1/29 LARRY AMPS 417 +2 307 +4 173 +10 476

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 1/29 LARRY AMPS 417 +2-307

Good Morning Pam and extra sweet Larry! That is a nice drop he's starting to do already at +2! Be sure to try to get a test about +5 or so to be sure he doesn't drop too low. You're both doing GREAT!!!

BIG HUGS!
 
Re: 1/29 LARRY AMPS 417 +2-307

so a drop of only abt 100 is good? yesterday he got a much bigger drop in 2 hrs. from 457 to 274.
just trying to learn :)
 
Re: 1/29 LARRY AMPS 417 +2-307

A slower drop probably feels better, we'd love to see a gradual lowering that reaches its low point around 5-7 hours the shot. (we don't see that often with N, it's usually a sharp fast drop and then a fast rise). He is doing better than most kitties on it

Nice job testing today!
 
Re: 1/29 LARRY AMPS 417 +2-307

now at +4 we r at 173.
not sure how well i am doing. he shakes his head as soon as he is pierced and tries to get away. also the blood drops r fairly big. hope its not hurting? do they do that if its not hurting?
yest. he was still and didnt shake his head. made me think i was doing it right.
 
Re: 1/29 LARRY AMPS 417 +2-307

Looking good, a continued slow drop. We just wouldn't want him in the 50s. It doesn't look like he will get close to that today, but you might check at +6.

The general thought is they aren't feeling pain, but are annoyed because we are doing something to them that they didn't ask us to. :mrgreen: That's why we add the snack so it becomes something they look forward to.

If you getting a big drop, you might dial back the depth on the lancet or go to a smaller size lancet 27-30?


Have you and CD been in touch? She could watch your technique and give you pointers (as soon as your weather clears)
 
Re: 1/29 LARRY AMPS 417 +2-307

The blood drop may feel like an insect crawling on the ear ... I'd flick my ear too!
 
Re: 1/29 LARRY AMPS 417 +2-307

haha bj
sue...larry said to tell u: not a chance! we tried at +7 and he attacked the brush, mamas arm, and hand (starting to think the neosporin is for me), feet, pants. he is a wilddd man. whether high low or medium, he feelssssss goooodddd.
we shall try again at +8
wish i felt as good. he is as spry as a kitten :-D
 
Re: 1/29 LARRY AMPS 417 +2-307

Maybe wear him out first, with some very active play?
 
Re: 1/29 LARRY AMPS 417 +2- 307 +4- 173- +10- 476

feel sad this is the highest number ever recorded :( and 2 hrs. til shot time
feedback appreciated
 
Re: 1/29 LARRY AMPS 417 +2- 307 +4- 173- +10- 476

This is pretty normal for N (unfortunately) although it could be a bounce from the blue. If you shoot now (which would be okay) can you shoot early in the am instead of waiting for the normal time (which would be +14)

It may be that raising the dose gives him a longer cycle. The first time you can monitor, i would try a 2.5 to see.
 
Re: 1/29 LARRY AMPS 417 +2- 307 +4- 173- +10- 476

yes i can do it now and then at either 730 or 8 am. would u say 2 U? tonight?
 
Re: 1/29 LARRY AMPS 417 +2- 307 +4- 173- +10- 476

Pam,
Since your using N insulin, looks like this cycle shot has done all it's going to do for Larry. I know you need to get to sleep. You can shoot your regular dose now. Can you give his shot 12 hours from now? If not, you can shoot as soon as you can after that. Humulin/Novalin N are 'single cycle' insulins so once it has done it's job, it's all gone.

Like Sue said, when you can test at +2 and +4, you might think about raising the dose. We can talk more about that later.

See how much easier this is starting to be? We told you! :-D

BIG HUG!
 
Re: 1/29 LARRY AMPS 417 +2- 307 +4- 173- +10- 476

thank u both.
the other times he was lower and it was later in the cycle also.
yes will give am shot around 8am
 
Re: 1/29 LARRY AMPS 417 +2- 307 +4- 173- +10- 476

I agree with Sue and Lyresa. I think the N is done for today so you can shoot (now if you haven't already done so) 2 units tonight.
Then tomorrow shoot around 8 o'clock or so.

You are doing good! :-D
 
thanks u all.
laresa, i see on here u said raise the dose....then tonight, u said lower it? did u change ur mind? thots?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top