1/3 Indy AMPS - 237 PMPS - 277

Jessica & Indy

Member Since 2025
Yesterday

Didn't get much sleep last night. Ended up giving him a whole can of fancy feast last night. I know we are going to do a reduction....but we are at +11 and he is at 150...it is going down. We have time to stall, I'm just extremely nervous because we aren't home today. Any help and insight would be appreciated.

Spreadsheet is updated and here is the libre graph.
1000004730.png
 
Hi Jessica,

So he's about 30 minutes to shot time??
When is the last time he ate?
Remind me: are you able to catch a hand held test??
 
He free feeds, but he inhaled the last of the fancy feast at about +5.5. (I just woke up at +11)

We can attempt a handheld test. He doesn't mind, I'm the nervous one (hit the vein in his ear once...blood everywhere).

Shot is due in about 20 minutes
 
So he hasn't eaten in about six hours, right? There is no food manipulating the current numbers?
Let's see where he is in about 20 minutes--hopefully he will be going up 🤞🤞
 
Don't think there is any food manipulating his numbers. Checked his food bowl and most of his wet food is still there (filled up on junk food, I'm guessing)
 
While we are waiting for that next test, I'm going to paste the directions for what to do under SLGS when you have a lower than normal preshot number. I know you've read this, but I always have this information right in front of me when I need to make a shooting decision.

"How to handle a lower than normal preshot number:

Until you collect enough data to know how your cat will react, we suggest following the guidelines in the FDMB's FAQ Q4.4:
Q4.4. My cat's pre-shot level was way below the usual value. Should I give the injection?
A4.4. There's no hard and fast rule, but if you don't have data on how your cat responds to insulin, here are some general guidelines.
  • Below 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), don't give insulin.
  • Between 150 and 200 (8.3-11.1 mmol/L), you have three options:
    • a.) give nothing
    • b.) give a token dose (10-25% of the usual dose)
    • c.) feed as usual, test in a couple of hours, and make a decision based on that value
  • Above 200 (11.1 mmol/L) but below the cat's normal pre-shot value, a reduced dose might be wise.
  • In all cases, if you are reducing or eliminating insulin, it's wise to check for ketones in the urine.
  • Above the normal pre-shot value, give the usual dose, but if the pre-shot value is consistently elevated, it's a good idea to schedule a full glucose curve to see whether a change in dose or insulin is appropriate. In most cases, the target "peak" value should not be below 100 mg/dl (5.6 mmol/L), and for some cats it might be higher.
Keep in mind these are general guidelines, and they should be personalized to your own cat's response to insulin. If your experience is that your cat does not became hypoglycemic with a dose which is close to her usual, then personal experience should be your guide.

With experience, you may find that lowering these thresholds may work well for your cat. When you have reached that stage, the following guidelines are suggested for Lantus, Levemir, and Biosimilars users following the Start Low Go Slow approach:

If the preshot number is far below usual preshot numbers:
  • Do you need to stay on schedule? Then skip the shot.
  • Do you have some flexibility with your schedule? Then stalling to wait for the number to rise might be a good option. Don't feed, retest after 30-60 minutes, and decide if the number is shootable.
  • Repeat until the cat either reaches a number at which you are comfortable shooting, or enough time has passed that skipping the shot is necessary.
If the preshot number is near kitty's usual preshot numbers:

Look at your data to see what numbers you have shot in the past and decide what would be a safe, shootable number for your cat. Don't feed. Stall until kitty reaches the preshot number you've decided on and then shoot.
We usually don't suggest or recommend shooting a preshot number less than 90 mg/dL when following the SLGS Method. Remember that with SLGS, generally speaking, your goal is to achieve flat numbers that are greater than 90 mg/dL. However, let experience, data collected, knowledge of your cat, and availability to monitor help in making the best decisions for your cat."
 
I might try a reduced dose in your shoes, although honestly I don't think I'm the best person to give advice given how confusing I still find things with Gen. But if you're really worried and won't be able to get home if something happens, it could be an option?

ETA: oh, at 214 you're above that 200 threshold! I know his PS times are usually higher, but you're already taking a reduction, so ...?
 
Well, he earned a reduction after dropping into the 50s last night. So if I was going to give him a "full dose" it would be 1.25u
 
I might try a reduced dose in your shoes, although honestly I don't think I'm the best person to give advice given how confusing I still find things with Gen. But if you're really worried and won't be able to get home if something happens, it could be an option?
We will be 90 minutes away. Roommate will be home and can intervene with food if necessary.
 
Yeah, I'd probably go ahead with the 1.25u, especially knowing you have someone who can intervene (or even just get him up and off his sensor if it gives you one of those pressure lows).
 
Also, my guess is that he is going to bounce from last night's lows (at least that's what it appears to look like with him already at 237).
 
Last edited:
We are home for 2 more hours...we will see how it goes. Thanks for the support everyone. <3

He got his freeze dried salmon with his insulin. He is a happy boy.
 
I'm tempted to cancel my plans. Only got about 5 hours of sleep because of the low alarm last night. I'm feeling extremely anxious. If I noticed him to start bouncing then I probably wouldn't worry so much....I hate having anxiety.
 
FD does a NUMBER on those of us with anxiety issues, that's for sure.
197 at +1 or +2? Onset is typically +2.
He might have only bounced up to 237 and now he's breaking the bounce. On one hand, that's great because it means a shorter, lower bounce. On the other, that's not great because you have plans, and it would be much nicer if he were up in the ether rather than in lower numbers.
 
Jessica, I notice that Indy was diagnosed in 2/24. I'm assuming he went into remission, correct? Do you know what might have brought him out of remission? Also, have you considered switching to TR. You are certainly testing enough for it. He is eligible to follow that method if he is eating only wet food, which it looks like he is. TR is the dosing method that has research behind its efficacy to get kitties into remission. The difference in TR and SLGS is that TR has a lower threshold for dose reductions (50 for newly diagnosed kitties and 40 for those diagnosed over a year), so the caregiver is able to hold a dose for longer period of time.
 
He was on prednisolone for his IBD long term which is what caused the diabetes the first time. We switched his meds and his diet, which caused him to go into remission.

The problem with TR for us is that the libre sensor has the mandatory low glucose alarm and it goes off at 55. I don't know if my anxiety can handle that alarm going off constantly.
 
I'm even tempted to lower the reduction number to like 70, I just want to avoid that damn alarm.

I think 1.25u is Indy's sweet spot for now. We just need to avoid those damn fur shots and I think he will be golden.
 
Hell, just do a reduction if that damn alarm goes off (and it is a true number like last night).

Hubby is worried about my mental health with Indy's FD since it caused me to lose sleep and miss my appt today.
 
He was on prednisolone for his IBD long term which is what caused the diabetes the first time. We switched his meds and his diet, which caused him to go into remission.

The problem with TR for us is that the libre sensor has the mandatory low glucose alarm and it goes off at 55. I don't know if my anxiety can handle that alarm going off constantly.
I’m with you Jessica.
I have similar issues with Ivy going too low on the Libre and the alarms constantly going off and then it shuts down the sensor.

So it’s truly a tricky tightrope.
💓
 
Back
Top