1/3 Cinco AMPS 275 +3 230 +6 213 PMPS 219 +3 111 +7 134

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey

Member Since 2011
1/2 Recap:
1.0 units bid
AMPS: 315
AM+4: 149
AM+6: 118
PMPS: 252
PM+3.5: 245
PM+6: 216

Yesterday's Condo

We are drowning in a sea of yellow. The question is, should we go ahead with a dosecrease, or wait until after we see Dr. Nelson on Monday. Thoughts, anyone?

Cinco is doing well, otherwise. Appy continues to be stellar. He seems to be very happy to be back home and taking advantage of having more space by moving around more than he did before his "vacation". It's so nice to see that. He was kind of a bump on a log for a long time.

Harvey and Sasha ate breakfast with enthusiasm (Wellness Core Turkey and Duck - something they hadn't had in a long time). Minka, however, was unimpressed. Ditto with the FF Chicken and Beef I offered (Which she ate happily yesterday). I'm boiling a chicken thigh now, and if that doesn't get her eating, I'll have to give her some Mirtz. I don't remember what it was like to have a day when EVERYONE ate and no one had an issue. o_O

DH just came into the room fully dressed and said he needs to take the Christmas stuff to the storage unit. I think this is a little ambitious for someone who spent the last two days flat on his back, but I'm humoring him. I guess that means I'd better go get everything packed up!

Sending healing vines to all in need and hugs to all their beans. :bighug:

Kristin and Lilly are still on our minds as they begin their New Year without their beloved Callie. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
No dosing advice from me but a flat yellow can mean an active next cycle. I'm glad your DH is feeling better. I'm sending appy vines your way for all the kitties.
 
Hi Tricia! Hugs for you and your whole crew! You are such an amazing bean and just seem to handle everything with such grace. :bighug:

Glad to hear that Cinco's happy to be home. No dose advise from me either, unfortunately. I, like Elise, see that flat yellow as a potential warning of action to come. It looks like Cinco had green on this dose on the PM cycle of 12/31, and was in low blues yesterday AM. Do you think it takes him a little time to settle back into the routine after boarding? I know Eddie seems to take a few days to settle down after we travel.

Have a wonderful rest-of-the-weekend Tricia!
 
Well...you haven't seen any green since last year!!! (well, 12/30.....LOL) And before the boarding, it was all the way back on 12/10 that he got any green on this dose

I think I'd go ahead and increase....When you see Dr. Nelson it might help to see if he's getting better numbers on the 1.25...of course with some of the "advice" you've gotten lately, it's impossible to know what this doctor is going to say, but in the meantime, I'd follow the protocol

We know that those flat yellow cycles can mean a big move to come, but he's been flat yellow quite a lot lately and he doesn't seem to be wanting to make that big move

Good to hear DH is feeling better, but you might want to remind him that if he tries to do too much too soon, he could find himself flat on his back again! This flu is nasty!
 
I think you have plenty of room to increase. I think with longer term diabetics the notion that if the dose isn't putting numbers where you want them holds even more firmly. I wouldn't hold on to a dose overly long if it's not putting Cinco's numbers below renal threshold or lower.
 
Hi Tricia, I am so sorry to hear Minka isn't eating- I hope she doesn't need the mirtz, but glad to hear everybody else is eating- sending healing and appy vines! :bighug: Ack- more healing vines for DH- he got the flu?? I was very dismayed to read about this year's flu vaccine! There's nothing you can do to stop your DH from doing business as usual(that's a guy thing I think!) However, I hope YOU are wearing a mask and washing your hands every 5 minutes in hot soapy water! :rolleyes: Seriously, take care of yourself Tricia, flu is serious business! :bighug:
 
I agree with Sienne - up he goes. He's had plenty of time to get over any bounce from the night of the 30th. And I think it's best to impress vets with how good a job you are doing with the numbers. I always worry about keeping Neko in higher numbers for any length of time, even if it's yellows, it seems a bit of glucose toxicity sets in too easily.

Sending stay healthy vines your way!
 
Thanks for the input, everyone. I think we will go ahead and bump him up tonight. That will give him three full cycles on that dose.

Since we will be seeing Dr. Nelson on Monday, I wondered if anyone here has any questions they would like me to ask him. It's not often you get a chance to talk to an expert in the field of diabetes in animals!
 
Good luck if you increase. It's nice to hear Cinco is exploring his domain more. I'm glad Harvey and Sasha ate well. I hope Minka's appy improves.
 
Hi Tricia, Good luck with the dose increase. I agree that it is the thing to do. If Cinco gets NDW, you can explain the concept of NDW to the vet!

Sorry to hear that your DH has the flu. Not fun!! Don't let him overdo it. And, yes, wash your hands often and don't put your hands near your face!

Hope the kitty krew will all decide at the same time that their fuds are delicious.

Have a good evening,

Ella & Rusty

p.s. I love taking down the Xmas tree: I admire each ornament again and like putting them into their little "homes".
 
I'd be curious to hear what research Dr. Nelson is working on in the area of diabetes (including acromegaly). I always like to know what's the latest and greatest. Sounds like it'll be an exciting visit.
 
Does Cinco get NDW? If he does that might mean Dr. Nelson won't be seeing Cinco in his best color. Just a thought, otherwise I'd say he's due for an increase too.

Sending eating vines for the crew. Did anyone like the Dave's chicken?
 
Work that dosecrease, Cinco! Eat your fuds, kitties! Even if Cinco isn't showing pretty colors on Monday, you can always show off his SS. I'm anxious to hear how the appointment goes. Have a great evening, Tricia!
 
So we made the decision to do the increase, and he gave us a PMPS just a few points above his nadir! :banghead: We did it, anyway.

Ann, I really don't think he does get NDW - if so, it isn't very dramatic. Naturally, he will do his best to make a liar out of me this time. :rolleyes: Most of the cats liked the chicken, but they didn't LOVE it. Minka didn't much care for it at all, but then, her opinion isn't worth much these days when it comes to food - I blame it on the chemo. I would try it again, maybe when no one is on or recovering from chemo. It wasn't a failure, just not a rousing success. I so appreciate your giving me the chance to try it out!!

Wendy, I will make a note of your thoughts and let you know. My biggest challenge will be pronouncing acromegaly!! :p

Minka did not eat much all day. I gave her some Mirtz (1/8 of a tablet as I don't like the way it makes her feel), and she let me coax her into eating a little more tonight. She drank some chicken broth, too. I even broke out some Friskies, which they haven't had in ages, and that sparked a little more interest in her, and a lot in Sasha.

I'd noticed the past couple of days that Sasha's poo is looser than normal. Yesterday she had it all over her left hind foot and I had to wash it (much to her dismay). Earlier today she had a looser poo, and just a little while ago she had a very loose one - stinky, too. It was all over her tail, so another partial bath. I'm not sure if it's because I'm giving her foods she hasn't had in a while? The oncologist wanted me to increase her protein, so I've been trying "new" foods (most of which she's had before, just not for some time). This morning's turkey and duck, which she loved, could have been too rich. I gave her some Forti Flora - thank goodness she likes it. This is really hard!!!!:banghead::banghead::banghead:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top