? 1/28 Pants AMNS 85, +.5 57, +1 77, +2.5 57, +3 109

kira913

Member Since 2025
Haven't been posting in this area because I feel like our problems are horrendously complicated, but with Pant's glucose all over the place I need all the help I can get.

Glucose was too low for my comfort at planned time of shot, so I showered before work and came back in 30 minutes to a reading of 57. I know hypo is usually considered under 50, but Pants have been struggling with inappetence since Monday. It worries me that it stayed so low even with food and his prednisolone. It is finally climbing as I type this after another round of churu and honey. I tried not to go over a teaspoon total, but I don't think I'm as good as I thought at eyeballing a teaspoon

Last week we had diarrhea struggles, but S. Boullardi seemed to help. I gave full dose 2 days, half dose for a day or too, and slowly weaned off bc I was concerned we would lose monitoring of him having other complications

Vomiting the past few days:
Sunday ~PMPS+10.5 he threw up a small puddle of digested food shortly after a very regular stool. Ate close to regular amount at meal time
Monday ~AMPS+10?? unsure. He threw up a small puddle of partially undigested food. Did not finish meal
Monday ~PM+8.5 he threw up a small puddle of digested food on the bed. more lethargic and less vocal than usual. Ate very little dry food, supplemented with wet food, he ate half a can
Tuesday ~AMPS+11 gave Emeprev from vet.
Tuesday ~PMPS+3?? He had 1 small log regular stool

His bloodwork was worse at Tuesday afternoon's vet appt, and we saw a hole in his gum over his canine that we did not notice til now :( Uncertain when it developed, but vet says he is not stable enough right now to have many options to help with it. Based on how he drank water this morning, I do think mouth pain is contributing to his inappetence.

We're only finishing about our second week of insulin. 3 units seems to be a good dose for him when all is normal, but I guess I'm worried some of this might be a reaction to the insulin? His diarrhea started when he started insulin, and though S. Boullardi got that under control, now he's vomiting too. He's on so many immunosuppressants right now that I wonder if this is a less severe, slower reaction or something, especially after reading this article about a hypersensitivity reaction. Vet and I discussed possibly switching to ProZinc if the diarrhea continued, I plan to bring that up again along with asking about pain meds for the dental issue. He's currently consulting w/ internist and will call me back

Any thoughts or advice appreciated. Vet's plan is half dose in evening if it stays high this afternoon

tried to bold the important bits because I know i'm rambling
 
Here is the link to your intro post on Feline Health so people have the background. New Member -- Already drowning before diabetes dx, seeking emotional support

For those reading Emeprev is maropitant, a bioequivalent to Cerenia, but apparently less stinging on injection. That's good to know!

Often people change to a more diabetes friendly diet, and cats can get GI issues with fast food changes. What food is he normally eating now?

Regarding insulin dose, your spreadsheets you are following SLGS (start low go slow method) for dosing, which means you reduce the dose if they go below 90. Your new dose tonight would be 2.75 units.

I have seen cats react to the acid base of Lantus, though typically at higher doses. My cat was one of those, and it manifested as walking away during the shot, not GI issues. When I switched to Levemir the problem went away. Unfortunately that insulin is no longer being made.
 
Here is the link to your intro post on Feline Health so people have the background. New Member -- Already drowning before diabetes dx, seeking emotional support

For those reading Emeprev is maropitant, a bioequivalent to Cerenia, but apparently less stinging on injection. That's good to know!

Often people change to a more diabetes friendly diet, and cats can get GI issues with fast food changes. What food is he normally eating now?

Regarding insulin dose, your spreadsheets you are following SLGS (start low go slow method) for dosing, which means you reduce the dose if they go below 90. Your new dose tonight would be 2.75 units.

I have seen cats react to the acid base of Lantus, though typically at higher doses. My cat was one of those, and it manifested as walking away during the shot, not GI issues. When I switched to Levemir the problem went away. Unfortunately that insulin is no longer being made.

Hi Wendy,

The food Pants is normally eating now is 50% Purina Pro Plan Hairball control and 50% Purina Pro Plan Adult complete essentials (his dry food). For some time (~11/19-12/9/2025) we were managing his diabetes very well with Fancy Feast pate and no insulin. Around 12/9 he started to decide he was not a fan of the Fancy Feast much anymore, so I began to supplement with his dry food whenever he wouldn't finish it, since we really need him to keep eating to improve his bloodwork.

On 1/8 after some med changes caused a decent dip in his bloodwork, my vet gave me the go ahead to switch back to dry food entirely, which he's been on since then. Just yesterday I started supplementing that with the Fancy Feast again, starting to transition back since he seems to be having a lot of mouth pain.

I'm hesitant to give him a full dose of 2.75, or even the dose of 1.5 my vet advised. He's still barely eating and has been hidden away in his cat tree all afternoon. :( I can tell he doesn't feel good at all. I don't think he's going to eat much at all tonight if the vet doesn't get us some sort of pain meds. Still waiting on a call back from them. He has done okay so far since diagnosis with no signs of ketones, but he is starting to develop diabetic cataracts...

Pants does try to walk away before, during, and after his shot -- but he also has a history of not liking injections. Similarly, he has a history of GI issues when any dietary or medication change is made, but usually not as severe or prolonged as I was seeing when we started Lantus. I was hoping he would come out of the cat tree so I can feel around for a skin reaction at the injection site, but no dice.

Do you know what Levemir users decided to switch to? I'm really looking hard at the ProZinc, but that's assuming he continues eating his dry food in usual amounts.
 
Back
Top