Skye & Jackson
Member Since 2022
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...8-6-263-pmps-316-fs-3-384-4-429-5-397.272527/
Jack ran high but kind of leveled off in the low 400’s after awhile last night, so I fell asleep. Woke up and he was at 480 with the directional arrow on the Libre reader pointing straight up (signifying rapid rise). 20 minutes later he was at 500, so he got his shot just a few minutes early. He’s also increased to 1.75 units today, at the advice of @Bandit's Mom , a more rapid increase to break through the glucose toxicity, before going back to a more normal SLGS pattern.
He’s begging for food and drinking a lot (though not quite as much as pre-diagnosis). Hopefully it’s enough to hold ketones at bay until this shot kicks in…
Honestly, Jack is so prone to glucose toxicity, every time he goes and stays even somewhat high for more than a couple days, that I may make that part of his long term EKID/KYC toolbox: When he’s not responding to insulin after a high-sugar event, increase dose even if it hasn’t been a week since the last change. (As long as it’s been at least 3 days.)
Jack ran high but kind of leveled off in the low 400’s after awhile last night, so I fell asleep. Woke up and he was at 480 with the directional arrow on the Libre reader pointing straight up (signifying rapid rise). 20 minutes later he was at 500, so he got his shot just a few minutes early. He’s also increased to 1.75 units today, at the advice of @Bandit's Mom , a more rapid increase to break through the glucose toxicity, before going back to a more normal SLGS pattern.
He’s begging for food and drinking a lot (though not quite as much as pre-diagnosis). Hopefully it’s enough to hold ketones at bay until this shot kicks in…
Honestly, Jack is so prone to glucose toxicity, every time he goes and stays even somewhat high for more than a couple days, that I may make that part of his long term EKID/KYC toolbox: When he’s not responding to insulin after a high-sugar event, increase dose even if it hasn’t been a week since the last change. (As long as it’s been at least 3 days.)

We need a love/heart emoji here, heh.