1/28 Scratches AMPS 168 +45mins 195

Scratches123

Member Since 2019
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...e-highs-she-had-this-weekend-thoughts.224840/

I realize 45 minutes is too soon for the insulin to kick in, but I work at 6am three days a week so on those days I need to test her quick before I leave for work. At least i'm getting the data and I figure I can at least know how much she spikes because of breakfast.

Yesterday, her sugar dropped to 62 (Alpha Trak) so she earned a dose reduction :) We are very excited about that, but again, I do have questions. I noticed last night her +2 test was pretty high (still under 200) and then her +6 test was even higher (again less than 200). But, her sugar slowly kept going up after her .25 shot of insulin. When do I need to be worrying about increasing? If I am reading and understanding correctly, the TR protocol after a decrease, if kitties number start rising, don't wait and to just increase.

There is this: " Each subsequent dose is held for a minimum of 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) unless kitty earns a reduction"

But then there is this: "If an attempted reduction fails, go right back up to the last good dose as soon as you see kitty's numbers trending upwards. You don't have to hold the reduced dose for a certain number of cycles before taking the dose right back up. The guidelines listed under the topic "Increasing the dose" do not apply to a failed reduction. Please use common sense in this situation."

Her sugar looks great to me. However I am inexperienced and not used to these numbers so, anything under 300 looks great to me haha. Basically, I'm just asking for information in advance in case she keeps trending up.

Also, I am going to my mothers tonight to get her test strips for the RelionPrime. I'll need a new spreadsheet since i'm switching to human meter? I'm assuming I keep the spreadsheet for her AlphaTrak in my signature but just add the human spreadsheet? I apologize if this question has been answered anywhere else and if this question is a dumb one. Setting up the spreadsheet is also very confusing to me as i'm terrible with computers blah.
 
You're over thinking this!!!

Whenever you change a dose, you need to give the depot a chance to catch up with the change. How long the "catch up" takes is another one of those EICD things.

There's a reasonable chance that what you saw last night was a very small bounce. Also, keep in mind that the 177 and the 196 are pretty much the same number once you factor in the 20% for meter variance.

Scratches numbers do look great. Numbers in the 200s are below renal threshold and a good step toward regulation.
 
You're over thinking this!!!

Whenever you change a dose, you need to give the depot a chance to catch up with the change. How long the "catch up" takes is another one of those EICD things.

There's a reasonable chance that what you saw last night was a very small bounce. Also, keep in mind that the 177 and the 196 are pretty much the same number once you factor in the 20% for meter variance.

Scratches numbers do look great. Numbers in the 200s are below renal threshold and a good step toward regulation.
Over thinking is what I do best! ;) I wasn't even thinking maybe those numbers could be a bounce. She did drop quite a bit yesterday.

This is why I post everyday now. I am such a worry wart and this forum really helps me out so much. You all are so smart and helpful :) I will try not to think so much!! But, at least my crazy questions are getting answered and I can rest a bit easier. I feel like i'm finally doing the right thing for my baby girl.
 
Setting up the spreadsheet is also very confusing to me as i'm terrible with computers blah.

@Marje and Gracie is very skilled at these spreadsheets - if you IM her and she's available, she'll help you get set up. I've seen other people who've switched from Alpha Trak to Human meters and although I've never done that, it doesn't appear that they're using a different SS...but I could be wrong about that.
 
@Marje and Gracie is very skilled at these spreadsheets - if you IM her and she's available, she'll help you get set up. I've seen other people who've switched from Alpha Trak to Human meters and although I've never done that, it doesn't appear that they're using a different SS...but I could be wrong about that.
Thank you, I will message her :)
 
@Marje and Gracie is very skilled at these spreadsheets - if you IM her and she's available, she'll help you get set up. I've seen other people who've switched from Alpha Trak to Human meters and although I've never done that, it doesn't appear that they're using a different SS...but I could be wrong about that.
Thanks, Sue. She did and I’ll fix it for her. It’s always quick and easy for me to reformat the existing SS for the change. Keep sending them my way :)
 
Back
Top