TheBowHuntress
Member Since 2012
Yesterday's Condo:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=87845
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=87845
Please see what I bolded. Libby's post answered your question.Libby & Lucy said:I wouldn't increase yet, for two main reasons:
1. He had nadirs in the 60s on this dose. Unless you want nadirs lower than 60s, it's time to slow down and wait to see if he can get back to that range on this dose. If not, then we can go up, but I would give him a bit more time.
2. One reason I think he can use a bit more time is that today he has been having a flat yellow cycle. Sometimes the flat yellow cycles can mean they are about to come down in the next cycle or two. Gobbles has done that before, on 1/22 and 1/23. So I would see what happens tonight and maybe tomorrow during the day before deciding to increase.
Hi Sienne. Ok, so "during the day", is today--His numbers, at +6, are still really high. Today's shot was given at 8:15 AM. I did not wait for an answer earlier re: dose increase because I figured if it was suggested to increase him, I could just give him an additional small shot of whatever the increase would of been. His next shot is due at 8:00 PM.Sienne and Gabby said:Please see what I bolded. Libby's post answered your question.Libby & Lucy said:I wouldn't increase yet, for two main reasons:
1. He had nadirs in the 60s on this dose. Unless you want nadirs lower than 60s, it's time to slow down and wait to see if he can get back to that range on this dose. If not, then we can go up, but I would give him a bit more time.
2. One reason I think he can use a bit more time is that today he has been having a flat yellow cycle. Sometimes the flat yellow cycles can mean they are about to come down in the next cycle or two. Gobbles has done that before, on 1/22 and 1/23. So I would see what happens tonight and maybe tomorrow during the day before deciding to increase.
TheBowHuntress said:I did not wait for an answer earlier re: dose increase because I figured if it was suggested to increase him, I could just give him an additional small shot of whatever the increase would of been. His next shot is due at 8:00 PM.
First, IMHO, you could be looking at the "high before the break" with those numbers today. If so, you don't want to increase. He had a flat yellow cycle yesterday; sometimes they then will go up before they break. So it might not be a bad idea to hold the dose tonight and see if he breaks. If you read back through the TR Protocol, you'll see that his nadirs (not counting the bounces), have been in the 200-300 mg/dL range; therefore, you would only increase .25u if and when you increase. He would have to clear his bounce and have his BGs be over 300 mg/dL before you would increase by .5u.TheBowHuntress said:Questions:
(1.) I assume we're going to increase him? From 1.5 U. to 1.75? 2.0? Over what BG number would determine that?
I wouldn't give him an early shot AND increase his dose. If he's still in the 300s or high 200s at PMPS, you could shoot at 7 EST and be back on schedule. I don't think you should increase tonight but you hold the syringe. Absolutely do not increase his dose if you shoot early.TheBowHuntress said:(2.)Can I give him his shot early? I would like to have his shot ready--he is due for his next shot at 8 PM EST, (I need to give him his shot asap--I have been moving his shot time backwards so I can get him back to 7AM/7PM asap--I gave him his shot late on 1/24 due to low number and that's one of the reasons I am moving his shot time back, in increments)
I would get a +11 and see where he is. If he's still high, go ahead and give him 1.5u at that time. See if he breaks tonight. If, later in this cycle, you want someone to reassess his need for an increase, don't feed after +9 (just in case you shoot at +11), then get a +10.75, post, and ask for dosing advice.TheBowHuntress said:3.)When should I test him again?
Ok...it's sinking in. How about I get a +10.45 (which will be at 7 PM est)--instead of the +11, and post that number? And then stand by? Would someone be able to get back to me quick and advise?Marje and Gracie said:If he's still up, you can shoot 1 hour early to get back on schedule, no dose increase. If he's coming down, I would shoot 1.5u on time because if you increase the dose as he is clearing a bounce, you could find numbers coming down on you really fast. Let him clear and see where he is. If he's not in green, I'd increase.
Marje and Gracie said:you're welcome. I'm watching for your +10.75
Will do. Thanks Marje cat_pet_iconMarje and Gracie said:I'm a big believer in the +2 test for cats on lantus. It can tell you so much.
Marje and Gracie said:I'm a big believer in the +2 test for cats on lantus. It can tell you so much.