1/28 Fistuk AMPS 88, +2.75 119, +6 90 PMPS 97 +101

Fistuk & Shelly

Member Since 2023
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...amps-110-2-75-97-7-79-pmps-92-1-5-121.286051/

Good morning :)

So it finally happened.... I didn't wake up in time for the shot. I gave it 40 minutes late.

I know folks here combine work and TR. I find it very difficult to continue waking up at night. last night I began to feel off again. I don't want my immune system to run down and get sick all the time. I also work with children so I'm more prone to pick up bugs.

I'm not feeling too chirpy this morning. But Fistuk is being cute and in good mood.

His back legs felt too weak yesterday. He keeps on tripping. He had a nice moment of doolally yesterday morning and I stretched him few times during the day so I was surprised to see him having such difficult finding his stability.

I'll have to shift his shot time 15 minutes earlier this evening so tomorrow morning I can get back to out shot time at 7:30 because I'll need it to be able to get to work.

Wishing you all a stress free Sunday :bighug:
 
Hi Shelly,
It happens to all of us. :bighug:
Balancing FD, work, home, and our health is definitely a life challenge!
Particularly, sleep. We are a bunch of sleep deprived FD parents!
I hope you will find a right balance (or at least, something workable) that will not interfere with your health and work. :bighug:
Happy Sunday, Shelly! :bighug:
 
Good afternoon Shelly and Fistuk.

Don't beat yourself up. Like Kit said, this happens to to best of us. It can get really challenging trying to jugle everything and especially so when we're not feeling our best.
Please take care of yourself cause Fistuk needs his mama. Get some rest and hopefully both you and Fistuk will feel better in a few days.
Sending hugs and kisses (licks) from Nestle and Peanut

upload_2024-1-28_7-35-9.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2024-1-28_7-35-9.png
    upload_2024-1-28_7-35-9.png
    89.3 KB · Views: 181
Hi Shelly,
It happens to all of us. :bighug:
Balancing FD, work, home, and our health is definitely a life challenge!
Particularly, sleep. We are a bunch of sleep deprived FD parents!
I hope you will find a right balance (or at least, something workable) that will not interfere with your health and work. :bighug:
Happy Sunday, Shelly! :bighug:
Thanks, Kit.
I was down this morning. Feeling overwhelmed really. Thanks for the cheering up and understanding.
I know that people here really get the tiredness of sleep deprivation :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Good afternoon Shelly and Fistuk.

Don't beat yourself up. Like Kit said, this happens to to best of us. It can get really challenging trying to jugle everything and especially so when we're not feeling our best.
Please take care of yourself cause Fistuk needs his mama. Get some rest and hopefully both you and Fistuk will feel better in a few days.
Sending hugs and kisses (licks) from Nestle and Peanut

View attachment 68954
Karolina, I need to show this pic to Fisrtuk to memories and rehearse :woot::woot:
I feel the licks and kisses and it's very sweet and comforting :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Morning Shelly, I'm sorry to hear you're not feeling that great this morning.
Waking up late happens , don't beat yourself up about.
I hope you can rest up today . I hope as the day goes on Fistuk's legs will get stronger. Nice BG numbers so far :bighug::bighug::bighug::D
Thanks, Diane.
I'm in training this weekend. Which I really enjoy. I haven't been in training days since July so I really missed it. But I don't rest as I would have.
I hope tonight he0'll let me sleep and then I'll be fine for tomorrow :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
It happens...don't beat yourself up over it. You'll be back on track before you know it ;).

Sleep deprivation is real! I think that once you adjust (physically and mentally) to the new routine, you won't feel so tired all the time. I found that switching up when I took my multivitamin helped too.
Thanks, Angela.
I filled myself with ginger, vitamin C, echinacea, gurgles salt :woot: All the tricks I know to make sure I don't get sick.
If only he will let me sleep tonight I'll be fine :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
:bighug:Try to take a minute for yourself today to regroup before Monday. Everyone else said it. Late shots happen...fur shots happen...it's an exhaustive challenge to be a FD parent. A rhythm is usually found and our bodies get more used to it. But always try to take a minute for yourself in all the bg checks and snack giving and sleepless moments we have to have.:bighug:
Thanks, Rainbow. I'm in training this weekend so there's that too.
I'll need to get used to the new routine with work. All not used to be so many hours outside the house so it's adjustment process :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hello Shelly!
Yes, that happens to everybody, don't get too hard on yourself, he will be fine. I very rarely test after +3 or +4 at night, I realised that if I get sick or exhausted I make mistakes, and since I'm the only one taking care of Bella (and my family, too!), I need to be functioning, or it will be much worse than just a late shot.
 
Hello Shelly!
Yes, that happens to everybody, don't get too hard on yourself, he will be fine. I very rarely test after +3 or +4 at night, I realised that if I get sick or exhausted I make mistakes, and since I'm the only one taking care of Bella (and my family, too!), I need to be functioning, or it will be much worse than just a late shot.
Hi Cecile :)
Lately I hardly make it to +3 testing. I'm just so tired and want to go to bed so I test before his onset just to stay on the safe side.
I resonate with what you say an I think I'll stop testing at night.
:bighug:
 
Thank you all for your support! It means a lot to me :bighug: I had some thought ....

Last night I left food for Fistuk by his bed to eat so he doesn't wake me up.
I noticed he had a small bite and then he woke me up anyways. When I gave him the plate he ate well and finished it!
I need to find a way to re-train him to eat on his own during the night so he doesn't wake me up. Honestly, the plate is just under his nose.

I can put my ear plugs and I won't hear his serenades. But them I'm afraid that if he goes lime he'll try to wake me up and I won't hear it. How do I handle this?

But also, how do I make dosing decisions if I don't have the data from the night.

I think I know Fistuk quite well by now, even though he's changing his patterns a bit since he's gotten quite regulated.

Fistuk, as far as I remember, used to always wake up at night and sing his songs. But then he would go to the kitchen and eat kibble and settle back. But he also used to jump on and off the bed by himself which he doesn't now bc of his arthritis. I don't take him up the bed bc I'm afraid he'll pee on the bed when he can't jump off.

I feel a bit trapped. Not sure how to handle this. I need to be able to have some nights where I sleep through.

Any suggestions?

I was thinking going SLGS. I know that with TR there's better chance for remission. I want to give him that chance (And me to be honest!). And I feel he's got a good chance. he's been responding really well to TR. But with SLGS perhaps I'll be able to not worry about him having a lime party all by himself while I snore away with my ear plugs (what an image :woot:) thought he can have a lime dive even with SLGS...

I'd appreciate your thought :bighug::bighug::bighug:
@Bandit's Mom @Angela & Cleo @tiffmaxee @Marje and Gracie
 
First of all :bighug::bighug::bighug: I know how hard all this can be. I will say definitely have the experts weigh in here but I'll give you at least what I did.

So for the food part of it I moved to an autofeeder. The sound of it turning was enough to wake up LM and prompt him to go eat his middle of night snacks. Not a perfect science he still missed or was late sometimes...still is occasionally :banghead:

Testing...I have lupus and started working again shortly after LM dx. I was so sleep deprived it wasn't even funny. I started trying to set an alarm to wake up test and go right back to sleep. Again not perfect and we didn't always get tons of overnight testing but better than not at all. Even just a couple tests during the week later at night can give a picture of what they are doing.

It's really about finding balance for yourself. I was terrible for probably the first year. Panicked all the time...super sleep deprived all the time. I finally found the rhythm that worked for me and for LM.

I'm by no means an expert in this probably never will be. I still hold my breath each and every time I test to this day. And now with only getting two tests a day it is a new kind of stress. Just offering some of the things I did to help me find balance and some peace in all this. :bighug::bighug::bighug: also take an extra nap whenever you can...week3nd or home early one day etc...
 
Thank you all for your support! It means a lot to me :bighug: I had some thought ....

Last night I left food for Fistuk by his bed to eat so he doesn't wake me up.
I noticed he had a small bite and then he woke me up anyways. When I gave him the plate he ate well and finished it!
I need to find a way to re-train him to eat on his own during the night so he doesn't wake me up. Honestly, the plate is just under his nose.

I can put my ear plugs and I won't hear his serenades. But them I'm afraid that if he goes lime he'll try to wake me up and I won't hear it. How do I handle this?

But also, how do I make dosing decisions if I don't have the data from the night.

I think I know Fistuk quite well by now, even though he's changing his patterns a bit since he's gotten quite regulated.

Fistuk, as far as I remember, used to always wake up at night and sing his songs. But then he would go to the kitchen and eat kibble and settle back. But he also used to jump on and off the bed by himself which he doesn't now bc of his arthritis. I don't take him up the bed bc I'm afraid he'll pee on the bed when he can't jump off.

I feel a bit trapped. Not sure how to handle this. I need to be able to have some nights where I sleep through.

Any suggestions?

I was thinking going SLGS. I know that with TR there's better chance for remission. I want to give him that chance (And me to be honest!). And I feel he's got a good chance. he's been responding really well to TR. But with SLGS perhaps I'll be able to not worry about him having a lime party all by himself while I snore away with my ear plugs (what an image :woot:) thought he can have a lime dive even with SLGS...

I'd appreciate your thought :bighug::bighug::bighug:
@Bandit's Mom @Angela & Cleo @tiffmaxee @Marje and Gracie
I also used an auto-feeder and it only took a few times and Gracie would actually sit on top of it and wait for it to open.

The other thing that might help if having him on the bed is better for you both is to get a ramp. I had one made for one of my kitties who was quite old and had arthritis and she was easily able to get up and down. I actually now have one on either side of the bed and all our old cats have passed away but our two younger ones use them all the time. Since our bed is quite high, I’m glad they aren’t jumping off the bed but use the ramps.
 
Bella got very used to the auto-feeder, too. She waits in the kitchen until it opens, and if she's asleep somewhere it usually (not always, but most of the times) wakes her up. She always cried in the middle of the night, she still does it but stops fast if I don't answer. if she does not stop, I'll get up and test her. I also try to get a test if I'm up late, or very early, to get an idea when I can.
 
I also used an auto-feeder and it only took a few times and Gracie would actually sit on top of it and wait for it to open.

The other thing that might help if having him on the bed is better for you both is to get a ramp. I had one made for one of my kitties who was quite old and had arthritis and she was easily able to get up and down. I actually now have one on either side of the bed and all our old cats have passed away but our two younger ones use them all the time. Since our bed is quite high, I’m glad they aren’t jumping off the bed but use the ramps.
I second the ramp. My Penny has bad arthritis in her hips and ramps help her tremendously when she's having a tough day and can't jump.
 
Hi Shelly, I’m sorry you had a not so great day. Try not to be hard on yourself about the late shot. And it was hardly even late. Be kind to yourself. You are so intuitive and on top of everything with both of your boys.
That plus the new job and challenges of a new schedule make it even harder. You will learn a new rhythm. You’re smart and nimble. It’s growing pains.

I love the ramp idea and definitely try the Auto feeder. I didn’t think Ivy would eat from hers, but she does. And Fistuk stays in your room where you can place the feeder before bed so he will hear it open. It seems most cats here have all adapted to the feeders. It’s worth a try.
Try to get some rest. You’re doing an amazing job with both kitties.
Sending you a big hug :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
No doubt... balancing full-time work and a needy cat. Sooo hard to do, I wish I was retired and had nothing else going on, but to provide round the clock care for Kona.

Nevertheless, Fistuk's BG levels are great! You're doing a great job! :D
 
Back
Top