1/28 Lucian PMPS 385

Status
Not open for further replies.

nckitties3

Member Since 2013
Not sure I can explain, but here goes......

Lucian had his shot at 4AM, I then set the clock for 8, to test. When the alarm went off, I got up, made a shot, got him up, tested and gave him the shot. But he wasn't supposed to have a shot at that time! He had just had one 4 hrs prior. I went back to sleep, then about 1.5 hrs later, my sub conscience kicked in and I jumped up, realizing what I had done.

So I'm not real sure how to handle this, with his shot time. I know how to handle any lows he may have. I have 6 cans of med carb and 6 cans of high carb plus karo. Usually med carb is all he needs to keep the lows under control.

My only explanation? I was (semi)functioning in my sleep....but what do I do now?
 
Re: Need advice, I messed up.

Understand perfectly, you are not getting much sleep. Was it PZI at +4?

The nice thing about a hypo (if he drops) is that it doesn't last 12-16 hours like the Ls can. Usually 6 hours after the shot, you are seeing a rise.
 
Re: Need advice, I messed up.

He was 327 when he got the extra shot at +4, 298 2 hrs later, which was an hour ago. Yes, it was PZI, I only use the R when he's very high.

He was supposed to get his shot at noon, which obviously isn't going to happen. He may end up with a schedule of 8am, 4pm, and midnight.

I did notice the last couple pre shots were climbing, I think he's in need of an increase and had planned that today.

I'm wiped out, but still surprised that I did that. Certainly a first. I thought I had messed up in every way possible, but found a new one. :shock:
 
Re: Need advice, I messed up.

With that number, I wouldn't expect any sudden drop into low numbers, but maybe a test in another hour to be sure. I seldom see overlaps with doses in PZI so am not sure what it might look like.... Will the new schedule work for you or do we need to think about adapting back to the old?

Yes, I think we liked the one unit TID.
 
Re: Need advice, I messed up.

Schedule doesn't make a difference to me. I have a couple of afternoon classes coming up next week, from about 1-3, so either way works for me. Whether he gets a shot at noon or 4pm, it still works.

I had planned to test him shortly, then try to catch a nap.
 
Re: Need advice, I messed up.

Sleep deprivation is hard to deal with. Don't feel bad I once gave my son the adult dose of a cough med when I was sleep deprived. Luckily for me they have poison control numbers. Lady told me it wasn't enough to hurt and then suggested we both get some rest.
 
Re: Need advice, I messed up.

He's 311, @ +7 from the correct shot and +3 from the accidental shot.

Will have to get him back to the noon/8pm/4am schedule, my classes are 1-5pm and 1-4 pm and I'm 30 mins from school, so that 4pm shot time isn't a good idea. Any suggestions on that? Maybe a half dose at noon, then his increase at 8? As long as he's on the rise............or I could leave it and the PZI will be wearing off at 4pm, give R to keep him from sky rocketing and then his increased dose at 8 to get him back to the schedule?
 
Re: Need advice, I messed up.

I know nothing about R so can't advise on that. I think the PZI idea would work, as long as he is rising and you can sure monitor. Looking forward to the day when a TID schedule of just PZI seems normal. (Most people would consider a TID schedule difficult and not normal, but with Lucian. :mrgreen: …)
 
Re: Need advice, I messed up.

Because I have been using R for several months and am accustomed to it, I think that would be the best idea and I can get him right back on his same schedule.

When I gave the fur shot the other day, the R kept him reasonably stable until I could give his next shot, rather than have him back up at 600+. Since the R lasts right at 4 hrs for him, that will cover the time between when the PZI wears off and when he can get his next shot to keep him on schedule, without the extreme high.

Or that's what I expect. With Lucian, you can't bet on anything. :o

I swear, I don't normally screw up this bad. :roll: Had a furshot and an extra shot, all in the same week, in less than a week! Geez!

Obviously TID is difficult, I never messed up this bad. But if it works for him, I'll handle it.

Just dawned on me, part of the reason I automatically gave that shot at 8AM.......that has been his shot time for over a year. ohmygod_smile
 
Re: Need advice, I messed up.

I would just resume the routine at 8 tonight. I don't think I'd mess with the R, just look at it as a one-time BID schedule between 8 am and 8 pm today. Like Sue, I've never used R so can't help with that logic.
 
Re: Need advice, I messed up.

If you put the insulin in a box with a weekly schedule of check marks, it may help prevent this in the future. You'll have to wake up more to deal with it, which should make errors less likely.

You had the tail end of 1 shot overlap with the front end of the next. IF both doses where metabolizing at about the same rate, it might've smoothed things out, actually.
 
Re: Need advice, I messed up.

@Carl, if I don't use the R, he'll be over 600 by the time I shoot. I prefer to avoid that when at all possible.

It's not like he's your average kitty, that may go up an extra 100 pts before he can get his shot. He goes sky rocketing to the Black Hole! :o

I realize few people have experience with R, I wasn't asking advice on the usage, but the plan to get him back on his schedule without ending up over 600+ BG. To do that, I'll need to use the R, which I've been using on a fairly regular basis for about 8 months now. Lucian isn't the norm, hence the reason we are trying yet another insulin to get him under control. I know ya'll are skittish about R use, because it's not something you've ever needed or used, I understand that, but it has been a life savor for Lucian a few times, like after a fur shot, to keep him stable.

@ BJM, that's a good idea, I need something I can refer back to, so I know when I shot and when I didn't. I think it was the fact that I had shot at 8AM for over a year and wasn't coherent. Maybe make a chart for the fridge door, where I can check it off each time. I had also taken my prescription nausea meds that knock me out too, that certainly didn't help matters any. :o

I truly appreciate the feedback and your opinions. :YMHUG:
 
Re: Need advice, I messed up.

I think we've all been there on "auto pilot." Most often I drive home after work when I mean to drive somewhere else. I saw you gave some R. Hope that keeps him stable til the next shot. Looking at his spreadsheet, it seems like Lucian had his best #'s with a little help from the R.
 
Re: Need advice, I messed up.

@ Holly. Yeah, sometimes that's what it takes to keep him stable, not necessarily in good numbers, but out of the black hole. :roll:

He may be sporting the pink tutu, but I think he'll do better when he gets his PZI increase this evening. Hope it looks better in the next couple cycles. Keeping fingers, toes, paws, tails, eyes, everything crossed. :-D
 
Re: Need advice, I messed up.

ohmygod_smile Deb....were you just updating your ss ???? I was looking at it and all of a sudden numbers began appearing across today's row !! Creeped Me Out !! ohmygod_smile :lol:
 
Re: Need advice, I messed up.

Oh that's too funny! Yes, I was updating. :lol:

Wow, what are the odds of someone looking at just that exact time? :lol:
 
Re: Need advice, I messed up.

misty1477 said:
ohmygod_smile Deb....were you just updating your ss ???? I was looking at it and all of a sudden numbers began appearing across today's row !! Creeped Me Out !! ohmygod_smile :lol:


nckitties3 said:
Oh that's too funny! Yes, I was updating. :lol:

Wow, what are the odds of someone looking at just that exact time? :lol:

Maybe that is some kind of a good sign. :smile: Am sending Blue sky/Green grass/Yellow sunshine to Lucian and you right now. :-D
Have to remove the pink tutu. :lol:

I have no experience with R or the TID dosing you are doing. But I do read your posts and ss everyday to see how things are going. Plus, I might learn a few things for future reference in case someone need help.

cat_pet_icon
 
I'm guessing there aren't too many people that have experience in either one, lucky me. :roll: :lol:

Living with Lucian is a 12 step program, something new every day and always catching me off guard. :lol:

I figure, if/when I ever do get him regulated, I should know a little bit about everything. :lol: It's an ongoing experiment. @-)
 
nckitties3 said:
I'm guessing there aren't too many people that have experience in either one, lucky me. :roll: :lol:

Living with Lucian is a 12 step program, something new every day and always catching me off guard. :lol:

I figure, if/when I ever do get him regulated, I should know a little bit about everything. :lol: It's an ongoing experiment. @-)


You will become the FDMB expert on the PZI/R/TID combo. :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top