1/3 Chino AMPS=448, +3=384, +6=287, +10=266, PMPS=315

Status
Not open for further replies.

Adrian and Chino

Member Since 2016
I hate seeing these high numbers :banghead: But he was negative for ketones yesterday. I'm going to test at 3 hour intervals today.
 
As patient as he is for the testing (unless it's right before a meal), Chino keeps turning or shaking his head right as I'm approaching the drop of blood with a test strip. I don't always catch myself before shouting a horrified "NOOOOO!" but even that doesn't seem to bother him anymore. I would love to see some more blues, but with my luck, they'll happen while I'm sleeping. Though I could try for a +8 when I wake up for my 0300 meds.

I usually find him in front of his water bowl when I go to get a BG reading, but found him on the couch or under the kitchen table for 3 of the 4 post-shot tests today :)
 
Chino keeps turning or shaking his head right as I'm approaching the drop of blood with a test strip. I don't always catch myself before shouting a horrified "NOOOOO!"
Doodles gets in that habit too sometimes. :( I tell him, don't move or we have to do it again. Great to hear he was on the couch and moving around today! If you're up anyway for a +8, I'd grab it. Hope to see him back in blue but if not an increase will be due soon. Just gotta keep driving forward and getting those numbers down.

If you haven't, for piece of mind it's good to peak at others SS's. Of course, not to copy dosing but to get an idea of what other kitties look like during this dance. All in all Chino is doing pretty good and so are you. I think he's getting close to a break through dose and don't be discouraged. Many kitties require a bit of a higher dose to get there before coming down in dose. It's not that uncommon and remember they didn't get diabetes overnight.
 
Hi there I don't thin I have ever visited your condo before and just wanted to say hi.

It's early in this dance and hopefully you will get to a breakthrough dose . It might be a good idea to be checking for ketones while he is in these higher numbers if you aren't all ready . Come on Chino and work the juice. :cat:
 
I tell him, don't move or we have to do it again.
LOL, I say the same thing to Chino.

I meant to get a +8 last night but went to bed an hour late and almost didn't remember what I woke up for (meds) when my alarm went off. If I can't go to bed at the right time tonight, I'll decrease my dose to be more alert when it's time to test and take the 2nd dose. I used to feel like my life revolved around my medication schedule - not anymore! Good thing he's cute.

Looking at other peoples' spreadsheets has definitely been helpful. It's good to see that it's not just Chino who started out in scary-high numbers, and good to see that cats who tested as high or higher eventually came down to normal range (or close to it) with the right dose.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top