1/3 Maggie PMPS 175; +3 119

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ann & Maggie11 (GA)

Member Since 2010
Maggie Condo

Yesterday
AMPS 167
+3 101
+4 102 Vetty Visit b/w
+6 100
PMPS 137
+3 67
+4 70 Free Feeds

Morning ~O) ~O) and a nice blue for Maggie this morning. It looks like she had a nice surf and took care of herself by eating overnight fuds. She had prezzies last night after I had gone to bed! Great news for Detective Poo's daily report. It takes a lot of Miralax to keep her as regular as can be for Mags. All other P's are good, and Mags is now napping in her new bed. Mags did wake me up too early but then cuddled next to me after picking her up onto the bed. The alarm went off, and Mags stayed in bed, or so I thought, until I found her waiting by the bathroom door to escort me into the living room.
Mannie, I have my door open for my coffee delivery, mega thank you, Auntie Ann
Another chilly morning for us, 40 degrees. It will get up to 60's later though and sunny. Have a great day.
Healing vines to all kitties needing them.
 
Re: 1/3 Maggie AMPS 165

Morning Ann ~O) ~O) ~O)
Auntie Ann - almost there! Just rounding the bend now. OOOO! I see you, in the doorway, best to hurry then. ~~ Mannie, kitteh barista

What a beautiful start for Maggie with an equally nice day yesterday: greens, and prezzies!! Good job Maggie!

How nice to have an escort this morning. Sometimes Mannie will do that, wait in the bathroom until I'm put together and ready to deal with his breffis.

Your weather sounds great today - sunny! We are supposed to have a sunny one too, though we won't be 60. more like 40. BRRRR!

Enjoy your day today - I hope it is a good one.
 
Re: 1/3 Maggie AMPS 165

Detective Poo here, very nice! How much miralax are you giving her? Zener and Tillie each get 1/8 t BID. Happy Fursday!
Liz
 
Re: 1/3 Maggie AMPS 165; +3 44

+3 44

:shock: :mrgreen: I wasn't quite expecting this drop, but this is a lower AMPS! I tried controlling the drop with a little food 15 minutes before her shot. I guess this can be one towards the three under 50. She did have one under 50 a few weeks ago and wonder if I can count this one as two?

Hey Mannie, looks like I sure need the coffee, thanks and I see you, Auntie Ann
Michelle, it was so cute seeing her wait for me.

Hey Detective Poo, thought you would be pleased. I hope Moonie comes thru today, too!
Hi Liz, it's been trial and error with the Miralax. The Lactulose helps with the consistency, and the Miralax keeps her regular. She gets Miralax mixed in with a little bf and water on a tsp and licks it. I should start counting, as she gets a little bf/Miralax cocktail after both shots and also some of the pokes. She gets more than 1/8 tsp each each time. She probably gets 3/4 to 1 tsp. Miralax a day. I'm trying to lessen it just a tad, as the poo has been very soft but not to the point of liquipoo.
 
Re: 1/3 Maggie AMPS 165; +3 44

Hi guys .. well it looks like maggie is wanting some action today! Glad to hear her LB activity is still going well .. makes detective poo very happy! And how nice she escorted you to the living room, you just never know what might be lurking around those corners! have a great day guys!
 
Re: 1/3 Maggie AMPS 165; +3 44

Wow - that is quite the +3 there for Miss Maggie today!!! I would think it counts as her second drop under 50...but I'm not quite sure!

Bring it up a big, Mags! Have a great day, Ann!
 
Re: 1/3 Maggie AMPS 165; +3 44; +4 61

+4 61

Much better and just a little of her regular fuds brought her up.
Here's a question on reductions for long term diabetics:
Mags had a 45 on December 19th.
Mags earned a reducie on December 28 with a 36.
Today Mags had a 44! Can today count as a second bg under 50, even though she earned a reducie in between?

Hi Devon, thanks, I had a feeling Mags was itching for a dosecrease. So funny with not knowing what may be lurking around the corner :lol: Mags is my protector.

Hi Amy, she listened and came up nicely.
 
Re: 1/3 Maggie AMPS 165; +3 44; +4 61

Good morning Ann. Nice to see Maggie down in the green, although she could have skipped over the 44 and stayed in the safe green. I hope she continues to surf in the safe green numbers for you.

Have a great day.
 
Re: 1/3 Maggie AMPS 165; +3 44; +4 61

I forgot Mags had that reducie. Because of that, I'm pretty sure today's "44" would be the first, because it's the first drop below 50 on this particular dose.
 
Re: 1/3 Maggie AMPS 165; +3 44; +4 61

Good Morning Ann & Maggie,

I believe that to count as the second number under 50 the numbers have to be at the same dose. So no: this is her first number under 50 at this dose. You start over again when the dose changes. The other "rule" is that if you have two numbers under 50 on the same day you can only count one of them as one of the three. Rusty LagoonMeister is thrilled to see Maggie at the lagoon and hopes to get there himself today.

Have a lovely day. Your weather sounds balmy!!

Hugs from us,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 1/3 Maggie AMPS 165; +3 44; +4 61

Oh shoot! Thanks and you're right Amy. I didn't think of the new dose factor. I was hating to make her do the three under 50's as I'm afraid I may miss some at night that she's earned, but Mags always feeds herself and brings herself up.
 
Re: 1/3 Maggie AMPS 165; +3 44; +4 61

Nice numbers Maggie...you have a beautiful year so far!!! All greens and blues!! yay! :mrgreen:
Three numbers <50 according to the prototcol. It has to be a number that dips <50 within one week from the previous one...and only one per day as Ella said.
At any time if the number goes <40, it is an automatic reduction.
Good job Maggie!!! :thumbup

http://www.tillydiabetes.net/en_6_protocol2.htm
 
Re: 1/3 Maggie AMPS 165; +3 44; +4 61; +6 56

+6 56
Keeping the surf going! :mrgreen:

Thanks Ella, I didn't see you up above me as we were posting same time. Now I'm clear. Mags is bobbling a little and not wanting to eat her regular fuds. I guess I'll give in and give her a little FF T&G. Mags says she knows she will see LagoonMeister soon.

Thanks Pat on the dosing. It has been a turnaround for her the past few months. Back in July and August she was on the high side before getting the diagnosis of megacolon and then her renal disease progressed. She's doing much better now.
 
Re: 1/3 Maggie AMPS 165; +3 44; +4 61; +6 56; +6.5 82

Morning Ann and Maggie, what a beautiful surf today! Nice reading your condo on the reductions of long term diabetics since I was a little confused on that too lol! Nice to see Maggie working the juice so well! Hope you have a great day Ann!
 
Re: 1/3 Maggie AMPS 165; +3 44; +4 61; +6 56; +6.5 82

Beautiful surf for Miss Maggie today. Yes, the 3<50 need too be fairly close together or if I really need to struggle to get her back up, I'll take a shave after 2.

You mentioned thinking about trying raw again. Remember that raw food often is more fully metabolized so there is less waste to go out. They also need to eat less because raw is often much higher calorie than canned. That may be a little disconcerting for you w/ the megacolon issues. I'm not sure if it would help because of less to eliminate or be a problem for motility. Does your vet have an opinion on it? Many of the raw foods are very low LC and low phos.

Enjoy the sunshine today.
 
Re: 1/3 Maggie AMPS 165; +3 44; +4 61; +6 56; +6.5 82

Wow! What pretty greeinies today, Miss Maggie! Surf..surf...SURF! Hope she doesn't bounce too high. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 1/3 Maggie AMPS 165; +3 44; +4 61; +6 56; +6.5 82

Maggie is showing off her itsy bitsy green bikini today! What a lovely day for Mags. And congrats on starting the count towards another reducie.

To add onto what Ann says about raw, both the cats and the beans have to get used to feeding less and pooping less. The physical quantity is less and at first it'll seem like you aren't feeding enough (or so my two tell me, but their weight is stable). Both of my cats are typically on an every two day prezzie routine now that they are on raw and sometimes they'll be smaller than you might expect. It would be good to hear what the vet says about what that means for megacolon.
 
Re: 1/3 Maggie AMPS 165; +3 44; +4 61; +6 56; +6.5 82; +10 1

+10 177

Hi and thanks for all the visits. I went out for a little while as the sun warmed things up a bit. I don't know if the 177 is a bounce or from just eating after the +7, but not a bad spike.

Hi Michelle & Scrabble, thanks on Maggie's surf today. Yes, the dosing can be confusing even to us oldie caregivers of diabetics. :lol:

Thanks Tara, I hope she doesn't bounce either. Lately it's not been too high of a bounce.

Ann & Tess, those are some really good points about the raw and that might be a real concern for her motility. My Vet was against the raw even before the Megacolon. I just think he didn't know enough about it or have experience of other pet owners using it. I think I'll leave well enough alone. It takes two doses of Cisapride and two doses of Lactulose plus a lot of Miralax just to get an every other day poo.

Hi Wendy, very interesting with your kitties and the raw, too. Thanks so much for your thoughts, too. Maggie had a taste of the NV raw well before the Megacolon diagnosis, and she seemed okay with it.
 
Re: 1/3 Maggie PMPS 175

WOW MAGGIE!!!!!! Look how great you did today!!! Moonie had a 49 too!!
Yes It is the 3 numbers under 50 to reduce...Mags is getting some wonderful numbers lately :mrgreen:
We are so happy for you....
What a nice blue bounce..Hope tomorrow is a beautiful day for you too--You both deserve it--
Hugs & Love from us!!
 
Re: 1/3 Maggie PMPS 175

Hi Ann. Indeed, a wonderful day for Mags. This was a very interesting conversation about the reducing. I too, was confused about how often the drop below 40 needed to be.....twice in one day, once a day, etc. Nice to have it cleared up.

Hope Miss Mags surfs pretty blue tonight, so you can sleep well. Well as well as you can sleep, with that little chatterbox talking to you in the middle of the night. :lol:
 
Re: 1/3 Maggie PMPS 175

A very nice day for Maggie! :-D Hope the PMPS comes right back down for you after her meal clears and that you both have a great night :-D
 
+3 119

Looks like Mags will have a nice, safe surf. Thanks on all the visits.

Hi Carla, I am always so happy when she has prezzies, big accomplishment for Mags. :-D

Thanks so much Roni on Mags, I have to check Moonie's condo and see how she did today in the poo department. It sure takes a lot of work to get them to poo. :lol:

Hi Barb & Checkers, I'm so glad my dosing question is helping others. I guess it never hurts to refresh. I know with the little chatterbox. :lol: I need a better camera to make a recording.

Hi Molly, thanks for visiting, and it looks like her bg is coming down after all the fuds.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top