Almost! Missing Mauer's name after dateDid I do the title right?![]()
I don't know about Lev... sorry! But with Lantus people check at +2 which is the usual onset. I *think* Lev has a later onset, usually around +3?When would be ideal to test her during the day?

Darn Karen, you make an excellent pointAlmost! Missing Mauer's name after date
I don't know about Lev... sorry! But with Lantus people check at +2 which is the usual onset. I *think* Lev has a later onset, usually around +3?
It will be fine. You done it before, and you have so much experience!![]()
I hope Mauer adjusts to Levemir quickly and slides down from those pink numbers 
I really hope so too! And thank you for your welcomeHi!! Nice to see you on this ISGI hope Mauer adjusts to Levemir quickly and slides down from those pink numbers
![]()

From her food at AMPS or?That is not too much a food bump...
I'll do that! She's starting to go down slowlyMost kitties on Lev will have onset around +4 and nadir around +8 to +10. My Maverick seems to like doing things a little bit differently than what is considered typical on Lev. You might want to test again at +5 and at +8 to see how the cycle is going.
yes, I assume you gave him some food with the shot?From her food at AMPS or?
Levemir is different. Some cats, like my Gracie, often had an extended duration with Levemir so there was no food spike. In addition, because Levemir typically onsets at +4, a Levemir kitty with normal duration would see the BG rise before +4.yes, I assume you gave him some food with the shot?
I meant that, if you don't see a food bump, the insulin must be already working, because most kitties have some sort of increase in BG after eating, and because the L insulins have a later onset, one usually sees it, unless is an "active" cycle.
Mauer seem to be quite flat so far, which is expected in the first cycle.
Levemir is different. Some cats, like my Gracie, often had an extended duration with Levemir so there was no food spike. In addition, because Levemir typically onsets at +4, a Levemir kitty with normal duration would see the BG rise before +4.
Patience grasshopper. Levemir is a depot insulin, it will get better as the cycles go by and the depot builds. Plus you started on a lower dose.not much happening here.
You know I've built all this excitement up for no reason, so it's just annoying nothing is happening.Patience grasshopper. Levemir is a depot insulin, it will get better as the cycles go by and the depot builds. Plus you started on a lower dose.
Levemir really is ECID, and now you get to learn Mauer. My Neko liked to be late at the party, her onset was +5 and nadir typically +9 to +12, though I did spot it occasionally as late as +15.In which case I would see the insulin drop the numbers after the next shot, then go up again until onset of the next shot at +5. The thing about these late nadirs cats, you will have to get used to shooting lower numbers eventually.
Depends on how Mauer responds to Levemir. Some cats onset hard and onset early (+3). Neko nadired earlier if she wanted a reduction. I got a before bed test, and depending on that I'd decide if I need to set an alarm for +9. Bonus for me, 3-4 days a week I got up at +9 for a workout. You'll figure out what timing works for Mauer.So basically you're saying I test at PMPS go to sleep and test again +5?
PMPS kinda is my last test. I go straight to bed, sleep around +1 latest +2. Then I at least get some sleep if she dropped +5. If I'm up late I grab a test, depending on that test I postpone the +5 to +6.Depends on how Mauer responds to Levemir. Some cats onset hard and onset early (+3). Neko nadired earlier if she wanted a reduction. I got a before bed test, and depending on that I'd decide if I need to set an alarm for +9. Bonus for me, 3-4 days a week I got up at +9 for a workout. You'll figure out what timing works for Mauer.
I saw the video, just wanted to make absolutely sureNo priming for Levemir. There is a video on drawing Lantus in Insulin Care & Syringe Info: Proper Handling, Drawing, Fine Dosing and the same works for Lev.
For Neko, and it may not the same for Mauer, I found if I got a +9 AM test and then the PMPS, it gave me a good hit of what was going to happen at night. I think Marje found the PMPS+2 actually helpful for figuring out what LBG (Gracie) was going to do. ECID.