1/29 Makoto no pmps +.75(112) +3.75 (75) +4.25(57) +4.5(44) +5(101) ...poss double dose

Si am cat mom

Member Since 2019
Late again this AM :/
Had the pet sitter here in the evening so I could see her go through the routine with the shot and setting up the feeders. Unfortunately, I totally forgot to check his BG before the shot. It was (146) an hour and a half before and (112) 30-40 minutes after the shot/ meal. :facepalm::confused:
Off for a few days, so I'll spot check overnight for a few night, but she shot a reduced dose so I'm expecting higher numbers. Wish I wasn't going out of town now since we are heading in a good direction again.
 
Last edited:
I know how you feel Ari, it's tough to hand over your kitty to someone else. :( It sounds like you're well set up though. When do you leave? How long are you away for?
Thanks for asking about Leo, he was fine not long after the puke event. :p
 
I'll just be gone Friday evening through Sunday afternoon. Just worried because she won't be testing and it seemed like she couldn't find the dose at first....we had to try it a few times.
:confused:
I even printed out a giant blow up of the 0.10 units. She took a picture tonight on her phone but in my head now...I'm like - what if she gives him 1 unit....? :nailbiting::arghh: I asked her to send me a picture Friday night before shooting....
 
I hope Makoto stays safe. I understand not wanting to leave them. I hate not to be there for Blackie. It's good you have a sitter there to help. Hugs. :bighug:

Yeah....we just started working this dose well too.
She's nice but seemed a bit overwhelmed tonight.
I need to try a let go a bit...stop obsessing and hovering over him. It's just 2 nights and I'll be 3 hours away so. Should be fine ...* sigh*
 
Ari, you could use an old syringe and draw up your .10 dose using coloured water for her to use as a reference.
 
Ari, you could use an old syringe and draw up your .10 dose using coloured water for her to use as a reference.


I did....
I even did a saline vial and had her practice.

I think we actually might have made a mistake and given him 0.10 units twice instead of discarding it and using the saline " test" vials....

I don't know how else to explain these numbers on a smaller dose. I thought I had the syringes marked and separated but....:arghh:
Really dumb.

Gave HC gravy...trying to ride this out until +7
 
It's most likely the 0.5 unit dose working. Not the 0.1u.

Hoping someone with experience with vacation doses and microdoses comes along before Friday.
 
It's most likely the 0.5 unit dose working. Not the 0.1u.

Hoping someone with experience with vacation doses and microdoses comes along before Friday.



We've been on it for a few days though....

The only thing different was the practicing with the " vacation " dose and saline test doses. If we gave it twice. 10- 15 mins apart... It shouldn't do this right? Or could it act like 2 onsets?

+ 4.75 ( 52)
+5 ( 101)
 
I mean the numbers right now, is the influence of the 0.5u depot. Not the 0.1u you just shot. You always have to remember the depot is still working in the background and it's why sometimes when CG shoot reduced doses "for safety", they still see a cycle afterward that gives them low numbers.

I'm sorry. What do you mean when you say you gave it twice? Do you mean you shot saline twice? The saline should do nothing and have no effect, especially if it's a small amount.
 
I mean the numbers right now, is the influence of the 0.5u depot. Not the 0.1u you just shot. You always have to remember the depot is still working in the background and it's why sometimes when CG shoot reduced doses "for safety", they still see a cycle afterward that gives them low numbers.

I'm sorry. What do you mean when you say you gave it twice? Do you mean you shot saline twice? The saline should do nothing and have no effect, especially if it's a small amount.

Yeah....you are right about the depot.

No....I think we gave insulin twice. 0.10 twice ....

We were practicing with the saline and then practiced drawing from the vial of insulin. She got bubbles and was trying to inject them back into the pen, so I got a needle and showed her how I do it .....
Now, I am trying to remember what I would have done with THAT syringe. Did I discard it or set it down and we shot it practicing....
I honestly can't remember now. I am wondering if that would cause another onset though....
 
Oh I understand your concern now. If it were shot around the same time, I'm inclined to say no... But perhaps someone with more knowledge can confirm that.

It's a good thing it was 0.1u and not 0.5 u twice! Paws crossed this is really just the 0.5u depot. Keep testing! How is Makoto doing?
 
We started trying / practing at 7:05 when she watched me give a saline dose. We were mostly practicing finding the dose on the syringe which is how we ended up with several syringes. Then I had her do the real dose after he ate around 7:15 ish. So, maybe 15 mins apart.

He's good about letting me know something is up so...around that +4.5 he was pacing around by his food dish and chirping/ asking for food.
He was thrilled about the HC food- of course. Grooming himself now...
 
Oh I understand your concern now. If it were shot around the same time, I'm inclined to say no... But perhaps someone with more knowledge can confirm that.

It's a good thing it was 0.1u and not 0.5 u twice! Paws crossed this is really just the 0.5u depot. Keep testing! How is Makoto doing?

Definitely lucky it wasn't a different dose. I'm usually more controlled with my set up for shooting but got all mixed up when adding another person into it.
 
Last edited:
Interesting numbers tonight. I wonder what he’s been doing the previous nights. I would blame the 0.5 unit depot tonight. FYI, sometimes flat blue cycles precede action cycles.
 
Interesting numbers tonight. I wonder what he’s been doing the previous nights. I would blame the 0.5 unit depot tonight. FYI, sometimes flat blue cycles precede action cycles.

:(I remember reading a post about flat yellows but not blues.
I leave MC/LC food for his +2,+4 meals if I'm working overnight and he's hit the mid 100s, but I'd hate to think he's been pushing the mid 40s when I'm gone. I have to remember that his overnight cycles are not like his afternoons.

Will try and get ahead of it tomorrow, but now that we messed with tonight's PM dose and the depot - who knows
 
Mini-bounce today to be expected, (really Makoto...45 :eek:) but better cycle tonight, sorry I missed the excitement last night ;), looks like you handled things just fine Ari, hope you can enjoy your weekend!
 
Back
Top