Hendrick Cuddleclaw
Member Since 2022
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/1-27-hendrick-amps-567-4-311-6-251-pmps-525.258453/
First time we've successfully tested for ketones with the Nova Max. Just as people here had mentioned, we were able to use the same blood droplet (first touched test strip on AlphaTrak to droplet, then touched test strip on Nova Max to droplet). It displayed .9 -- a quick google says under .6 would be good, .6 - 1.5 means slight risk of DKA??
He is 10.3 lbs and we've been feeding him about 300-350 calories a day I estimate (at least) and he is getting plenty of water as advised by folks here like @FrostD in order to keep DKA at bay. I think I remember that someone here at the FDMB said the slight presence of ketones in the blood of an unregulated diabetic feline is expected, and the important thing is that they stay on the low end. I hope that is correct.
Lab report from the vet from 1/18 says: Serum Ketones: Small 1+ A
I don't know what that translates into as far as comparing it to the .9 from today
First time we've successfully tested for ketones with the Nova Max. Just as people here had mentioned, we were able to use the same blood droplet (first touched test strip on AlphaTrak to droplet, then touched test strip on Nova Max to droplet). It displayed .9 -- a quick google says under .6 would be good, .6 - 1.5 means slight risk of DKA??
He is 10.3 lbs and we've been feeding him about 300-350 calories a day I estimate (at least) and he is getting plenty of water as advised by folks here like @FrostD in order to keep DKA at bay. I think I remember that someone here at the FDMB said the slight presence of ketones in the blood of an unregulated diabetic feline is expected, and the important thing is that they stay on the low end. I hope that is correct.
Lab report from the vet from 1/18 says: Serum Ketones: Small 1+ A
I don't know what that translates into as far as comparing it to the .9 from today
Last edited:
but we all also want to make sure Hendrick stays safe and testing per the protocol helps us do that 
....kept wondering why he wasnt coming down like normal. I'd bet you see some improvement in his numbers when he is on the LC food.