1/28 Gobbles PMPS 360 +2~338 +4.5~313

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: ?dose? 1/28 Gobbles AM 388

I don't have the answer for that, but bumping you up.

You do seem to be leaving the yellow zone....
I bet you have an answer soon.
 
Re: ?dose? 1/28 Gobbles AM 388

Hi guys .. gosh wish I could give you dose advice but just don't feel comfortable doing it .. I hope someone can come along soon, I know how hard it is to wait .. have a great day!
 
Re: ??????dose? 1/28 Gobbles AM 388

Libby said hold so if you dont hear. Hold. You can always increase tonite if you hear during the day.
 
Re: ??????dose? 1/28 Gobbles AM 388

Libby & Lucy said:
I wouldn't increase yet, for two main reasons:

1. He had nadirs in the 60s on this dose. Unless you want nadirs lower than 60s, it's time to slow down and wait to see if he can get back to that range on this dose. If not, then we can go up, but I would give him a bit more time.

2. One reason I think he can use a bit more time is that today he has been having a flat yellow cycle. Sometimes the flat yellow cycles can mean they are about to come down in the next cycle or two. Gobbles has done that before, on 1/22 and 1/23. So I would see what happens tonight and maybe tomorrow during the day before deciding to increase.
Please see what I bolded. Libby's post answered your question.
 
Re: 1/28 Gobbles AMPS 388

just very upsetting to see him in the yellows yesterday and so like himself yesterday, and then this morning--almost 400 :(
 
Re: 1/28 Gobbles AMPS 388 +2~427

Well, higher still. Though looking at Gobbles' past numbers on his SS, this is not the first time for a +2 to be higher than his pre-shot. I thought with Lantus that the +2 is close to the PS? But at +3 he is even higher. I can't find that sticky right now...Other than let him be and test for ketones, is there anything else I can do when he is this high?
 
Re: ??????dose? 1/28 Gobbles AM 388

Sienne and Gabby said:
Libby & Lucy said:
I wouldn't increase yet, for two main reasons:

1. He had nadirs in the 60s on this dose. Unless you want nadirs lower than 60s, it's time to slow down and wait to see if he can get back to that range on this dose. If not, then we can go up, but I would give him a bit more time.

2. One reason I think he can use a bit more time is that today he has been having a flat yellow cycle. Sometimes the flat yellow cycles can mean they are about to come down in the next cycle or two. Gobbles has done that before, on 1/22 and 1/23. So I would see what happens tonight and maybe tomorrow during the day before deciding to increase.
Please see what I bolded. Libby's post answered your question.
Hi Sienne. Ok, so "during the day", is today--His numbers, at +6, are still really high. Today's shot was given at 8:15 AM. I did not wait for an answer earlier re: dose increase because I figured if it was suggested to increase him, I could just give him an additional small shot of whatever the increase would of been. His next shot is due at 8:00 PM.

Questions:

(1.) I assume we're going to increase him? From 1.5 U. to 1.75? 2.0? Over what BG number would determine that?

(2.)Can I give him his shot early? I would like to have his shot ready--he is due for his next shot at 8 PM EST, (I need to give him his shot asap--I have been moving his shot time backwards so I can get him back to 7AM/7PM asap--I gave him his shot late on 1/24 due to low number and that's one of the reasons I am moving his shot time back, in increments)

(3.)When should I test him again?

Thanks in advance.
 
Re: ??????dose? 1/28 Gobbles AM 388

TheBowHuntress said:
I did not wait for an answer earlier re: dose increase because I figured if it was suggested to increase him, I could just give him an additional small shot of whatever the increase would of been. His next shot is due at 8:00 PM.

I'm not sure if you mean that some time during the cycle you'd give him another "additional small shot". If that's what you mean, we would not recommend that you do that with Gobbles. As you are dosing each cycle, just stick with the recommended dose at his shot time and do not add any additional insulin during the cycles. If I misunderstood your statement, please forgive.


TheBowHuntress said:
Questions:

(1.) I assume we're going to increase him? From 1.5 U. to 1.75? 2.0? Over what BG number would determine that?
First, IMHO, you could be looking at the "high before the break" with those numbers today. If so, you don't want to increase. He had a flat yellow cycle yesterday; sometimes they then will go up before they break. So it might not be a bad idea to hold the dose tonight and see if he breaks. If you read back through the TR Protocol, you'll see that his nadirs (not counting the bounces), have been in the 200-300 mg/dL range; therefore, you would only increase .25u if and when you increase. He would have to clear his bounce and have his BGs be over 300 mg/dL before you would increase by .5u.

TheBowHuntress said:
(2.)Can I give him his shot early? I would like to have his shot ready--he is due for his next shot at 8 PM EST, (I need to give him his shot asap--I have been moving his shot time backwards so I can get him back to 7AM/7PM asap--I gave him his shot late on 1/24 due to low number and that's one of the reasons I am moving his shot time back, in increments)
I wouldn't give him an early shot AND increase his dose. If he's still in the 300s or high 200s at PMPS, you could shoot at 7 EST and be back on schedule. I don't think you should increase tonight but you hold the syringe. Absolutely do not increase his dose if you shoot early.

TheBowHuntress said:
3.)When should I test him again?
I would get a +11 and see where he is. If he's still high, go ahead and give him 1.5u at that time. See if he breaks tonight. If, later in this cycle, you want someone to reassess his need for an increase, don't feed after +9 (just in case you shoot at +11), then get a +10.75, post, and ask for dosing advice.

You're welcome :-D
 
Re: ??????dose? 1/28 Gobbles AM 388

I guess I have a decision to make. As for his past nadirs being in the 200s, 300s etc.; I wouldn't know for sure because I don't get nadirs on him day and night, which is my fault. You see, I cringe when his numbers go up over 300 because all I can think is that he is feeling really awful and his organs are continuing to be damaged; and there is absolutely nothing I can do about--try, try, try but it is not working :( which is why I keep asking about a dose increase...(like a broken record) I can get a +11 which would be at 7:15 pm est and from my understanding I couldgive him his regular 1.5 U shot at that time (which would be an hour early, with no dose increase) but I am absolutely not to increase his dose and give him his shot early. Thanks for your help & insight :smile:
 
Re: PM dose??? 1/28 Gobbles AMPS 388 +3~427 +6~392

I think, for the most part, if you have a test somewhere around mid cycle, it doesn't have to be exactly his nadir. It still gives you an idea if he's under 100, between 100-200, 200-300, etc.

Yes, correct. If he's still up, you can shoot 1 hour early to get back on schedule, no dose increase. If he's coming down, I would shoot 1.5u on time because if you increase the dose as he is clearing a bounce, you could find numbers coming down on you really fast. Let him clear and see where he is. If he's not in green, I'd increase.

We all understand. I've said the same thing myself many times. But you do not want to get him overdose.
 
Re: PM dose??? 1/28 Gobbles AMPS 388 +3~427 +6~392

Marje and Gracie said:
If he's still up, you can shoot 1 hour early to get back on schedule, no dose increase. If he's coming down, I would shoot 1.5u on time because if you increase the dose as he is clearing a bounce, you could find numbers coming down on you really fast. Let him clear and see where he is. If he's not in green, I'd increase.
Ok...it's sinking in. How about I get a +10.45 (which will be at 7 PM est)--instead of the +11, and post that number? And then stand by? Would someone be able to get back to me quick and advise?
 
Re: PM dose??? 1/28 Gobbles AMPS 388 +3~427 +6~392

Sure thing. I'll be watching for Ruben anyway.

Kat...could you do us a big favor please? Once your question is satisfactorily answered, could you please take down the "?" and any references to a question in the subject line? That frees us up to help others if you've been helped. Of course, if you still have a question, absolutely leave it up.

I'll be back a little before 7 your time.
 
Re: 1/28 Gobbles AMPS 388 +3~427 +6~392 +10.75~360

I think you can take the opportunity to shoot early at 1.5u and get back on track.
 
Re: 1/28 Gobbles AMPS 388 +3~427 +6~392 +10.75~360

Shot the 1.5 U. at 7:15 pm. Should I perhaps get some tests later? (I'll be up to 12, so can get up to +5)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top