1/28 Ivy Amps 141, +3.25 68, +6.75 54 L, +9 157, Pmps 112, +3 Lo L Libre

Staci & Ivy

Member Since 2022
1/27/25
Amps 141 Libre

We are seeing more blue Libre numbers on this dose lately And if I had to guess I would think it’s because of the increased dose of methimazole which I started a week ago. Perhaps it is bringing the T4 into some better control. That’s what happened in October when we raised her dose of methimazole and suddenly her need for insulin decreased a bit for several weeks.
But what the heck do I know, we will retest her T4 in a few weeks.

She took her quick dip and it looked like she was going to have a very active cycle last night. I ended up sleeping on the sofa in case it was going to be very busy.

She ended up not having a crazy overnight, but I was too tired and not sure what she was gonna do, so I just slept on the couch:coffee::coffee:

One interesting thing to note is that in the past week she’s been jumping up on my bed on her own, which is unusual for her.
She stopped doing that when she broke her leg about a year and a half ago.
I bought a set of Pet steps which has sat next to my bed ever since and she’s had no interest at all in using them other than to use them as a scratching post:rolleyes:Yesterday, for the first time, I saw her go up and down them to come and cuddle with me on the bed so that was remarkable :)
Hope it’s a new trend for her, but she seems to be feeling better in that regard:bighug:

I hope everyone has a safe day:cat:
 
Good meowning
I love reading about Ivy's adventures lately and I'm so happy to hear she's not only using the steps but she seems to be visiting you in bed more and more often yay :kiss:

Looks like a nice start today. She'll probably keep you busy during the day. Good thing you can work from home and keep an eye on her. I'm back with the boys today also. I'll be at home rest of the week. My brother is getting married on Saturday so it will be a busy weekend for us.

Wishing you and Ivy a safe day.

upload_2025-1-28_11-5-23.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2025-1-28_11-5-23.jpeg
    upload_2025-1-28_11-5-23.jpeg
    72.9 KB · Views: 90
That’s such good news that she is using the steps to visit you! I would guess she is feeling more like her old self. Fingers crossed for the next test. I love a happy kitty!
 
1/27/25
Amps 141 Libre

We are seeing more blue Libre numbers on this dose lately And if I had to guess I would think it’s because of the increased dose of methimazole which I started a week ago. Perhaps it is bringing the T4 into some better control. That’s what happened in October when we raised her dose of methimazole and suddenly her need for insulin decreased a bit for several weeks.
But what the heck do I know, we will retest her T4 in a few weeks.

She took her quick dip and it looked like she was going to have a very active cycle last night. I ended up sleeping on the sofa in case it was going to be very busy.

She ended up not having a crazy overnight, but I was too tired and not sure what she was gonna do, so I just slept on the couch:coffee::coffee:

One interesting thing to note is that in the past week she’s been jumping up on my bed on her own, which is unusual for her.
She stopped doing that when she broke her leg about a year and a half ago.
I bought a set of Pet steps which has sat next to my bed ever since and she’s had no interest at all in using them other than to use them as a scratching post:rolleyes:Yesterday, for the first time, I saw her go up and down them to come and cuddle with me on the bed so that was remarkable :)
Hope it’s a new trend for her, but she seems to be feeling better in that regard:bighug:

I hope everyone has a safe day:cat:

Hi Staci, I LOVE to read Ivy is using the stairs and coming in your bed! I think this is a very good sign, that she is more active and likes to be more social. And it is so nice to see her blue and green numbers again. She is doing really well and you are doing an amazing job, to make all this possible. I hope you enjoy this time with sweet Ivy to the fullest! :bighug::kiss::bighug:
 
I'm so glad to hear Miss Ivy is doing better! I love that she is using the steps to come cuddle. She sounds like Kai sometimes. I can introduce a new toy or a new piece of cat furniture and sometimes it will only take him 1 day to get use to it, other times it will take him 1 year before he ever uses it. Cats :rolleyes::rolleyes: am I right?
 
Yesterday, for the first time, I saw her go up and down them to come and cuddle with me on the bed so that was remarkable :)
Hope it’s a new trend for her, but she seems to be feeling better in that regard:bighug:
Awe that warms my heart that Ivy used the pet steps.
I hope it continues.
Her numbers are looking good Staci, I hope she surf's safely tonight looking at that +2 already .
Be a good girl tonight Ivy :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Staci, I'm sorry that Ivy decided to throw another pajama party tonight, but happy to see that she's on her way up again and showing you some nice dark greens. I hope the reduction tomorrow will help keep her in the safe zone so you can get some sleep. It's so great that she is using the steps to seek you out for cuddles ... love that! :bighug::cat::bighug:
 
Another long night on the sofa. Surfing lower again. Feeding frequent snacks.
I shaved her dose tonight back to 3.5 units from a fat dose, but I think we will lower the dose in the morning.
It seems when she gets on one of these declines as a result of the methimazole, The insulin suddenly becomes too intense for her :eek:
:coffee::coffee::coffee:;)
Crap I figured it would be another night on the sofa
Glad to see she came up @+6 :bighug::bighug:
 
One interesting thing to note is that in the past week she’s been jumping up on my bed on her own, which is unusual for her.
In the species I treat, hyperthyroidism can caused proximal muscle weakness (weakness in the shoulder and thigh muscles)—where it tends to get a patient’s attention is they are weak getting up from a chair.

perhaps this, as well as less insulin resistance (her improved BG) are both signs that the new dose of methimizole is working for her.

sorry about the couch, glad Ivy had a good night’s sleep free of force feeding
 
It seems when she gets on one of these declines as a result of the methimazole, The insulin suddenly becomes too intense for her

Based on some studies / side effects of methimazole it looks like you are very right! Is thyroid issues newly diagnosed for Ivy? :coffee::bighug:
 
Back
Top