Ann & Tess GA
Member Since 2010
Sorry I couldn't post much yesterday I was computerless for awhile.
Well, at least the big drops have stopped but as it takes at least 3 days on a dose for the shed to even out I;\'m still sitting on my hands. This may be too low a dose, but at least we don't have a potential hypo and Tess seems to be coming down. She may very well be a +12 nadir kitty, which is odd since she was so early on Lantus.
I'm still posting in the Lantus forum, here's a link to yesterday . DH did most of the posting .
1/27 Condo
1/27 RECAP:
Tess seems to be dropping today but, another day on this dose and we should see if she needs to have a drop put back in. Unfortunately tomorrow is the class I teach in Santa Barbara and I will probably need to pack Tess up and take her along, since we still don't know where she will go. That always does wonders for the BG. :roll:
Melissa, what I meant about the shed for Lantus emptying and the Lev shed filling is that they are not actual places where the insulin is stored, but rather an unavailability if some of the insulin as it remains in a linked molecular state. Although the action of Lantus and Levemir are very similar but they differ on the molecular level and that is where the shed is. In effect Tess had 2 insulins working at once and that is why she had such a drop on Sunday when we started. Some cats don't have a problem but that is why the initial dose of Lev is reduced when switching. Tess seemed to have an overly full Lantusshed, i think she was ready for another reduction there. So our reduction to .1u when we started Lev just wasn't enough. This video from Novo-Nordisk helped me a lot in understanding sheds. http://www.novonordisk.com/images/diabetes/levemir_mode_of_action/levimir_movie.html
The reason I feel the shed needs to fill yet is in the first 4 days on lev we had to skip 2 shots, reduce 2 times and stall an hour which acts as a reduction or in this case an even bigger reduction as it was combined w/ a dose reduction. All of these thing mess up the shed and the protocol calls for holding the initial dose for 3 to 5 days or 6 to 10 cycles. This is the 4th cycle on this dose and I plan to hold it at least through tomorrow, unless there is some dramatic change.
Well, at least the big drops have stopped but as it takes at least 3 days on a dose for the shed to even out I;\'m still sitting on my hands. This may be too low a dose, but at least we don't have a potential hypo and Tess seems to be coming down. She may very well be a +12 nadir kitty, which is odd since she was so early on Lantus.
I'm still posting in the Lantus forum, here's a link to yesterday . DH did most of the posting .
1/27 Condo
1/27 RECAP:
- • AMPS~428, fed 1.0oz. 5%, 0u. Lev (2 drops), Cosequin , Miralax
• +1 fed .50oz. 5%
• +2~332 fed .50oz. 5%
• +3~240
• +4~170 fed .15oz. 9%
• +5~155
• +7~175
• +11~283
• PMBG~372, fed 1.0oz. 5%, 0u. Lev (2 drops)
• +1 fed .50oz. 5%
• +2~471
• +4~406
• +5~431 fed 1.0oz. 3%
• +11~355
- • AMPS~322, fed 1.0oz. 3%, 0u. Lev (2 drops), Cosequin , Miralax
• +2~341 fed .50oz. 3%
• +3~312 fed .50oz. 3%
• +5~267 fed .50oz. 3%
Tess seems to be dropping today but, another day on this dose and we should see if she needs to have a drop put back in. Unfortunately tomorrow is the class I teach in Santa Barbara and I will probably need to pack Tess up and take her along, since we still don't know where she will go. That always does wonders for the BG. :roll:
Melissa, what I meant about the shed for Lantus emptying and the Lev shed filling is that they are not actual places where the insulin is stored, but rather an unavailability if some of the insulin as it remains in a linked molecular state. Although the action of Lantus and Levemir are very similar but they differ on the molecular level and that is where the shed is. In effect Tess had 2 insulins working at once and that is why she had such a drop on Sunday when we started. Some cats don't have a problem but that is why the initial dose of Lev is reduced when switching. Tess seemed to have an overly full Lantusshed, i think she was ready for another reduction there. So our reduction to .1u when we started Lev just wasn't enough. This video from Novo-Nordisk helped me a lot in understanding sheds. http://www.novonordisk.com/images/diabetes/levemir_mode_of_action/levimir_movie.html
The reason I feel the shed needs to fill yet is in the first 4 days on lev we had to skip 2 shots, reduce 2 times and stall an hour which acts as a reduction or in this case an even bigger reduction as it was combined w/ a dose reduction. All of these thing mess up the shed and the protocol calls for holding the initial dose for 3 to 5 days or 6 to 10 cycles. This is the 4th cycle on this dose and I plan to hold it at least through tomorrow, unless there is some dramatic change.