Re: 1/28 DAVIDSON AMPS 324 +2 317 +4 275
Hi there
Below are the guidelines from the TR protocol.
Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
My $0.02:
You held the 2.5u for 6 cycles.
The lowest you saw during that time was 180 - a high blue. Considering meter reading variance 180 is not that 'blue'
Would this dose have produced lower blues - say 120-160? Hard to say
Is this a big bounce that will be long lasting, short lived? Also hard to say.
True, increasing at the height of a bounce is not recommended since with Lantus you are shooting at a number, that is unknown and will appear 3-4 hours down the road, at onset.
So if onset aligns with the end of a bounce you could encounter an unexpected low later in the cycle and have a very active cycle. Additionally you could trigger another bounce.
That being said-
You are there to monitor and are doing very well monitoring - safety first.
You are prepared to intervene and guide the numbers if needed - you will keep him safe.
You don't hesitate to ask for help when you have questions or concerns.
You are developing your instincts about how it all affects your cat.
The way I see it , putting aside the bounce variable, you did not stray very far from the guidelines for raising the dose.
Maybe not perfect timing for the increase however based on input here today you are aware of potential outcomes.
What you learn from your decision will expand your knowledge of your cats rhythms and responses.
As far as holding this new dose -- 6 full cycles minimum, unless you see a signal to reduce.
