1/29 Mauer AMPS 304 +2 311 +3 302 +5 313

SashaV

Member Since 2020
Did I do the title right?o_O

First day on levemir! 2.25U is not much in the syringe :eek:

When would be ideal to test her during the day?

I'm nervous so I'll probably need a little hand holding :oops:
 
Almost! Missing Mauer's name after date :)


I don't know about Lev... sorry! But with Lantus people check at +2 which is the usual onset. I *think* Lev has a later onset, usually around +3?

It will be fine. You done it before, and you have so much experience! :bighug:
Darn Karen, you make an excellent point :D:p I'll get that fixed right away!
 
Most kitties on Lev will have onset around +4 and nadir around +8 to +10. My Maverick seems to like doing things a little bit differently than what is considered typical on Lev. You might want to test again at +5 and at +8 to see how the cycle is going.
 
Most kitties on Lev will have onset around +4 and nadir around +8 to +10. My Maverick seems to like doing things a little bit differently than what is considered typical on Lev. You might want to test again at +5 and at +8 to see how the cycle is going.
I'll do that! She's starting to go down slowly :D
 
From her food at AMPS or?
yes, I assume you gave him some food with the shot?

I meant that, if you don't see a food bump, the insulin must be already working, because most kitties have some sort of increase in BG after eating, and because the L insulins have a later onset, one usually sees it, unless is an "active" cycle.

Mauer seem to be quite flat so far, which is expected in the first cycle.
 
yes, I assume you gave him some food with the shot?

I meant that, if you don't see a food bump, the insulin must be already working, because most kitties have some sort of increase in BG after eating, and because the L insulins have a later onset, one usually sees it, unless is an "active" cycle.

Mauer seem to be quite flat so far, which is expected in the first cycle.
Levemir is different. Some cats, like my Gracie, often had an extended duration with Levemir so there was no food spike. In addition, because Levemir typically onsets at +4, a Levemir kitty with normal duration would see the BG rise before +4.
 
Levemir is different. Some cats, like my Gracie, often had an extended duration with Levemir so there was no food spike. In addition, because Levemir typically onsets at +4, a Levemir kitty with normal duration would see the BG rise before +4.

Makes sense... but would that be the case when someone just started on Lev? Just trying to learn....
 
not much happening here.
Patience grasshopper. Levemir is a depot insulin, it will get better as the cycles go by and the depot builds. Plus you started on a lower dose.

Levemir really is ECID, and now you get to learn Mauer. My Neko liked to be late at the party, her onset was +5 and nadir typically +9 to +12, though I did spot it occasionally as late as +15. :confused: In which case I would see the insulin drop the numbers after the next shot, then go up again until onset of the next shot at +5. The thing about these late nadirs cats, you will have to get used to shooting lower numbers eventually.
 
Patience grasshopper. Levemir is a depot insulin, it will get better as the cycles go by and the depot builds. Plus you started on a lower dose.

Levemir really is ECID, and now you get to learn Mauer. My Neko liked to be late at the party, her onset was +5 and nadir typically +9 to +12, though I did spot it occasionally as late as +15. :confused: In which case I would see the insulin drop the numbers after the next shot, then go up again until onset of the next shot at +5. The thing about these late nadirs cats, you will have to get used to shooting lower numbers eventually.
You know I've built all this excitement up for no reason, so it's just annoying nothing is happening.
So basically you're saying I test at PMPS go to sleep and test again +5?
At some point I look forward to shooting lower numbers... that means it's working. We need that, even though it will be a challenge for me. I'd rather have a flat curve than a curve that's going bungee jumping regularly.

It's a marathon, not a sprint! I keep reminding myself.
 
So basically you're saying I test at PMPS go to sleep and test again +5?
Depends on how Mauer responds to Levemir. Some cats onset hard and onset early (+3). Neko nadired earlier if she wanted a reduction. I got a before bed test, and depending on that I'd decide if I need to set an alarm for +9. Bonus for me, 3-4 days a week I got up at +9 for a workout. You'll figure out what timing works for Mauer.
 
Depends on how Mauer responds to Levemir. Some cats onset hard and onset early (+3). Neko nadired earlier if she wanted a reduction. I got a before bed test, and depending on that I'd decide if I need to set an alarm for +9. Bonus for me, 3-4 days a week I got up at +9 for a workout. You'll figure out what timing works for Mauer.
PMPS kinda is my last test. I go straight to bed, sleep around +1 latest +2. Then I at least get some sleep if she dropped +5. If I'm up late I grab a test, depending on that test I postpone the +5 to +6.

Levemir doesn't need to be primed right?
 
No priming for Levemir. There is a video on drawing Lantus in Insulin Care & Syringe Info: Proper Handling, Drawing, Fine Dosing and the same works for Lev.

For Neko, and it may not the same for Mauer, I found if I got a +9 AM test and then the PMPS, it gave me a good hit of what was going to happen at night. I think Marje found the PMPS+2 actually helpful for figuring out what LBG (Gracie) was going to do. ECID.
I saw the video, just wanted to make absolutely sure :rolleyes:
Nice to hear some specific signs. Might need some help down the line to figure those out.
 
Back
Top