1/29 Mai AMPS 39, +0.5 181, +2 285

Mai & Dad

Member Since 2024
Hello everyone!

I know I have not been posting for a while. We recently switched to a new vet and I will keep that story for tonight.

Long story short, he is at 39 this morning at 8:20am and he just finished his morning food (around 845am). I had never seen this low before. Based on his previous data, after a meal, there are three things can happen:
  1. His BG will increase by about ~60 by +2 if everything is stable
  2. His BG will not chance if his BG is coming down (if his BG actually decreased, I can typically tell he is coming down from a bounce)
  3. His BG will increase by more than ~100, that typically signals a bounce incoming but sometimes it is normal and will stable around here.
I am fairly confident he is not coming down from a bounce right now. But I can test at most his +1 and +2 and +3 before going to work (and come back around +9).

What do you think? Shoot or no shoot?

Update: tested again at +0.5, got 185. Probably will shoot.
 
I wonder if the first test was a bad strip? What did you feed him when he was 39?
Just his normal food, nothing HC.

And you are right. I panicked a little and should've tested again immediately.

And hello again! Hope you have been doing well xD.

Update: +2 at 285. My boy is definitely bouncing up I guess.
 
I see that Mai is on a rather large dose now. Has he been tested for acromegaly (IGF-1 test) or insulin auto antibodies (IAA) yet? Or is that one of the things you hope the new vet will be able to do for you.

Mai has earned a reduction in dose. At his size of dose, I'd take a 1 unit reduction.

You have been increasing too fast sometimes. Always hold the dose at least 6 cycles. If you are seeing green nadirs, hold for 10 cycles. Patience is important, especially with this size dose and depot. You could be seeing low numbers again in the next few cycles.

Forget the 0.25 unit dose changes at this size of dose. If you want to tweak the dose, go with 0.5 unit changes. But this time, make it a 1.0 unit reduction as he went below 40.
 
Back
Top