1/3 Chyna PMPS 268 +2 297 +5 315 dosecrease?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rachel & Chyna (GA)

Member Since 2012
Well, I am really down now :cry: . Black Floor, this is the highest we’ve been in almost a year :shock: What is happening???

I’m stopping the new fuds just in case and will have to revisit them later. They were given at 11am and 11pm yesterday (1/6 can-+4 AM and PM), the rest was her normal food. I don’t know if allergies (she hasn’t been scratching) or the higher carb content (5 instead of the 2 she normally eats) would cause this…or if it’s just her keeping going up higher like she has been ohmygod_smile .

I’ll try catch some pee for a ketones test today too.

Chyna was purring this morning, but cried out when she got her insulin. She doesn’t do that usually either…not since her first few months of injections. Does high BG make skin sensitive? She ate all her breffis at least. Other Ps in place despite the yucky color.

If you couldn’t get the link to work for the snow pics, I did paste a few of them into my condo yesterday: Chyna 1/2

No btb for me today…I’m too upset to sleep even though my eyes are stinging. Maybe I can catch a nap later…have a good day, LL :-D . I’m hoping to see some nice colors for the other kitties! And for mine…
 
Re: 1/3 Chyna AMPS 513 (?!)

Aw, Rachel :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: . The new fuds is one of the Weruva flavors - right...the Steak Frites? Trix LOVED the Wervua Paw Lickin' Chicken - it was supposed to be LC and low phos, but it made her numbers go bonkers, too. I think some kitties are sensitive to something that is in those Weruva fuds. I never tried the Steak Frites, though, since Trix doesn't like beef. Every once in a while, I hit an "owie" spot when I do her shot, too.

I hope thing settle with Miss Chyna soon. Try and have a great day, Rachel!!
 
Re: 1/3 Chyna AMPS 513 (?!)

Rachel, I'm sorry Chyna is so high this morning. It could be the new food. Hopefully she'll come down today. :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 1/3 Chyna AMPS 513 (?!)

Hi Rachel,
It could well be the new food. I feed "Paw Lickin' Chicken", mainly as a treat-like supplement to Rusty's diet, and have not noticed that it has had a spiking effect. But Rusty's numbers have been all over the place lately, so who knows. ECID. You've probably got to stay with what you know works. There is a big difference between 2% and 5%.

Now THAT is SNOW!! We had a snowfall like that one a couple of years ago. Our plower had to bring in a backhoe to clear the driveway.

Have a good day. I hope that Chyna decides to come down.

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 1/3 Chyna AMPS 513 (?!) +2 455

:YMSIGH: :YMSIGH: :YMSIGH: Don't worry, Rachel, she will come back down. I felt just like that a couple of weeks ago. They like to throw us curve balls. I know it's hard to not "fixate on a single number", but it's true. Snuggle up w/ Chyna and breathe! I hope it is just the fud. We all hate to increase, it seems like we've failed them, but sometimes raising the dose for just a few cycles does the trick. :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 1/3 Chyna AMPS 513 (?!) +2 455 +4 383

Thanks everyone. It just makes me ill that she hasn't seen a really good number since back on insulin, only two cycles with high blues and I worry so about her kidneys with this too :YMSIGH: :cry:

-Amy, yes it was the steak frites...I know cowboy cookout (old recipe) spiked Chyna when I tried it a long time ago...wonder if it's the potato/starch. Maybe I'm wrong...if we ever get down to decent numbers/breakthrough dose maybe I will test them again. Nice to know I'm not the only one hitting owie spots :? Thanks for the hugs :cool:

-Carla, thanks for the hugs from you too :smile: I hope it was the fuds...and then part of me hopes not :roll: She's come down to pink, at least (happy for pink, blah :roll: )

-Ella, thanks. In the past the carbs didn't really seem to do much one way or the other and I just tried to keep them under 6...just one food spiked her (the CC like I told Amy). Who knows, they like to keep us guessing :roll: ! I wish I knew someone with a backhoe to take all my snow away ;-)

-Liz, thanks for the hugs and commiseration. Her teeth were good when they sedated/checked them Dec 16th...she doesn't open her mouth easy, but her breath is fine (for a cat :lol: )

-Ann, I know, I'm trying not to fixate...I just haven't seen any healthy numbers (barely) :cry: We're due for an increase tomorrow if she doesn't show something...thanks for all the hugs from you as well

Sorry I'm such a downer today :oops: I know many others have much worse problems than we do so I shouldn't dwell ohmygod_smile Maybe if I take a shower and have a coffee I will feel better ;-)
 
Re: 1/3 Chyna AMPS 513 (?!) +2 455 +4 383

{{{Rachel}}}:

I hope the shower and coffee helped lighten your mood a little. I know how frustrating this is. It's especially hard when you had her off the stuff and she had to go back on. I know I took it personally with Cinco and blamed myself. He, too, has been much harder tor regulate the second time around. Since you have other variables in the equation, at least you can try eliminating them. Changing the food is a good start. As for the cry when you gave her the shot, is there any chance the insulin was too cold? I've read that this can be painful. I hope Chyna starts to come down for you soon. Hang in there - you are doing everything you can for her!

Hugs and scritches.

:YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: cat_pet_icon cat_pet_icon cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 1/3 Chyna AMPS 513 (?!) +2 455 +4 383 +6 313

Wow on the snow! That is a whole lot of it. Looks like fun though! Some on down Chyna. I'm sorry about the ouchie insulin. Have a great day Rachel!
 
Re: 1/3 Chyna AMPS 513 (?!) +2 455 +4 383 +6 313

Rachel, I'm sorry you're not seeing the numbers right now that you want, Chyna has come down quite nicely though this afternoon and it sure does appear as though you are doing everything you can for her. Patience is one of the hardest things when we want them regulated and we want it now!!
I saw your post back to me yesterday. 14-16yrs old, that's wonderful and the food because of the allergies, you do have your plate full. I hope that you can find some time to nap and Chyna starts to see better numbers for you and for her. Big Hugs to you :YMHUG:
 
Re: 1/3 Chyna AMPS 513 (?!) +2 455 +4 383 +6 313

I'd think that the carb percentage could make that kind of difference Rachel. When China was on Fancy Feast's, she hardly ever had these big dives like she has on the Instinct Raw. The FF's were about 5% and the raw is about 1% and you can sure see the difference in her spreadsheet. I'm considering going back to Fancy Feast since her numbers were more stable, so it seems that Yes...changes in carb values, even a little, seem to be able to make big difference in their numbers.

Hope Chyna comes on back down quickly for you..but not too quickly!
 
Re: 1/3 Chyna AMPS 513 (?!) +2 455 +4 383 +6 313

oh, (((Rachel))), so sorry about seeing the black floor. :sad: It could certainly be the difference in carbs. Hershey usually eats 4% - 5%, but we use 7% to bring him up, so it's definitely possible. Or, maybe it is something specific to the Weruva like Amy suggested. It is so frustrating that cat food companies don't see changing formulas as a big deal and that they guard them like their national secrets or something! Why can't they just use good ingredients and be transparent to their consumers?! (Sorry for the vent!)

I hope your day got better and that Chyna's numbers improve soon. :YMHUG: :YMHUG:

Have a great evening -

Libby (& Hershey, too!)
 
Re: 1/3 Chyna AMPS 513 +2 455 +4 383 +6 313 PMPS 268

Woo hoo, we have yellow! Lowest PMPS since Dec 24th...paws crossed we see blue (anti jinx!)

Hi Tricia, the shower helped but the +6 helped more ;-) I do wonder if there was more I could have done to keep her in remission, or have started insulin earlier than I did when she was just in blues...it's nice there are others that know what it feels like to come back on it. I wish all kitties could go OTJ, and stay there! Thanks for the advice, I do warm the insulin between my fingers in the syringe, usually she doesn't react at all. I'll have to chalk it up to an ouchie spot like Amy said I guess, tonight she didn't flinch at all :-D

Hi Melissa, uh sorry I can't say snow is fun, not even for a million dollars! :lol: Oh well ok maybe for a million... ;-) Chyna listened to you and came down :-D

Hi Lauren, thanks so much. I did get a small nap and cleaned the house :-D I admit, I am not the most patient, especially when it comes to Chyna and pain :oops:

Hi Chris, thanks! I never saw any reaction when I changed around carb % before her remission, guess I should learn better than to assume it will be the same now as the first time :roll: :lol:

Hi Libby, it's ok to vent ;-) I wish they could do something with these foods for our furbabies too and just publish those numbers :? My day is much better now with that PMPS :-D

Thanks for all the hugs and encouragement everyone. The roller coaster is a going around and around with my emotions! I'll have to experiment with higher carb foods another time...not when I'm trying to get her dose right or close to right :roll: Hope everyone is seeing some nice BGs tonight :-D
 
Re: 1/3 Chyna AMPS 513 +2 455 +4 383 +6 313 PMPS 268

:-D :-D :-D :-D it gets to all of us sometimes, but that's why we're here to help each other deal with it all, the BG
Animated-RollerCoasterRide.gif
AND the emotional one!
 
Re: 1/3 Chyna AMPS 513 +2 455 +4 383 +6 313 PMPS 268

Hi Rachel, Love seeing the yellow PMPS! Much better than her AM. Maybe it is the food. Does the steak frites have the sweet potato in them? I think I tried them, but Cleo didn't like them. She is not into shreds. And anything with potato starch will definitely send her numbers up.
It is amazing how the beep and then the display on a little machine can bring us joy or bring us down~ Best thing is that Chyna is feeling good :-D Hope you are having a good night, and sending no more snow vines :lol:
 
Re: 1/3 Chyna AMPS 513 +2 455 +4 383 +6 313 PMPS 268

(((Rachel)))
Big hugs!

(((Chyna)))
Big scritches! (Thanks for sliding down ;-) )
 
Re: 1/3 Chyna AMPS 513 +2 455 +4 383 +6 313 PMPS 268

Nice sliding today Chyna! You been taking lessons from Zener? That means part two of the slide is tonight. :cool:

dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat Yeah for the weekend. :-D
 
Re: 1/3 Chyna PMPS 268 +2 297

Thanks Liz, Ann, Kim, Jane and Wendy :-D We still have yellow...a bit higher; hoping it turns around back the other way :roll: I appreciate my roller coaster buddies ;-) :YMHUG:

Jane, it does have sweet potato, and she does like shreds, but oh well, what can I do? Good to know about the potato starch. That beep really does tend to stress or elate the bean :o But the no snow vines didn't work, we got another 10cm today :-| It's supposed to be really cold tomorrow so I guess I should have shovelled...I cleaned the house instead.

I hope Chyna is still taking a lesson from Zener to sliiiide :lol:

We finally caught pee, took all day for her to pee in the trap...negative ketones :razz:

I'm wondering since I screwed up most likey with the fuds I should give this dose another cycle or two? Or just increase tomorrow to 3U (or 2.75u)...
 
Re: 1/3 Chyna PMPS 268 +2 297 dosecrease?

I think I'd probably give Chyna another cycle or 2 to make sure the higher carb food is out of her system since she got the higher carb stuff the 1st and the 2nd, so if the problem is the food, she's only been on her "normal" low carb food today

Hopefully one of the more experienced people will come along to add their advice too
 
Thanks Chris, I'm leaning towards one more cycle on the 2.5u, at least...I guess she is going up a bit now of course :roll: I hope not too up. She doesn't seem to be liking proper curves at night :?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top