? 1/29/25 Mikey AMPS 180 +4 22

Mikey’sDad

Member Since 2021
Yikes, I gave Mikey his 2.75 dose. He was at 180 pre dose and at + 4 he was at 22. I immediately just gave him globs of Karo syrup. He of showed no signs of distress. I am wondering why suddenly is he getting low numbers. And he had no dose on 1/28 pm because of his issues yesterday ( see yesterday’s posting ) and was only 180.
I was expecting a very high am number.
I will post yesterday’s thread
Thanks
 
Last edited:
How long after the Karo did you get the test?

Since it is later in the cycle, the Karo would have given him a good boost. It's also possible that the strip used in the previous test was faulty or there was not enough blood. Next time you get an odd number, just get another test to rule out a bad test.
 
How long after the Karo did you get the test?

Since it is later in the cycle, the Karo would have given him a good boost. It's also possible that the strip used in the previous test was faulty or there was not enough blood. Next time you get an odd number, just get another test to rule out a bad test.
Good idea. I don’t think it was faulty as it is a new meter and new batch of strips
I tested him one hour after the Karo. He does like that Karo syrup
I will see what his readings are later on. In 6 hours he gets his PM Shot and I will decide what dose or any is appropriate.
He seems fine!
Thank You
Tom :)
 
Yesterday's post
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...5-56-7-45-9-70-big-scare.297870/#post-3241551

I hope Mikey's numbers continue to stay up.
He earned a reduction tonight if his BG is high enough to shoot . He dropped under 90 so a reduction is earned .New dose would be 2.50 units
Thanks for posting the link. I deleted my mess.
I will be cutting him back again. Have no idea why all of a sudden his numbers are lower. Maybe he is going into remission. I doubt that
 
Thanks for posting the link. I deleted my mess.
I will be cutting him back again. Have no idea why all of a sudden his numbers are lower. Maybe he is going into remission. I doubt that
Hello Tom,
I'm guessing 3 units of insulin is too much for Mikey.
Good luck, you're doing a great job!
 
If you get too little blood on a test strip, it can sometimes give you an invalid low numbers. Always best to retest those lows. I had the same happen to me several times. Given that he went down to 64 after the karo wore off, it's definitely possible that that low was right. :eek:. Good luck with the new dose.
 
:banghead::banghead:
If you get too little blood on a test strip, it can sometimes give you an invalid low numbers. Always best to retest those lows. I had the same happen to me several times. Given that he went down to 64 after the karo wore off, it's definitely possible that that low was right. :eek:. Good luck with the new dose.
I know about the blood readings. I keep getting blood too thick or not enough blood, or strip is used. I even bought a new meter. I think I may upgrade

Mikey went up to 146 at +9 and at PM dosing he went to 126. I am hesitant to give him a shot because this morning, he went to 22 at an Am reading of 180. Thought?
Thanks Tom
 
How would you feel about a half dose? Going down to 126 is probably the Lantus double dip.
Lantus double dip????
I will not be around tonight until late - theater tickets and no one is home to monitor. Since he went to 22 this morning, I need to be careful. I will follow the guidelines suggested that 150 and below, do not shoot. I did consider half dose but I would be worried the whole theatrical perfomance.
Thanks
Tom
 
Yikes, indeed! 22 would scare the dickens out of me. I'm so glad he came up.
It scared the dickens out of me.
He has never in 5 years been that low.
You would not have known he was that low. He appeared perfectly normal! I bought a second meter to double check. I do not recommend the Relion Walmart glucose meters. Unpredictable

Have a good night
Tom
 
Back
Top