1/29 Rosa AMPS 300 +5 169 +7 99 +8 66 +9 103 PMPS 195

Status
Not open for further replies.
So nearly I'm just about calling it yellow this morning! :D And nothing above pink in over 24 hours for the first time so far. :) She's a happy :cat: this morning.
 
Thank you. And yes, her sheet looks so much better now than it did a few days ago. :) Now I'm a little scared though - she's at 99 at +7. First time she's been in the green zone. How often do I need to check to make sure she doesn't drop below 50 from this point?
 
It's the last half of the cycle, so she should be slowing down. I'd test again in an hour.

And WOOT!!! Go Rosa. :D:D:D
 
I can do that. Thank you - I know the green numbers are good :D, it was just a real shock to see one come up when she's been so much higher until now. And it makes a big difference knowing she's only got 50 points to drop to where she could be in trouble as opposed to 300! I have honey and high carb food on standby just in case...and I warned hubby there might be a few tense days if she carries on being in the lower zone until everything settles down. But the higher chance of good regulation and possibly even remission if we get really lucky makes it worth the extra worry. :D
 
Still dropping. She's at 66 at +8 - do I check again in another hour? She's starting to get annoyed at the testing now - I think she doesn't get why I'm still doing it when she's feeling fine today.
 
Look at her go - awesome slide! You might want to feed her a tsp or two of low carb at this point to see if it will help her surf and then check again in an hour.

I'll come back to check on you.
 
Ok, thank you. I know this is all good, but seeing those low numbers for the first time - I'm shaking and terrified she's going to drop below 50. I'll get her some fresh low carb but not too much in case I need to get some high carb into her soon.
 
teeheehee the first time Vyktor went low I don't think I stopped shaking for hours - excitement plus fear! Try not to panic about 50, it's not a number at which a kitty is going to go hypo, it is a number that says pay attention to make sure I don't drop much further and I've earned my reduction - there is a good safety margin there.

You might have to start steadying you nerves for tonight's shot though :)
 
Oh she's perfectly happy with herself - more so than she has been any day up until now. She's not showing any signs of being low - it's me who's having the problems at the moment!! And thank you for confirming that she won't suddenly have a problem at 50 - it's such a scary thought that I might cause her to have a hypo from trying to make her well again!

I think tonight's shot is going to be nerve wracking for sure. She's gone so quickly from all the way up off the scale at HI to all the way down into green I'm not sure how to feel right now. Maybe she didn't like the 2 units and is trying for that dose decrease straight away!
 
I know I do - if it wasn't for this site, I'd never have got this far with her to begin with. We're lucky to have found you all and to have so much advice to hand even out of vet hours. And more detailed advice than I could get from most vets anyway because of everyone's experience with this. Rosa doesn't understand all the fuss of course - she's probably feeling better than she has in weeks! :P
 
We did do the happy dance when she got to 99. I'm not quite sure I can manage another one until I see her numbers level out or go back up a little but I'll try! :)
 
So happy and excited for you!!:D Dont worry too much..you're in great company here. After these nice green numbers she might go back up and bounce, as she isnt used to these lows, but that will straighten out in due time as well.
 
I'm expecting a major bounce either later tonight or tomorrow. Not that I'll mind a few hours off from worrying about her after this! It's amazing how long a few hours feels when something like this happens.
 
Looks like she's coming up nicely in time for her PM shot, bounce may be started already. Since she only ate a tsp of LC at +8 this is unlikely to be a food spike I think you can probably give her a pokie break until PMPS now
 
Last edited:
OK, she's back up to 103 at +9. Feeling a bit better now, though I'm still going to be nervous at tonight's shot no doubt. Thanks for talking me through - I know I'd have given her high carb or honey earlier if it hadn't been for everyone here helping me get through the stress.
 
I gave her 2tsp but she only ate half of it or a little less. Kind of expecting a bounce from this next!
 
During the last half of the cycle, as the insulin is starting to wear off after nadir, it usually takes less carbs to bring them up. I see you are taking notes on when you fed, that's great. It could be useful information for another time.
 
Sorry edited my last post while you were looking at it I think - I noticed after I posted that you had put the food into your remarks column - good work! If this is a bounce starting you won't have any worries at all shooting...
 
I was planning to give her a break unless someone advised differently - her poor ears must be a little sore now so a few hours break should help her for tonight. I did think the food probably wasn't enough to have made a difference - she's had low carb out all day as I only take it away 2 hours before her shot. I just gave her some out of a fresh can to encourage her to eat a little for me. No doubt I'll see a pink number or higher later - I can't imagine her not bouncing after this! I'm not sure I'll be able to make myself shoot later if she's still under 200, but if she keeps increasing at 40 or so points an hour, she should be higher than that by her pre-shot. :)
 
We use 150 as the number here where you post and ask for help before shooting. You should be good to shoot anything above that. And anyone who helps you should will hang around for a while to make sure things are OK if you shoot low.
 
Thank you. All the help really is appreciated. :) I know I'll be nervous shooting as low as 150 if she's still that low based on where she was this morning and where she finished up. But I also know I have to do it to give her the best chance of spending longer in lower numbers. Now she's back up a little, I'm really very happy at her getting into green numbers today - she's having a nap right now and probably wondering what all the fuss was about. Either way, unless she's fairly high at bedtime I have a feeling I'll be setting an alarm to check on her during the night to make sure she doesn't attempt the same thing again while I'm not around to keep an eye on her!
 
I don't know if anyone has told you about the +2 test and how we can use it to give us an idea what the cycle will look like. If the +2 test is higher than the preshot test, it's going to be a quiet cycle (or bounce) and you can be fine with just a before bed test and good to sleep for the night. Take a look at AM 1/26 as an example. If the +2 test is about the same as the preshot, it'll be a normal Lantus cycle with a curve downwards. If you see a +2 number that is quite a bit lower than the preshot, that's when you'll have an active cycle that requires more testing.
 
Oh, thank you. That is helpful. That way I will have a couple of hours to prepare for the most active part of an active cycle when one happens. :)
 
She only went back up to 195 at PMPS. I'm nervous of shooting - I know 150 is the limit, but that's not rally much of a bounce yet from where she was 3 hours ago compared to what I expected to see.
 
I know your test is coming soon I am watching but I'm just driving home from work. If your number is urgent I will pull over and message otherwise I will wait until I get home - about 15 mins. Don't think I have deserted you :)
 
Hi. Yes I just took her test - a little late...closer to 2.5. She really didn't want another test today - I had to drag her out grumbling from under the bed. Her number's at 346 so it looks like she's bouncing now and will be good for the night. :) Thank you SO much for your support - I wouldn't have dared shoot at under 200 without knowing you were there to keep an eye on things if it all went wrong.
 
I'm so glad to be able to help you do the best thing for your Rosa and well done to you, I'm so glad you were able to trust me. Whatever the bounce Rosa pulls now know it would have been worse if you'd stalled. Pokie break for your gorgeous girl now - which I'm sure she will appreciate! You could get a before bed test if she's amenable but if not i wouldn't worry about it.

Many congratulations on your first greens :D
 
Thank you - I do trust you and the other very experienced people on here. :D You know so much more than I do about what's safe and what to look out for and I wouldn't have got her through today as safely if you hadn't been here to help. I'm so glad you were able to give me the confidence to go ahead with tonight's shot knowing that you'd be looking out for me if she dropped low again - it really did make all the difference. I'm sure I'll be calling for help again the next time something similar happens and definitely the first time she drops below 50!

Rosa will be very happy to have a pokie break I think. If she's awake and happy to sit for a test before bed I'll get one, but I'm not too worried now if she really doesn't want any more today - it looks as though she'll be just fine overnight. Again, thank you so much - I really do think you've stopped her from being straight back into the HI zone tonight and I'm so grateful for that.
 
Great job shooting that tonight April. Neko also bounced the first few times I shot her in blue. And in green. :rolleyes:

I don't think you need a before bed test tonight as the +2.5 was much higher than the preshot. Sleep well! And Rosa - that's high enough!
 
Rosa will be very glad not to have another test tonight! I agree, I think that's high enough though little miss bouncy might have other ideas on that!! Now I know she can get to green, she'll do it again - I'll be able to be more patient to see those numbers again now I know she's heading in the right direction overall. :)

I think we're all going to sleep well here tonight - I know I can relax now that I can see she's definitely bouncing. And as I don't have to wake her up for another test, she should sleep well too. :)
 
You are definitely heading in the right direction - together :):D:) Have a good nights sleep, you need to work up some reserves for Rosas first pj party, I dont think it will be that far off ;)
 
Thank you. I did get a good night's sleep thanks - I was asleep within minutes of my last post for once! :) I agree, I have a feeling Rosa wants a pj party of her own - and once she clears the bounce I don't think it'll take much longer at all for her to get one either!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top