1/28 - Gen, AMPS 349, PMPS >400

Allie & Gen

Member Since 2025
Yesterday

Okay, so we're back from the vet - we were there much longer than expected because they had some difficulty with some of their equipment.

My vet took another look at Gen's x-rays from September, which show extensive bone remodeling in his jaw, and she says something is nagging at her - she's wondering if there might be something underlying that she's missing. She's going to call a colleague who specializes in dental work at the local animal hospital to consult. She also asked me if I'd consent to her running an acromegaly test, though she hasn't decided yet if she thinks we should. I told her that if she decides it's important, go ahead and bill me for it.

Gen doesn't look much like a classic case of acrocat; far from having a potbelly, he's underweight, and in 2021 when he was initially diagnosed with FD he didn't require high doses of insulin and went into remission after a few months. But the bone remodeling is strange, so she was mulling over it as a possibility. I hope it's not that.

Hopefully we'll be good to go ahead with the dental on Monday; I should hear back for sure tomorrow or Friday, once she's had a chance to go over things and get some test results back. (We discussed pre-surgical protocols and post-procedure care, including painkillers and food etc. I feel fairly comfortable with all of that.) Right now, though, I'm very anxious. He also didn't eat so well this morning (maybe reducing the mirataz was a mistake after all), and on top of that I have to install a new Libre early because they had to take it off for the chest x-ray she wanted to do. I'm giving him a little bit of a break first, as he's had a bit of a day already. (Me, too.)

My SS isn't updated; I'll get that done later today. I do have to work, though at least it's from home.

I hope Wednesday is going smoothly for all you lovely folks, and that your kitties are surfing safely. ❤️
 
Gen enjoyed his rare naked day (which went a bit longer than anticipated because I had some trouble getting my clippers to work)!

PXL_20260128_190138100.jpg

PXL_20260128_192426865.jpg
 
Come on Gen! Stop stressing out your parent! Hopefully dental surgery is a go for next week! <3 <3

Keeping my fingers crossed.
Jessica, I don't think I've ever thanked you for being so scrupulous about using a gender-neutral word for me. Thank you. ❤️ I'm okay with being called his "mom," but "parent" gives me a little boost every time I see it. It's nice.

And thank you; mine are certainly crossed as well.
 
Jessica, I don't think I've ever thanked you for being so scrupulous about using a gender-neutral word for me. Thank you. ❤️ I'm okay with being called his "mom," but "parent" gives me a little boost every time I see it. It's nice.

And thank you; mine are certainly crossed as well.
Lots of love! I have friends that use gender neutral pronouns and have tried to become a safe space for everyone. I guess that has made me hyper-aware of things like that. I have to laugh though, the first time I typed it, I caught myself and had to think for a second about a gender neutral term.
 
I hate lost data, boo. No idea what his AM cycle looked like at all; hard to say if he's been way up high for long, and whether it's an ongoing bounce or possibly stress-related from the vet visit and the Libre installation. We'll see how his night goes.
 
Back
Top