1/28 Mikey PMPS 213 +2 427 fur shot

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marycatmom

Member Since 2014
Yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/1-27-mikey-pmps-72-5-72-5-5-59.132132/#post-1361049

Good morning from blizzard central!

We got over 20 inches of snow here, but things are getting back to normal. I'm still off today, which I'm thankful for after last night's PJ party, but Don is at work. Most things are opening back up at noon. I'm wondering how MJ made out, since her location got the jackpot.

Mikey bounced, so we shot through it. Now he seems to be clearing it fast, which sort of surprises me, considering how low he went last night. I should know better than do ever be surprised by Mikey. :) I think I'll get another test in a few hours, just to make sure we don't have any more surprises tonight.

A special thank you to Wendy, Julie, Marje, Sienne, Ella, and Tina for the help and cheerleading tonight. That was the lowest I've ever shot!
 
Great job yesterday Mary! It took almost a year before Neko gave me the opportunity to shoot green. It was in the 80's and she shot over 200 by +1. :rolleyes: If you do decide to switch to Lev, many kitties have their nadir at preshot, so shooting green becomes much easier. You also have longer until onset so plenty of time to get food in and their numbers up.

Here's a couple of articles mentioning Levemir in cats. The first is a peer reviewed article in Today's Veterinary Practice, called FDM - Updates on Treatment and Practice. The second is an online article from a vet who prefers Levemir in her patients. And lastly, if you look at the article titled Management of Diabetic Cats that is attached to the TR protocol sticky, it mentions using both Levemir and Lantus with the protocol.

Good idea to get another test this cycle. That Mikey sure likes to surprise!
 
Thanks, Wendy. Thanks for too.

Mike's basically been right around 200 all afternoon. I shot the reduced dose of .5 tonight. I'm wondering if I'm ok to wait until +2 to test again. I don't want to miss a dive, and I don't want to poke him so much again.
 
How exciting last night!! I knew you had some of the best watching out for you so didn't want to add to the confusion, but was cheering you on from the sidelines!!

I think you could wait until +2 to test tonight

Don't worry about the possible furshot. We've all done it, and with the way Mikey likes to surprise us, he may still have some "fun" planned for tonight (but for your sake, I sure hope he gives you a night off! You have to be tired!!)
 
Sometimes there's a drop or two on the syringe that gets on the fur and you don't have a fur shot. +2 will let you know.
 
How exciting last night!! I knew you had some of the best watching out for you so didn't want to add to the confusion, but was cheering you on from the sidelines!!

I think you could wait until +2 to test tonight

Don't worry about the possible furshot. We've all done it, and with the way Mikey likes to surprise us, he may still have some "fun" planned for tonight (but for your sake, I sure hope he gives you a night off! You have to be tired!!)

Thanks, Chris. Who knows what the little stink'ear has planned for tonight. I never would've predicted today's flat cycle. I do hope I get to sleep, though. I'm beyond exhausted.
 
Sometimes there's a drop or two on the syringe that gets on the fur and you don't have a fur shot. +2 will let you know.

That could well be. It really didn't seem like a fur shot when I gave it. He probably made himself smell like insulin a purpose to make sure he continues to get plenty of attention. :)
 
There are no tears in diabetes!...Or is that baseball? ;)

This very well could be the bounce we would have expected after all the drama yesterday

Come on now Mikey...You're having way too much fun sending your mama to the rubber room!

Look at it this way....at least you should be able to get some sleep tonight...and at a reasonable hour!!
 
i think it's a bounce # too, mary. he was bound to react to that long stretch of greens last night. i'd have been shocked if he hadn't. the good news is that time spent in greens can help shorten a bounce - so maybe it won't last as long as they have before. As soon as he clears the bounce let's watch to see if he's going to hold the reduction, and if he doesn't, go back up in dose asap.

hang in there! here's the opportunity to test less this evening and get rested.
 
There are no tears in diabetes!...Or is that baseball? ;)

This very well could be the bounce we would have expected after all the drama yesterday

Come on now Mikey...You're having way too much fun sending your mama to the rubber room!

Look at it this way....at least you should be able to get some sleep tonight...and at a reasonable hour!!

That's baseball! I love that movie.

Hm, a bounce. That makes sense, and makes me feel a whole lot better, since I have absolutely no control over bounces.
 
i think it's a bounce # too, mary. he was bound to react to that long stretch of greens last night. i'd have been shocked if he hadn't. the good news is that time spent in greens can help shorten a bounce - so maybe it won't last as long as they have before. As soon as he clears the bounce let's watch to see if he's going to hold the reduction, and if he doesn't, go back up in dose asap.

hang in there! here's the opportunity to test less this evening and get rested.

I didn't even think about the bounce possibility, since he was flat most of the day. How many cycles to we give him before we go up? As you know, increases need to happen over the weekend for us. Unless, we get another blizzard, that is. Apparently, there's another storm heading our way for Monday. I'm skeptical. Probably Weather Channel drama! They're worse than second grade girls. :)

Mikey's feeling great tonight. He ate his snackies, but he seems less hungry in between. He's been sweet and snuggly. Right now he's sprawled out on our chair and a half. Ador'earble! I'm not sure he'll be sleeping long, though. DK is screaming at a toy. Hysterical.

I'm going to be in bed by 9:30 tonight. I'm toast.
 
Not to worry, Mary, it could very well be a delayed bounce (Rusty often has delayed bounces). And whatever it is--fur shot or boune--Mikey will recover from it and carry on. So: carry on!
Have a good, restful evening!

Ella & Rusty
 
bobbling around can still be a bounce. some cats can really work up to it - Ozy was one that i always thought looked like he was climbing the mountain. it'd take him a few days to work up to the peak of the bounce and each day he'd climb a little higher til he hit the high point. you can see that even though mikey wasn't high today, and he definitely wasn't flat, still seen from tonight you can clearly see that he was spending the day working up to tonight's HI. At least that's what it looks like to me.

As soon as he clears the bounce - hopefully back into green numbers, then we'll see where he lands. It looks like he's clearing bounces every other day, so i'd *think* by tomorrow that maybe he'll have cleared it and we can see what he's going to get to. The description of a failed reduction is here and on the Tight Regulation Protocol page:
  • If an attempted reduction fails, go right back up to the last good dose as soon as you see kitty's numbers trending upwards. You don't have to hold the reduced dose for a certain number of cycles before taking the dose right back up. The guidelines listed under the topic "Increasing the dose" do not apply to a failed reduction.

    Please use common sense in this situation. The "last good dose" is not the dose that just dropped kitty into the 20s or 30s. You want to resume momentum by finding a dose in-between the dose that dropped kitty too low and the reduced dose.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top