1/28 Taz, AMPS-163, +5-203

SaraMV

Member Since 2022
Can someone take a look at Taz's spreadsheet for me? He has been going from blue to yellow at +4, +5, and +6 the last couple of days. I thought this should be the zone where they start to go their lowest, so I'm just wondering what might be causing this? Is it because he gets his snacks at +3 and +4.5, and the carbs are causing his glucose to go up? I'm just trying to get a better understanding of how to read him and his numbers. :)
 
So not tons of data to go off but I do see you're following slgs.

What percentage of carb are you feeding? It could have something to do with the duration of insulin wearing off too soon if you're feeding higher carb snacks later in game.

You might try to get a +2 and then decide the percentage of carb to give based on how low he goes. If he is steep diving you may want to feed a little higher at +2. If he is flat...ish... you might just give some LC or nothing if he isnt interested.
 
He's only eating Friskies pate. He gets a half of can for each of his two big meals, and then 1/8 of a can at each snack. The carb list on here lists this food at 4-6%, so definately low carb.

He is also having some teeth issues, so maybe the pain after eating is raising his numbers? Just a thought.
 
His am cycles actually are remaining pretty flat, given meter variance. I'd be curious to see a test or two in the pm cycle to see if the trend carries over into the evening cycles.

Overall, the numbers are actually not that bad and are what Lantus is known for...nice flattish cycles.

For most kitties, until they get used to the insulin and become more regulated, their cycles go in waves of action, where you'll see large swings when kitty bounces. They'll get a pretty good cycle, then bounce from dropping into numbers they aren't used to, and go higher for a number of cycles, then come back down again.

Considering you've just recently started insulin, and are using the AT2 meter, that's very nice to see that he's getting the hang of things so quickly. May I ask, what are your goals for Taz? Remission? Regulation?
 
He's only eating Friskies pate. He gets a half of can for each of his two big meals, and then 1/8 of a can at each snack. The carb list on here lists this food at 4-6%, so definately low carb.

He is also having some teeth issues, so maybe the pain after eating is raising his numbers? Just a thought.
that is possible on the teeth. When is he due to have the teeth looked at?

Past that I'd say get a +2 and see where he is and maybe move the snack up a little so it might not affect duration of insulin as much.
 
His am cycles actually are remaining pretty flat, given meter variance. I'd be curious to see a test or two in the pm cycle to see if the trend carries over into the evening cycles.

Overall, the numbers are actually not that bad and are what Lantus is known for...nice flattish cycles.

For most kitties, until they get used to the insulin and become more regulated, their cycles go in waves of action, where you'll see large swings when kitty bounces. They'll get a pretty good cycle, then bounce from dropping into numbers they aren't used to, and go higher for a number of cycles, then come back down again.

Considering you've just recently started insulin, and are using the AT2 meter, that's very nice to see that he's getting the hang of things so quickly. May I ask, what are your goals for Taz? Remission? Regulation?

We would love remission, but I'm also scared to force him into such low numbers. I'd be scared that I wouldn't be home to monitor or catch his lows. :(

I forgot to mention that he also had a vet visit on Tuesday. But I noticed that he's been doing it for the last couple of weeks. It's just more noticeable when the colors change. Lol
 
Sara, if you look at Ruby's SS from the past 3 days, you will see a few things: she got a 304 at PMPS on 1/26 and then started a slow slide downward until she hit 55 last night, then went back up again to 219 in the mid afternoon earlier today. That's a wave that started high, went down, and then went up again. These aren;t 12 hour waves, they happened over 3 days. There are patterns in there, but you have to do enough testing in both cycles to see them more clearly.

You haven't gotten any night tests after PMPS recently, so you have no idea where Taz has gone then. Not a criticism or judgment, just trying to help you understand better what is going on with Taz. Getting night tests could explain why you're getting yellow numbers in the middle of the day. You'll also see from my SS that I don't test that much at night. I leave food out for Ruby to regulate herself. But I always get a test in before I go to bed. If you're worried about hypoglycemia, you should not miss those tests. Try to get a +2 or +3 at minimum.
 
Last edited:
Back
Top