1/29 Tennessee APMS 321 +6 351 +8 371 Time to increase?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Andrea&Tennessee (GA)

Member Since 2014
We increased on Friday night to 2.75 u, and saw some yellow numbers but nothing consistent.
Is it time to bring him up again?
He was doing so well at a 2 units pre- pancreatitis! So frustrating.
He has not has any ketones.
 
Great news on the ketones!

Yes, I think it's time to go ahead and increase to 3 units

Pancreatitis often does re-write the "rules"....all you can do is stick with increasing when you need to until you hit a dose that's going to work for him
 
Yep, p-titis is awful and throws everything for a loop. I agree with Chris on the increase, and great news about the ketones. Work that increase, Tennessee!!
 
i'd increase the dose as well, and per the protocol, i'd increase every 3 days if you continue to see nadirs over 200. Glucose Toxicity can set in when a cat has high numbers for an extended period of time and then you have to be more aggressive with the dose increases to overcome it. Good luck! Great news on the no ketones test. I hope Tennie feels better soon.

Increasing the dose:
  • Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
    • if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
    • when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
  • After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
  • After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top