass them on to you because it's my understanding that when a cat has come back out of remission, it can be more difficult to get them back into remission again, so the caregiver has to be more aggressive in many ways. I'm assuming you are hoping to get him back into remission again, but i should ask if that's your goal? Hope some of this is helpful to you and Mr. Mikey! :)

Here is Libby's post on dealing with low preshots:

HOW TO DEAL WITH LOW PRESHOT NUMBERS
**** The following guidelines apply to the Tight Regulation Protocol for Lantus or Levemir ****


You just tested your cat’s preshot number, and there is a much lower than usual number staring back at you. What do you do?
There is no one-size-fits all answer, but there are some general guidelines. As with everything else, each cat is different (ECID) and each caregiver is different too.
The short answer is that most kitties can be shot at +12, almost regardless of the number, once you are data ready to do so. The exception is that shooting 30s or 40s is not recommended for most cats, so if the cat is less than 50 then usually the best option is to wait until they are above 50 to shoot. While you’re waiting, the shed is draining, so you want to get the insulin in as soon as it makes sense to shoot.
If it is your first time shooting green, then we will likely suggest that you stall the first time, even if the number is 80-100. That will let you collect data on what your cat will do when you stall. One thing you can do if you are having a low cycle is to get a +10 and +11. Those will give you a good idea of how quickly the cat’s numbers are rising (or not) when preshot time arrives.
Beyond the general guidelines, there are other factors we consider when we are helping someone with a low preshot.​
    • If the low preshot is not part of that cat’s normal pattern or there is reason to think something might be wrong, we will be more conservative.
    • If the cat is not a food spiker or tends to have an early onset/early nadir then they may not want to shoot as low. If the cat has a late nadir, then they will HAVE to learn to shoot low.
    • We will also be more conservative in some cases because of the person – if you are not able to monitor then you want to be more careful, or if you are not sure that you can get back to the board to keep us updated throughout the cycle. Trust me, if you shoot low, we will be watching for your updates and we will worry if we don’t see them.
    • We have to be a lot more careful with the cats who eat only dry food, because they don’t have access to the tools the rest of us use to keep our cats safe.
    • Also, when it comes to very low preshots, there is an unwritten rule that whoever helps that person shoot low should expect to sit with them through any low parts of the cycle. There have been times when I knew a cat’s number was likely shootable, but I also knew that I could not be around to help if the shot resulted in low numbers later in the cycle. For safety’s sake, if I could not find someone else who would be available to support for the next several hours, I would most likely suggest that the shot be reduced or skipped. I will not encourage someone to shoot low and then abandon them.
    • There are a lot of other scenarios, and you always want to keep your cat in mind.

Some general rules when stalling (ECID):
** 50s or higher – don’t feed. The number will bump up on its own soon due to the insulin wearing off.
** 40s or lower – you have a couple of choices.​
    • When 40’s occur at the end of the cycle, it can be beneficial to withhold food and test in 15-20 minutes to determine if kitty is on the rise or hasn’t reached nadir yet.
    • If they are hanging in the 40s for a while, or if they are still dropping, it is ok to feed a tsp or two of LC and retest. This is very tricky. You want to avoid feeding too much while you’re waiting for them to go over 50, because you don’t want to artificially inflate the number with food.
    • --- Example: if kitty is 43 and you feed a whole meal, or feed some HC, and the number bumps up to 52, is that the cat’s natural end-of-cycle rise, or is it food spike? What if it is food spike? Then if you shoot the 52, when the food wears off he might drop back to the 40’s (and when insulin kicks in a couple of hours later, you might have a problem). If the 52 is the cat’s natural rise, then he will probably keep rising for the next few hours until insulin kicks in. If you can’t tell whether the number is food spike or natural rise, it’s safest to wait. Your data will help you here. Study the spreadsheet. How much food spike does the cat usually get? How many hours after the shot does the insulin’s onset usually occur in this cat? At what number is the cat likely to be when onset occurs? If the cat does drop, how easy/hard is it to regain control of the numbers? How carb sensitive is he?

** Test often (every 15-20 minutes, or at most every 30 minutes). You want to catch the rise the minute it starts. With most of our cats, once they start to rise they will really zoom. You want to get the insulin in as soon as possible, because it will be another 2-3 hours before the insulin kicks in and you don’t want to let the cycle get too far ahead of you.
Perhaps the most important guideline in shooting low is that any time you shoot your lowest ever number, you should get a +1 and +2 to give you an idea of how the cycle will go. If the +1 is not higher than PS, or if +2 is much lower than PS, that means “pay attention” over the next few hours. Those tests will also help you become even more data ready for the next time you are presented with a low preshot reading.
Using the overlap by shooting low is a great way to take advantage of Lantus/Levemir’s long, flat cycles, once you have learned to do so safely.
~ written by Libby and Lucy


And here's another post she wrote about Shooting a Dropping Number. I suspect this one was posted while you were in between diabetic cats!

Here’s another misconception I have seen floating around LL from time to time:

“Don’t Shoot a Dropping Number”

I LOVE when I have an opportunity to shoot a dropping number! It’s a great way to take advantage of the overlap provided by Lantus and Levemir. Low or dropping preshots are a GIFT that helps us move our cats closer to tight regulation. This is a Tight Regulation forum, so grab it!

Remember, you are not shooting the number your cat is at now. You are shooting the number he will be at hours from now, when the insulin kicks in. You have probably noticed that once your cat starts to rise, he/she can rise very quickly. If you shoot, you will also be feeding, which can also contribute to the rise. If you wait for the rise to start before shooting, you might be behind before you even get started. When you have an opportunity to get the insulin in before the rise starts, rejoice and SHOOOOOOT!!! Feed as usual and monitor the beginning of the cycle. Feed strategically in the first couple of hours if you need to prop him up until the rise begins. He will still rise, but probably not as fast or as far because the insulin will be there before he needs it.

We do have guidelines for “Shooting Low Numbers,” but those guidelines are primarily an educational tool to help caregivers learn to shoot low. Once you know your cat’s response to food and insulin, then usually you will have the best results from shooting at +12, whether the number is high, low, rising, falling, whatever. Of course, common sense applies. 30s are not shootable, and 40s are not shootable unless you have TONS of data to show that it is ok for your cat (if you are wondering if that is you, it is not. ;-) Almost nobody should be shooting 40s and if you are in that category then you already know it). You do not want to shoot if there is any reason to believe you will not be able to keep your cat safe.

These insulins are not at their best when we ask them to pull down high numbers. They are GREAT at grabbing onto lower numbers and holding them flat. SHOOOOOOOOT!!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top