1/29 Rocket AM BG 115=NS/PM BG 85=NS

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rocket & his Mom

Member Since 2010
Morning all,
Been trying to get some what caught up on my sleep...he has stayed out of the tub and has made residence in the spare room on the floor...so i have moved some stuff around...he takes turns from the futon to the floor...

he looks soooo tired...drained...almost no spark like in him anymore...hard to explain...

i have given subq fluids, and meds in place...no bupe this time...he got up to use the LB, went to drink water and ate a lil bit...but sleeping lots lots...so i'm letting him be...he still won't go into our bedroom though...i tried putting him on his bed...by the window...and nope...no luck...he bolted out of there...no idea why he is associating the room to be bad...

AM BG 115...still no shot...

we got a lot of snow thru the night and it still snowing...and very very cold...but i gotta get going to go pick him his Rxs for more pheno and zofran...


yesterday viewtopic.php?f=9&t=35480
 
Re: 1/29 Rocket AM BG 115=NS

Claudia & Rocket said:
she did mention however that i need to change his food to a kidney food...even if it's dry kidney food...she wants to take him off the aluminum hydroxide hence changing the food...as her concern maybe that he has aluminum hydroxide toxicity...i asked if there was such a test to check...she said no...that the change in food and withdrawing the binder should clear it if that's the case....
there is a blood test for aluminium toxicity, but it's my understanding that it's not a routine test and rather expensive. see msg 8201 in the Yahoo Calcitriol list. if you're interested in pursuing it further, your vet may want to reach out to the UC Davis Vet Med Teaching Hospital, which iirc published a report on aluminium toxicity in CKD dogs.

another thought is, if switching to a kidney diet isn't sufficient, there are other non-aluminium, non-calcium based binders available. we currently use two binders - ALOH3 plus fo$renol (sadly, it's expensive, but her insurance pays part of the cost). sevalamer may be cheaper - iirc someone mentioned getting it at the walmart or sam's club pharmacy - but i didn't look into it further. you probably don't need this reminder, but you will need to be more careful than most when adding another new med (and these are all off-label for cats afaik) b/c of Rocket's complicated medical history and the number of meds he's already on.
 
Re: 1/29 Rocket AM BG 115=NS

WCF thanks...
he liked the evo and that as far as i know it's low in phos and carbs...but the IM vet said he needs low protein but i'm not sure if that's the route to go...he liked the dry k/d before his FD dx and it took me time to switch him from dry to wet back in Oct 08...and he won't eat the kidney food...even mixing half FF and half kidney food...

i asked about the test...all she said was that taking him off of it will clear it if indeed that's what it was...

i will look at the Calcitriol site and see on the other binders...thx
 
Re: 1/29 Rocket AM BG 115=NS

Hi Claudia,

I just got back home from a cat transport, and came to check in on you are Rocket. I am glad the IM vet had an idea about what might make Rocket feel better. (Scritches to Rocket.)

I see that the $300 charge to DCIN went through OK. Good.

DCIN has received $25 in donations for Rocket. I hope there might be a few more folks willing to kick in.
 
Re: 1/29 Rocket AM BG 115=NS

Claudia: I think vets who proclaim that low protein is needed for CKD cats are a little behind; I'm not saying they aren't good vets but it's kind of old school thinking and it doesn't make sense. But restricting the phosphorus is extremely important. There are also some Science Diet varieties that are pretty low in phosphorus and would be more palatable than KD. Hopefully he would eat some of those.... Sending more healing vines for Rocket.
 
Re: 1/29 Rocket AM BG 115=NS

Tanyas crf site has been working on collecting nutritional data (protein, phos, etc) for many foods. No carbs listed, but you could always compare them against Janet and BInky's chart. Granted these are U.S. values. not sure if its going to be much different in Canada, or not.
http://www.felinecrf.org/canned_food_usa.htm
 
i've pretty much have let him be....all day...hard to do but this way it's less stressful....for him

i fed him at +10.5

PM BG 85=NS

been reading up on food labels and such...

got a call from the IM vet saying his results were back and overall she says his kidney values have not moved much from his last lab work...i have asked for a copy of it and will get it next wednesday....oh and his BG was 216....so i'm shocked at his AM/PM BG today

she sooooo totally wants him out of the AH and wants him on a kidney only food....and i'm not sure i want to go that route...i can compromise lowering the AH and transitioning him to the Evo (which is good quality food and low carbs and relatively low phos and he likes it) with a smaller dose of AH in it....but we'll see how that goes....

seems like soon after i test him he goes to the tub....so will let him be the rest of the night...he is now in the spare room on the futon....and here shortly in 15 mins he gets the pheno...

the one thing that bothers me about this IM vet is that i asked to be present while they do the ultrasound...and i have previously...but she won't let me...she says he will do better without me being present but if he is getting sedated he won't know any better which i pointed it out to her...but she still said NO....he will get a catherer for whatever reason...she gave me too much info over the phone...anyhow...the apt on Wed is 11 am with neuro...which will go past 12 noonish...then 1 pm the ultrasound...then 2 pm i get to see the IM vet to get all the reports...so looks like Rocket will be there all afternoon on Wed....and i'm staying put at the hospital until i get him back....if they think they will get rid of me...they're wrong...i will wait even if in my car....
 
I would wait in my car too Claudia. Can you put him on a kidney diet just temporarily - like a few weeks or do half and half? What is bad about the kindey food - I assume its wet food and most cats hate it. Does Rocket hate it?

Glad he's out of the bathtub.

Sending more hugs.
 
Karrie and Maverick said:
I would wait in my car too Claudia. Can you put him on a kidney diet just temporarily - like a few weeks or do half and half? What is bad about the kindey food - I assume its wet food and most cats hate it. Does Rocket hate it?

Glad he's out of the bathtub.

Sending more hugs.
he hates it...absolutely hates it...and it's high high in carbs...i have tried in the past to do half and half...but he gets turns off easily...must be the taste of it...he loves the dry k/d food...at least he did back in sep08 when he was dx with FD...and it was challenging switching him to wet food...i literally bought one can of everything to see what he would eat...that's how we landed the FF and proplan flavours....

i'm after getting him a low phos low carb wet food...

99% cats hate kidney foods....no idea why they promote it if cats won't eat it...
 
thank you all for your continued well wishes and prayers...means more than what words can describe!

tonight he has been sleeping lots in the spare room...he looks oh so very tired...probably a combo of the bupe and the work out he got yesterday at the specialist...

he looks so frail...so sad...but he had eaten his meals...has not finished what's been served but eating ok...he has lots of blankets where he has made it his new residence....so i'm ok letting him be...i have to get some more of those baby night lights....so i can see better...

DH and i are the only childless couple i know who buy baby food, diapers and baby cutlery, baby dishes...go figure....now i need night lights...

btw...the diapers are for Comet not Rocket...

ni ni everyone...all his meds are in place for the night...i will keep a close eye on him tonight....as always...

and as always keeping you all close to my thoughts and prayers and thankful Sooty is showing improvement...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top