1/28 Sharess AMPS 386, +1 397, +2 319, +3 239

Status
Not open for further replies.

Vicky & Sharess

Member Since 2022
Hello group,

Nice to meet you! I'm not new to the group but I am (or will be) new to Lantus. My Sharess is still on the modified Prozinc method, but since her numbers have not regulated very well and she keeps bouncing as you can see, the vet has asked us to switch insulin to Lantus as soon as the Prozinc bottle runs out.

My question is... are the units counted the same? She recently needs between 1U and 2U. If I switch to Lantus do I have to start with a smaller dose, or do I have to keep the dose she was on with Prozinc? and... Can I use Tight Regulation method or do I have to start with the Sart Low Go Slow method?

Thank you very much in advance from Sharess and I! :cat:

420165838_10160727188642278_4026174741222803898_n.jpg
 
Hi Vicki! I see you have been getting some good nadirs lately, but it’s just not keeping her as flat as we would like to see. I do hope that Lantus will help her a lot. She’s absolutely the cutest! Although I already knew that.

When switching from another insulin, we take into consideration the current dose and the nadirs, etc. From looking at her spreadsheet, I probably would start somewhere around 1.5 units. You do not have to begin with SLGS. You can begin with TR as you test plenty for that. We can help you with the switch. When will you begin?
 
Welcome to LLB @Vicky & Sharess . I am LOVING the '80s workout vibe in the photo ❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️.
My Cleo was also on prozinc and we switched to Lantus.
Do you have the u100 syringes? When will you start? Have you read the stickies about the Lantus depot and dosing methods? There's a lot of information here and a lot of wonderful people who are more than willing to help explain it all.
 
Right, Elise is one of the best! It will take 5-7 days for the depot of Lantus to build up, as she says, and then we will have an idea of where to go from there. But after that, you will be able, with TR, to make dose increases every 6 cycles (just like MPM) if the numbers warrant it.
 
The only restriction with starting Tight Regulation for dosing, is that your kitty has to be on an all low carb wet or raw food diet. I see your signature mentions Hills M/D. Is that a different version than the regular M/D, which is medium carb, not low carb?
 
wowowow, I woke up and read all your adorable messages. The truth is that I couldn't feel better accompanied and guided by having people like you helping me :woot:

I haven't been able to read all the stickers yet, but I'll catch up. What surprised me the most is the price difference. Prozinc cost me €68 for a 10ml bottle and Lantus cost me €37.5 for a 10ml bottle in Spain. I'm still waiting for the u100 syringes that I ordered to arrive, but I estimate that I have approximately 1 month left of Prozinc insulin or u40 syringes (whichever runs out first). But I think it's a good thing, because Sharess has had a cold since the beginning of the year and the vet is combining antivirals and antibiotics, so I don't know if the bad numbers are due to that or due the cold, so I hope that when Sharess changes insulin , she does not have external agents that can interfere with the numbers.

I have also seen that with Lantus I cannot remove the bubbles from the syringe by inserting and removing insulin from the bottle until they disappear because the contents can be contaminated. Lantus seems more delicate than Prozinc. I hope I don't mess it up. :confused:

Regarding food... I have to change my signature. We no longer give her Hills, but we have to vary all the time because she doesn't want to eat the same food for a long time. We always try to make it wet food with less than 7% fat, but it is complicated because Sharess is a bit of a gourmet. She is with Daily Alma Nature and Animonda right now and sometimes we have to give her Purina Gourmet because she loves it, even I know the last one is not the best one.

Thanks for her comments about her outfit from the 80s. It's really her clothes to prevent her from tearing off the Libre sensor, but I put a pink band on her for the photo and she looks super cute! :cat:

And again, thanks to everyone. I don't know what she would do without you ❤️
 
Ohhh, I have no clue. I didnt know there are syringes without the half unit marking and I try to see the product in internet and it doesn't say anything :/
 
Ohhh, I have no clue. I didnt know there are syringes without the half unit marking and I try to see the product in internet and it doesn't say anything :/
You want the ones with the half unit markings
Like these
becton-dickinson-b-d-micro-fine-demi-u-100-insulin-spritzen-0-3-x-8-mm-100-stk.png



You can ask your pharmacist to order them,
I did see a post on our site that you can also get then here
alternatively you could order from UK, some members used this UK company
https://www.vetuk.co.uk/veterinary-...-0-3ml-u100-insulin-syringes-box-of-100-p-296
 
You wrote :
We always try to make it wet food with less than 7% fat, but it is complicated because Sharess is a bit of a gourmet.

It’s carbs that need to be under 10%. Was that a typo?
 
You wrote:
It’s carbs that need to be under 10%. Was that a typo?

Ummm, I don't really know what you mean. The wet foods sold in Spain do not specify carbohydrates. I always have to subtract the percentages of all its components, and what remains are the carbohydrates. Typically less than 2%
 
Hello people! Yesterday ProZinc ended and this morning we started with Lantus. So officially from now on Sharess is part of this group :cat:

We have started by giving her 1 unit, although I think she will need more of it (Will see). Lately her numbers have been very strange, but she has been on local antibiotic drops for an eye infection. She has already stopped the antibiotics, so I hope the new insulin improves her.

Thank you very much @Diane Tyler's Mom for recommending the right syringes to me. Finally I was able to exchange the ones I bought and buy the right ones in a Spanish online pharmacy. As always, you have been very helpful :bighug:

I will inform you all of the progress of my sugar baby. At the moment she has much more energy and vitality than my husband and I combined, so I'm happy despite her shitty numbers. :)
 
OMG! As soon as we shot her Lantus (1U), Sharess' numbers have improved drastically. I still don't believe it! The curves are much more controlled and stable. I am so happy that I want to cry. :cat:

The only "bad" thing is that, at the time of the preshoot, sometimes it does not reach 150, so we had to delay the shot for safety. I imagine it's normal for those first few days, or... do I have to reduce the dose to 0.75U? or maybe shot her 1U anywhay? Lantus is still a mystery to me

PS: Feel free to have a look into her spreadshet. If you see a 137@+12, 149@+13 for ejample is 12 hours and 13 hours after the PS (2h later). I also wrote it down in Remarks
 
With TR you will reduce if the bg drops under 40 since she’s a long term diabetic. Since not newly diagnosed and you have experience with shooting under 150, there’s no need to stall if on the way up and you can monitor. When you get past the first week most shoot if 50 or higher. Since you aren’t used to shooting green, it’s fine to stall 30 minutes and not feed to see if on the way up. If not sure post for help.
 
Last edited:
If you decide to shoot green post for help the first time. Add first time shooting green to your subject so those watching the board will check up on you. I’d actually suggest adding a question mark and dosing advice. We have a policy here that when someone shoots green the first time few times and needs help that person will stay with you and guide you.
 
Welcome! Sharess is adorable, and those numbers definitely show the classic bounce pattern many of us see before switching insulins. Moving from Prozinc to Lantus is a pretty common next step when regulation isn’t consistent. The units themselves are technically measured the same (both in units), but Lantus works very differently because it forms a depot in the body. That means dosing is usually approached more cautiously at first. Many caregivers don’t do a straight conversion and instead start a bit lower or around the same range depending on recent nadirs, so the 1.5U suggestion you got sounds reasonable given those mid-cycle drops.

When making the switch, having the right supplies and guidance really helps smooth things out, especially with U100 syringes and understanding how the depot builds over a few days. A reliable pharmacy can also make a difference when it comes to getting consistent insulin and supplies, something that places such as Corpus Memorial Pharmacy are known for supporting, especially if you ever need help navigating prescriptions or storage questions during the transition.

As for dosing methods, Tight Regulation is absolutely an option if you’re already testing consistently, which it sounds like you are. Lantus tends to reward consistency and patience, so whichever method you choose, sticking with it and gathering data will be key. One thing that helped in a similar situation was holding the starting dose for several cycles to let the depot stabilize before making adjustments, it made the numbers much easier to interpret. You’re already on the right track asking these questions before the switch
 
Welcome! Sharess is adorable, and those numbers definitely show the classic bounce pattern many of us see before switching insulins. Moving from Prozinc to Lantus is a pretty common next step when regulation isn’t consistent. The units themselves are technically measured the same (both in units), but Lantus works very differently because it forms a depot in the body. That means dosing is usually approached more cautiously at first. Many caregivers don’t do a straight conversion and instead start a bit lower or around the same range depending on recent nadirs, so the 1.5U suggestion you got sounds reasonable given those mid-cycle drops.

When making the switch, having the right supplies and guidance really helps smooth things out, especially with U100 syringes and understanding how the depot builds over a few days. A reliable pharmacy can also make a difference when it comes to getting consistent insulin and supplies, something that places such as Corpus Memorial Pharmacy are known for supporting, especially if you ever need help navigating prescriptions or storage questions during the transition.

As for dosing methods, Tight Regulation is absolutely an option if you’re already testing consistently, which it sounds like you are. Lantus tends to reward consistency and patience, so whichever method you choose, sticking with it and gathering data will be key. One thing that helped in a similar situation was holding the starting dose for several cycles to let the depot stabilize before making adjustments, it made the numbers much easier to interpret. You’re already on the right track asking these questions before the switch
This is an old thread from 2024 that you are commenting on.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top