1/3 Jackson AMPS 500 +1.5 415 +3 423 +5 327 +6 312 PMPS 379 +2 381 +3 332

Skye & Jackson

Member Since 2022
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...8-6-263-pmps-316-fs-3-384-4-429-5-397.272527/

Jack ran high but kind of leveled off in the low 400’s after awhile last night, so I fell asleep. Woke up and he was at 480 with the directional arrow on the Libre reader pointing straight up (signifying rapid rise). 20 minutes later he was at 500, so he got his shot just a few minutes early. He’s also increased to 1.75 units today, at the advice of @Bandit's Mom , a more rapid increase to break through the glucose toxicity, before going back to a more normal SLGS pattern.

He’s begging for food and drinking a lot (though not quite as much as pre-diagnosis). Hopefully it’s enough to hold ketones at bay until this shot kicks in…

Honestly, Jack is so prone to glucose toxicity, every time he goes and stays even somewhat high for more than a couple days, that I may make that part of his long term EKID/KYC toolbox: When he’s not responding to insulin after a high-sugar event, increase dose even if it hasn’t been a week since the last change. (As long as it’s been at least 3 days.)
 
Back in pink by +5. Insulin is a marvel, even the slower-acting Lantus. I can tell that Jack is feeling the glucose being converted to body fuel now - he’s chilled out and not acting hungry anymore. Even though his numbers are still high, he’s getting the energy now. I really am learning more of his body language in different ranges and glucose reactions, now that I’m seeing him in different situations more…

Unfortunately his contented status is coming with a side of snuggles, the unfortunate part being that I need to get up and go to work in a little bit. I’ll give him half an hour of love though… I can manage that. My dear boy. :cat::bighug: We need a love/heart emoji here, heh.
 
Apparently Jack went up to 420 at one point post-feeding, about half an hour after his PM shot. But he’s coming down again now. No drama while I was gone.
 
Back
Top