1/28 Ivy Amps 145, +1 254, +2 175, +3.5 135, +6 347, +8 333, +10 333, Pmps 364, +2 342, 3 292,+4 237

Staci & Ivy

Member Since 2022
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...31-pmps-317-2-236-5-194-8-88-increase.286056/
Amps 145 Libre
I intended to give an increase this morning up to 3.25 units but overnight I saw on her Libre graph that she had a very active cycle and was breaking bounce. She was still lower this morning in blue numbers on her Libre. I decided that if she’s in a bounce break cycle, the increase would add too much momentum.
I’m not sure if that was the correct decision because I do think she needs an increase.
What is the best way to handle an increase if you think they are still breaking a bounce. Do you give the increase or wait until they seem like they might be more flat to give an increase.
That would be my gut. I hope someone will weigh in to guide me so that I can get this increase done. I don’t want to push her down and end up just giving a reduction, which would make no sense.
I’ll be making Ivy food today, so hanging at home with my girl.

I fed higher carbs,12.5% last night when I went out to dinner and her snacks at +1,2,3 also 12.5%.
I think it worked well because it did hold her up and she didn’t start to dive hard into her bounce break until later in the evening. Her nadir was around +8.
Seeing the higher carbs held her up while I was out early in her cycle, I think it went well. Plus it didn’t keep her from diving later in the cycle overnight.

Here’s what it looked like overnight
upload_2024-1-28_6-51-57.jpeg


**I think I will also stop writing “Libre” on my SS when I get a green number. I think it’s confusing to some readers. I was doing that to clarify the greens but it seems it’s more confusing. You may think only the greens are on the Libre. (People would always ask if that low green number was a blood number. I thought I was helping, but maybe not ;))
Please assume my SS ALL numbers are Libre numbers. *Unless I note it’s from a “C” for Contour Next meter, which I will indicate, so you know it’s a handheld reading from a blood poke.

Hope you have a relaxing Sunday :cat:
 

Attachments

  • upload_2024-1-28_6-51-57.jpeg
    upload_2024-1-28_6-51-57.jpeg
    21 KB · Views: 137
Good meowning Staci and Ivy!

Beautiful AMPS. I wonder what she has planned for the rest of the day. Sunday funday purrrrhaps?

As for the increase I'm no expert but maybe see what she does in the AM cycle?
I will also tag some more experienced members to get their attention to your post.
@Wendy&Neko @tiffmaxee @Bandit's Mom

Have a beautiful and lazy Sunday

upload_2024-1-28_8-1-8.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2024-1-28_8-1-8.png
    upload_2024-1-28_8-1-8.png
    89.3 KB · Views: 193
Last edited:
Good Morning Staci, first how was your dinner? I hope you had a fabulous time!

I'll defer the answer to your question about increase to more experienced members since you're following SLGS.
I will say that if Cleo had that cycle I would have increased this morning because (1) she is higher than nadir (2) I would have plenty of time to get food into her before onset (3) she'll have probably bounce from the string of lower BGs :rolleyes:and (4) Lantus does a better job keeping lower BGs flat than having to pull down from a higher starting point. But we're following TR which is more aggressive than SLGS. It will be interesting to see what more experienced members would advise.
 
Good Morning Staci, first how was your dinner? I hope you had a fabulous time!

I'll defer the answer to your question about increase to more experienced members since you're following SLGS.
I will say that if Cleo had that cycle I would have increased this morning because (1) she is higher than nadir (2) I would have plenty of time to get food into her before onset (3) she'll have probably bounce from the string of lower BGs :rolleyes:and (4) Lantus does a better job keeping lower BGs flat than having to pull down from a higher starting point. But we're following TR which is more aggressive than SLGS. It will be interesting to see what more experienced members would advise.
Hi Angela, thanks for that explanation. I didn’t know that since she was higher than the previous nadir of 88, you would look at that as a reason to increase.
I always read not to increase during a bounce breaking cycle so that was in my head.
I’ll be interested in what the consensus is on how to handle this situation.
And dinner was very nice. We are trying to do one “normal” thing a week, since my life has become so tied to being at home :)
Hope you have a great day :bighug:
 
Good meowning Staci and Ivy!

Beautiful AMPS. I wonder what she has planned for the rest of the day. Sunday funday purrrrhaps?

As for the increase I'm no expert but maybe see what she does in the AM cycle?
I will also tag some more experienced members to get their attention to your post.
@Wendy&Neko @tiffmaxee @Bandit's Mom

Have a beautiful and lazy Sunday

View attachment 68955
Hi Karolina, she’s always got a trick up her halter top, doesn’t she? She must have heard about the increase coming her way so she got tricky on me overnight.
Very stealth of her.
I hope you all have a relaxing Funday Sunday. Love the snoozing kitty graphic :bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Angela, thanks for that explanation. I didn’t know that since she was higher than the previous nadir of 88, you would look at that as a reason to increase.
I always read not to increase during a bounce breaking cycle so that was in my head.
I’ll be interested in what the consensus is on how to handle this situation.
And dinner was very nice. We are trying to do one “normal” thing a week, since my life has become so tied to being at home :)
Hope you have a great day :bighug:
Glad you had a good time!
Cleo and I have been at this dance for awhile now :rolleyes: and I've seen her patterns over 2 years. She still has a tendency to have glucose toxicity albeit not as high now than earlier in her FD journey.
When I determine when to increase, it's based on patterns over the last couple of days. I agree not to increase during a bounce clearing cycle obviously because of the extra momentum, but I also look to see if that bounce clearing cycle is continuing (spilling over into the next cycle) or if it's over and Cleo is heading back up. If it's continuing, I will hold the dose but if it looks like she's rising or even staying flat, I might increase. But again, it's what I would do with my cat because of all the data I have gathered over the last 2 years.
Oh and by the way, I still ask the board for advice on when to increase. Sometimes it's easier to see patterns when it's not your cat :p
 
Good morning Staci! So glad you were able to enjoy your evening and that Ivy waited until you got home to pull anything!
Hopefully someone will give you answers soon.
Have a wonderful day!
 
Hi Stacy!
Why do you think she was bouncing? She was not particularly low in the previous cycle. Could it be from the higher carb food yesterday during the AM cycle, rather?
In any case, it's probably completely fine to increase one day later :bighug:
 
Glad you had a good time!
Cleo and I have been at this dance for awhile now :rolleyes: and I've seen her patterns over 2 years. She still has a tendency to have glucose toxicity albeit not as high now than earlier in her FD journey.
When I determine when to increase, it's based on patterns over the last couple of days. I agree not to increase during a bounce clearing cycle obviously because of the extra momentum, but I also look to see if that bounce clearing cycle is continuing (spilling over into the next cycle) or if it's over and Cleo is heading back up.
I agree not to increase during a bounce clearing cycle obviously because of the extra momentum, but I also look to see if that bounce clearing cycle is continuing (spilling over into the next cycle) or if it's over and Cleo is heading back up. If it's continuing, I will hold the dose but if it looks like she's rising or even staying flat, I might increase.
That was my question at 4 am today when I posted a question.

Since it appeared the bounce break was going to spill over into the next cycle (now happening) that was what caused me to question if safe to give the increase.
Of course having to make that decision and prediction of what she is going to do so early, at 5:30 am when generally if I post something, no one is available to answer a question when I post a message.
I have to make a decision on the spot when I’m prepping, her dose. (Sometimes I get it right sometimes I get it wrong.)
This morning she looked like she was still low from the overnight drop, late nadir at +8 & a second dip at +10. ;)
 
That was my question at 4 am today when I posted a question.

Since it appeared the bounce break was going to spill over into the next cycle (now happening) that was what caused me to question if safe to give the increase.
Of course having to make that decision and prediction of what she is going to do so early, at 5:30 am when generally if I post something, no one is available to answer a question when I post a message.
I have to make a decision on the spot when I’m prepping, her dose. (Sometimes I get it right sometimes I get it wrong.)
This morning she looked like she was still low from the overnight drop, late nadir at +8 & a second dip at +10. ;)
 
Hi Stacy!
Why do you think she was bouncing? She was not particularly low in the previous cycle. Could it be from the higher carb food yesterday during the AM cycle, rather?
In any case, it's probably completely fine to increase one day later :bighug:
Hi Cecile, I’m not sure. I only gave her 1.5 tsp of mc yesterday morning when she was dropping very fast to slow her down. It seems odd that would make her bounce so high for the rest of the cycle.
I feel she does need an increase, just want to do it when she’s not breaking a bounce. That was my concern at 4 am this morning when I realized she was breaking a bounce during that overnight. ;)
 
Good morning Staci! So glad you were able to enjoy your evening and that Ivy waited until you got home to pull anything!
Hopefully someone will give you answers soon.
Have a wonderful day!
Hi Deb, thank you, it was fun to see our friends for dinner. And Ivy stayed safe while I was out which was wonderful. I didn’t even have anxiety the entire meal. A true win!
Hoping these answers will help anyone who has these concerns as well.
Have a great day :bighug:
 
Hi Staci,
Glad to hear that you enjoyed your evening last night!
Sounds like you are leaning towards increasing tomorrow?
I think it was a good idea to hold - increase should happen when the care taker is ready to do so IMO.
Nice cycle last night and ups and downs this morning - Ivy can't make up her mind what she wants to do!
Hope you have a peaceful Sunday!:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Staci,
Glad to hear that you enjoyed your evening last night!
Sounds like you are leaning towards increasing tomorrow?
I think it was a good idea to hold - increase should happen when the care taker is ready to do so IMO.
Nice cycle last night and ups and downs this morning - Ivy can't make up her mind what she wants to do!
Hope you have a peaceful Sunday!:bighug::bighug::bighug:
Hi Kit! Lol. I was ready in my head for the increase this morning, but then she threw in a little wrench when I saw what she was doing overnight with her little breakdancing. That made me a little uncomfortable to push her down further with more insulin. Hoping that tomorrow will work out because in my head, I’m ready for the increase.
But they do seem to read our thoughts or even what we write on this page.
Hope you guys are having a calm Sunday :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Good morning! I’m glad you had a great evening and didn’t worry about Miss Ivy.

As to your question about whether you should have increased this morning, @Angela & Cleo made some excellent points. I would agree I would have suggested you go ahead and increase (sorry I was fast asleep when you asked for help).

There is also some good info in this post dispelling some myths and post 6 addresses shooting a dropping number although Ivy did not have a dropping number but I know you were seeing a slide last evening. I also want to distinguish a dropping number from a second dip. In a second dip, the cycle will have an earlier nadir that is lower than the dip at the end of the cycle. A dropping number is where the BG just continues to slide down and the nadir for that cycle is at +12.

Would I recommend a fairly new member with little data shoot a dropping number from a bounce-clearing cycle? I wouldn’t but a member with some data who knows their cat and is prepared with what they need to handle lower numbers could.

However, I actually agree she wasn’t breaking a bounce. It looks to me like the food was holding her up and when it wore off, she just had a normal cycle with a later nadir. If she was clearing a bounce, she wouldn’t have been quite so wobbly with the BG and she would have continued a more downhill slide but she went up and stayed flat.

Having said that, there is never a wrong side to being cautious especially if that is what your gut is telling you. I’m just giving you some information so next time, you will have another tool in your arsenal to help decide.

I also am seeing a bit better duration since you started using the roll method. Are you getting more comfy with it?
 
Last edited:
Good morning! I’m glad you had a great evening and didn’t worry about Miss Ivy.

As to your question about whether you should have increased this morning, @Angela & Cleo made some excellent points. I would agree I would have suggested you go ahead and increase (sorry I was fast asleep when you asked for help).

There is also some good info in this post dispelling some myths and post 6 addresses shooting a dropping number although Ivy did not have a dropping number but I know you were seeing a slide last evening. I also want to distinguish a dropping number from a second dip. A second dip will have a nadir that is lower than the dip at the end of the cycle. A dropping number is where the BG just continues to slide down and the nadir for that cycle is at +12.

Would I recommend a fairly new member with little data shoot a dropping number from a bounce-clearing cycle? I wouldn’t but a member with some data who knows their cat and is prepared with what they need to handle lower numbers could.

However, I actually agree she wasn’t breaking a bounce. It looks to me like the food was holding her up and when it wore off, she just had a normal cycle with a later nadir. If she was clearing a bounce, she wouldn’t have been quite so wobbly with the BG and she would have continued a more downhill slide but she went up and stayed flat.

Having said that, there is never a wrong side to being cautious especially if that is what your gut is telling you. I’m just giving you some information so next time, you will have another tool in your arsenal to help decide.

I also am seeing a bit better duration since you started using the roll method. Are you getting more comfy with it?
Hi Marje, yep it was nice that she stayed stable last night. Good kitty!
I am getting more comfortable with the roll method. It takes practice but if it’s helping with duration, I will keep at it!!

I just re-read that post you linked about shooting a dropping number.
Reminder to breathe :)

And here I thought she was breaking a bounce. I wish I really understood what I am seeing when I look at her SS. So thank you for the explanation.

I will try again tomorrow for the increase and try to look at it with a different lens.
Thanks again for the detailed perspective. Hope you have a wonderful Sunday :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Marje, yep it was nice that she stayed stable last night. Good kitty!
I am getting more comfortable with the roll method. It takes practice but if it’s helping with duration, I will keep at it!!

I just re-read that post you linked about shooting a dropping number.
Reminder to breathe :)

And here I thought she was breaking a bounce. I wish I really understood what I am seeing when I look at her SS. So thank you for the explanation.

I will try again tomorrow for the increase and try to look at it with a different lens.
Thanks again for the detailed perspective. Hope you have a wonderful Sunday :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Yes it takes practice especially with a long-haired cat but, over time, we’ve found people that use that method give less fur shots to long-haired cats. Time will tell on the duration but from what I see the last several days, I see an improvement.

Haha.....shooting a dropping number takes time to feel comfortable doing especially when it is a lower number. Of course, since I used Levemir, dropping numbers at PS were the standard usually. Ivy had plenty of room this morning; however, I know it can be nerve-wracking to do it your first time when no one is on the board to support you. Just remember.....you can test at +1 and if the BG is continuing down, give a little more LC or bump the carbs up a bit more to your 9%.

As you know, I never say never, BUT, it would be unusual for a bounce clearing cycle to have numbers go up and down outside of the 20% meter variance. And “most” of the time, a bounce clearing cycle will have its lowest number at the following PS. She came up. Tomorrow is just fine for the increase.

BTW, it’s an LBL tradition that as soon as you mention a dose increase, the BG comes down into green :nailbiting::woot::woot:
 
And “most” of the time, a bounce clearing cycle will have its lowest number at the following PS. She came up. Tomorrow is just fine for the increase.

BTW, it’s an LBL tradition that as soon as you mention a dose increase, the BG comes down into green :nailbiting::woot::woot:
Ok I’ll try to get that to stick in my head. :banghead: That’s helpful.
Let’s see if Ivy has heard us discussing an increase. She’s reacted appropriately in the past to avoid more juice.

If I had to guess, I think she may go lower tonight after being so high this afternoon. :facepalm:

We try again tomorrow. ;)
 
Back
Top