1/28 Mickey amps 275

Status
Not open for further replies.

Peggy and Mickey (GA)

Member Since 2010
pmps last evening was 283. Guessing that past blues and greens were a fluke.
He started his salcrafate, wondering if it could be that.....
Mickey isn't liking all of the dose reductions I just did to switch from 11a/p shots to 5a/p shots.
 
Peggy and Mickey said:
pmps last evening was 283. Guessing that past blues and greens were a fluke.
He started his salcrafate, wondering if it could be that.....
Mickey isn't liking all of the dose reductions I just did to switch from 11a/p shots to 5a/p shots.


Well, it looks like the sulcrafate could cause a raise in bg levels according to this site - read to the very bottom where it mentions this:

http://www.drugs.com/cdi/carafate-suspension.html

I understand what it is for now that I have been reading a few sites, but what I don't understand is why Mickey is on it......is it because of the diarrhea? A 'side effect' is constipation like Vicky mentioned, but it says it is used as a "gastric protective agent. It works by forming a protective layer on the ulcer to serve as a barrier against acid, bile salts, and enzymes in the stomach." So just wondering, your vet thinks this might be why Mickey is having the diarrhea?

For the short term that he is on it, and if it helps him, then you would just have to deal with some higher numbers for a little while. That is too bad since he was doing so well there number-wise. But you will get those blues and greens back. :)

Found one more reference:

http://www.aptalispharma.com/pdf/Sulcrate-En.pdf

"Due to the carbohydrate content of sucralfate suspension excipients, episodes of
hyperglycemia have been reported in diabetic patients. Close monitoring of glycemia in
diabetic patients treated with sucralfate suspension is recommended. Adjustment of the
anti-diabetic treatment dose during the use of sucralfate suspension might be necessary."


(I am going to be a nag though...I still think he would benefit from a raw diet as well).
 
Pamela, I actually do have the Instinct medallions. I put them down every day. He will sit there and smell it but not eat it. I have duck or rabbit(forget) and chicken flavors.
Thanks for the links too!
We are using salcrafate because I am hesitant on giving him steroids just yet. I am giving 1/4 of a tablet once a day. It doesn't seem to be making any difference either way. He is still having runny stools. And of course, still going on the floors. So just trying it out. A little concerned on the side effects tho. Especially the BG and the stomach pain. My vet has no idea why he is having diarreah. (except IBD )
He even brought out his cat vet book and we have tried everything in this book. He even pointed out from the book to his charts on the meds used and all.
I am going to FLA on Feb 6th so I also don't want to use steroids while I am gone because the vet tech is only coming 2x a day.
I agree on rocking the boat on the higher numbers. He gave me blues yesterday tho. :mrgreen:
 
I just looked up salcrafate and can't see that it would help with IBD issues. The question is whether his problems are from inability to breakdown foods due to lack of enzymes or a sensitivity to a food type that causes repeated inflammation of the intestines and, therefore, inability to breakdown foods and absorb water. I don't see anything in the description of salcrafate that says it would help those issues. And if inability to absorb water is the problem, wouldn't coating the intestines (which is what salcrafate does) exacerbate that?

Mickey's symptoms sound a lot like my aunt's cat, except he is also losing weight. Nothing shows up in the blood work to indicate even an infection or inflammation. The vet suggested that older cats have absorption issues and that enzymes might help so I got some pet enzymes that don't contain lactose. I started using it with my cats as well to see if it helps Beau absorb more nutrients and calories. He lost weight two years ago and has not gained any back even though his appetite is good and he acts and looks fine, other than being skinny.

It'll be a problem getting my aunt to use the enzymes consistently. So I don't know that I will be able to report any results positive or negative, but if her cat does get better I will be sure to let you know.
 
Peggy and Mickey said:
Pamela, I actually do have the Instinct medallions. I put them down every day. He will sit there and smell it but not eat it. I have duck or rabbit(forget) and chicken flavors.
Thanks for the links too!

If he has a choice over canned food or the medallions, he would probably pick the canned food. I know it is hard with multiple cats to feed them different diets though. :( I have never tried the medallions with Tigger, so I am not sure how 'likable' they are to cats.

If you are game, you could try the sample pack at Feline's Pride just to see and then feed him separately? I think you would see a reduction in the diarrhea in just days, like I mentioned earlier with my son's two cats.

https://www.felinespride.com/#/shop/set/2/42

Just trying to help. You really have so much patience and Mickey is so lucky to have you for his mama.
 
pamela and tigger said:
Peggy and Mickey said:
Pamela, I actually do have the Instinct medallions. I put them down every day. He will sit there and smell it but not eat it. I have duck or rabbit(forget) and chicken flavors.
Thanks for the links too!

If he has a choice over canned food or the medallions, he would probably pick the canned food. I know it is hard with multiple cats to feed them different diets though. :( I have never tried the medallions with Tigger, so I am not sure how 'likable' they are to cats.

If you are game, you could try the sample pack at Feline's Pride just to see and then feed him separately? I think you would see a reduction in the diarrhea in just days, like I mentioned earlier with my son's two cats.

https://www.felinespride.com/#/shop/set/2/42

Just trying to help. You really have so much patience and Mickey is so lucky to have you for his mama.

Yeah, I've never seen those medallions either. I assume they are like round cubes of food, kind of like fast food meat patties. Doesn't sound appetizing to me, but then I'm not a cat. ;-)

When Gandalf had pancreatitis so bad the first time, the damn I/D Hill's food the vet "made" me give him via syringe gave him horrible diarrhea, probably as bad as you're seeing. He still had it even after I stopped the food, probably because his intestines were already irritated from it. I used to tell this story occasionally as an aid to those with pancreatitis kitties, but dropped it after I got chided on the board that "raw food isn't going to cure pancreatitis." Well, it stopped his diarrhea the same day I started giving it to him. That in turn helped him feel better and he began eating on his own 2 days after that. He suffered with p-titis for almost a month before that and in 2 days of starting raw food he's better?!

There are testimonials on the Feline's Pride website which convinced me to try it for him and I'm glad I did. I still feed it to my 20 year old. She used to be a bad puker, but not on the raw food. It is just more natural for them I think and their system can digest it so much better than any processed stuff, 'cause no matter how much meat is in canned food, it's still "processed" meat, what-the-hell-ever that means.

Like Pamela I just want to help and I only know what raw food has done for my cats. There is also a place called Hare Today which sells ground meats without supplements in them. They used to have ground mice even, but I don't see those as an order option now. They have raw organs, raw quail, just about any meat for dogs and cats you can think of, they sell. https://www.hare-today.com/ The only thing is you have to supplement if you're only feeding that. Feline's Pride is all ready to go.
 
I totally agree on the raw food.
Vicky, I have felines pride food as well, the tubs were 2.5 lbs and the shipping was almost as much as the tubs of raw. Just not happening. I also have an enormous tube of raw food that I just gave away. Taking up too much space in the freezer. The medallions are Natures variety instinct, rabbit and chicken I have were as well, 30$ bag. I honestly have tried the raw, and continue to try. The good part is I recycle it to the out back ferals and they love it, go figure.
I REALLY appreciate everyones help here!! And will continue to put raw down. I am feeding wellness core, FF low carb and to Thomas friskies salmon occasionally. Evo 95% chicken is still sitting in the cabinet, bomb shell, ordered 3 cases from petfood direct..they hate it.

On the salcrafate...I am very conflicted on using it, Sheila had a great point...so what now? Steriods? Or lay nothing down but raw ? I suppose they will eventually have to eat it if they are starving............

Sheila, pet enzymes ? where do you get these?? Sounds ok!!
 
OH gosh, you have tried everything. I wonder if putting something on it, like cheese or Fortiflora (do you have that? I think quite a few FDMB people swear by it for the runs, but I've never tried it) would help him and the others want to eat it.

It's tough when you have so many cats to feed expensive food. I can only afford to feed the raw to Tigget regularly. Sammie and Leahpold eat so much I'd go through 3 tubs a month!

Has it helped if you separate Mickey from the others and put down only raw for him? Just wondering if some food aversion isn't from cats he doesn't get along with nearby. Cats can be very odd creatures when it comes to food. Tigget now turns down everything but the raw and Fancy Feast. Go figure on that one, as I don't consider FF very good quality food.
 
The vet suggested ProZyme, so I looked it up and found 1-800-pet-meds. They carry a bunch of different pet enzyme products so I read reviews and ingredient lists. When I found the one I wanted to try (because it did NOT have lactose in it AND it had good reviews) I went to Amazon to look for a better price. I also have Amazon Prime so I looked for one that qualified for free shipping. This is what I got:
Animal Essentials Plant Enzymes & Probiotics (100 Grams)
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0002A ... 00_details

The thing with processed foods is that the cooking process destroys nutrients, including enzymes, so it makes sense to me that feeding canned food would cause them to need added enzymes and probiotics. I think (not positive) that the "animal digest" that they put on dry food is actually enzymes so, supposedly, that would help with digestion, but I know an awful lot of cats that have chronic digestive issues on dry food....

I think the Instinct Medallions are a good raw food. They are just shaped into a set size so you know how much you are feeding without having to measure it. They are either 1 oz each or 3/4 oz each. My cats love them. I just can't afford to feed them regularly even as a treat. In fact, that was the one thing that Charlotte would eat tiny amounts of up to her last two days. They say not to do it, but I warm them in the micro at a very low setting until they are thawed and "body" temp. My cats go nuts for them.
 
I have been doing some more online searching for feline digestive aids and found one I am going to try at iHerbs.com: Ark Naturals, Gentle Digest, Includes Prebiotics & Probiotics. Several people said it helped their pets with soft stool and diarrhea. I have been using Fortiflora, but this is cheaper and one person said it worked better. Only $6.62 for a 1-2 month supply (depending on how many cats you use it for).

If you are interested, I can PM you a coupon code to get $5 off your first order. That also give me some sort of points too. I think Pamela, Vicky and I all order from them. I get my taurine from them as well on the recommendation of Pamela. Plus they have lots of GF products and organic shampoos and soaps. Worth checking out.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top