1/28 Cinco PMPS 414 OV Follow up Visit

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey

Member Since 2011
1/27 Recap:
1.50 units (oops!)
AMPS: 167
AM+3.5: 250
AM+6: 258

1.75 units
PMPS: 336
PM+4.5: 218
PM+6.5: 255

Yesterday's Condo

This was not how I wanted Cinco to start his day! DH did not do a retest :YMSIGH: . I'm wondering if I need to start getting up at 6:30 am to supervise :shock: ! I don't do mornings at all well, so I'm not enthusiastic about this, but If I have to, I have to. We'll see. At least he's back to yellow already. Hoping for a peek at blue at +6. Back on the 1.75 dose as of last night.

Recheck at the OV today. Sure hope all is still well with the pressure and inflammation. Haven't seen any pawing at the eyes or head shaking, so that's hopeful. They called yesterday afternoon to tell me all the other kitties tested negative for the bartonella. What a relief!!! :thumbup I haven't given the subqs in a couple of days, as he doesn't seem to need them - not lethargic, not huge amounts of pee. He is still not pooping without a little help from coconut oil - I give him 2-3 days and then I put some in his food. It does seem to do the trick. ;-)

Sending healing vines to all kitties in need, and hugs to their beans. :YMHUG:

P.S. No blue for us! High yellow at +6. :sad:
 
Re: 1/28 Cinco AMPS 415 +3.5 235 +6 297

Hi, Tricia

I just took a look at Cinco's SS, and noticed that you had 2 mornings just recently where you gave 1.50u (on 01/25, and 01/27), and not the 1.75u, but you gave 1.75u those nights. That may be the reason for his higher #s, and could be bouncing because of it.

Thank you for stopping by our condo, and for your words of encouragement. I greatly appreciate them. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 1/28 Cinco AMPS 415 +3.5 235 +6 297

Good afternoon! I hope everything is going good at the appt for you guys. I'm glad that Cinco hasn't pawed at his eyes again, that's a good sign :-D And so awesome your other kitties tested negative, that must be a huuuge relief, one less worry :cool: . Hopefully he will recover from that "fur shot" soon and work that juice!

I'm glad the coconut oil is helping him. I was giving 1ml or so daily just for health benefits for hairballs and coat etc at one point, but Chyna seems to be bothered by it and started scratching her face/ears so I stopped using it. I wish we still could but without a pinpoint of what was bothering her I don't want to chance it, even though it helped her poop :YMSIGH: Maybe I'll test it again in the future!

I'll be looking for an update later! Have a good day, Tricia :-D
 
Re: 1/28 Cinco AMPS 415 +3.5 235 +6 297

I hope everything goes well at Cinco's OV appointment today. It might take him a couple of days to get back on track after the reduced dose yesterday morning.
 
Re: 1/28 Cinco AMPS 415 +3.5 235 +6 297

I hope the OV appointment went well! Looks like Cinco came on down and surfed very nicely today. Have a great evening!!
 
Re: 1/28 Cinco AMPS 415 +3.5 235 +6 297

Thanks for stopping by, Carla, Rachel, Angela & Amy. Sorry I'm so late posting an update, but the OV appt was late afternoon and I had to stop by Petsmart on the way home, as it's really close to the OV and a ways from home. Then I had to get everyone fed and medicated (well not everyone - our dinner's in the oven :lol: ).

The OV was VERY pleased with Cinco's eyes. :-D No inflammation and perfectly normal pressure. He said the pawing at it might have just been an itch or something he got in his eye. The cataracts have not changed and are still too small to worry about. He also reminded me that the AB he's on is probably affecting his absorption of insulin, so he is not surprised that we've had to increase the dose. He said to watch for a drop in BG once the AB is gone (about two more weeks). That made me feel better. We don't go back for six weeks unless there is a concern. He will test him again 6 months after the end of the AB to see if the Bartonella is gone. He said this AB has a very high (like 95%) success rate with Bartonella, so I'm glad about that.

Angela, the 1.5 units on 1/25 were the end of the previous dose. We increased that night. I know it's recommended to do it in the morning, but we didn't want to wait. On the 27th my DH got over-excited about a blue AMPS and dropped the dose- he claims it wasn't a full .25 drop, but we are still counting it as a reduced dose, to be safe. I've read all the descriptions of bounces, but I'm still not entirely clear on how they work.

Rachel, I may have to give him a little more of the coconut oil than I've been giving, as it's been another 3+ days since he left me a prezzie. He hasn't really seemed to need subqs, but he peed in the carrier on the way home from the OV, so I'm thinking I might go ahead with some fluids tomorrow.

I was not happy with the PMPS, but I guess it's to be expected after his traumatic afternoon. I think there'll be another dosecrease once these 6 cycles are over. :YMSIGH:

Well, gotta go get the salad made as the enchiladas are almost done. Have a great night, everyone, and thanks for the support!
 
Hi Tricia,
I'm very glad that the other kitties are free of bartonella and that Cinco is responding to his meds. Sound like a good OV report in general. I think that several people found that coconut oil was a culprit in raising blood glucose, so you may want to look for an alternative. But since you have an A/B on board you may want to wait until it is finished to experiment. Are you giving a probiotic? With antibiotics killing off all of the good bacteria in the intestines, you will need something like FortiFlora or plain yogurt with live cultures to restore the good bacteria.

Have a good evening. Good luck with all that is on your plate right now.

Ella & Rusty
 
Thanks for the info, Ella. I was using the coconut oil as a laxative. Rachel says she has had a lot of success with it. I need something to help him as I think he's constipated. It's worked twice so far. He won't eat canned pumpkin or squash baby food and if I put the right dose of fiber powder in his food, he won't eat it. Does Fortiflora helps with constipation? I'll order some if so.
 
Yay for an awesome report/visit! I'm glad for the happy news :-D Hugs to Cinco for being a good boy at the visit :-D

Some probiotics cause constipation in my kitty...I actually use canola oil now, with success for poops, since canola oil seems to upset her itching. I haven't seen it raise BG, I asked that question in my post a long time ago, but Marje did say it raised Gracies triglicerides (sp?) but she doesn't know of anyone elses cat who has had that. I know a lot of people on here use Miralax, I believe the vet prescribes it? Slippery Elm Bark also helps with that, I was using it for nausea before we had to switch to Pepcid AC for Chynas tummy but it has the side effect of good poops. There is a great site someone sent me once from here on constipation in cats, if you haven't seen it: http://www.felineconstipation.org/introduction.html Tanyas site for CRF also has a section on constipation that tells about remedies including Miralax: http://www.felinecrf.org/constipation.htm

Have you tried mixing the pumpkin or squash in food? Chyna refuses to eat it by itself now but will in food, weird cat :lol:

Well, I had to say hello when I saw you had an update...I'm just up for a +5.5 so I'm off to do that and back to bed @-)
 
Thanks for the info, Rachel. I'll try the squash in food, since I have a whole jar. The one website you gave me mentioned starting really small, so I'll do that tomorrow. I already used the pumpkin up - DH appreciated the pumpkin bread ! :lol:

I think I may give him some subqs tomorrow, too. I haven't seen him drinking as much water, and there was a lot of pee in the carrier when he let loose on the way home from the vet :shock: !

I just read up on Miralax. I think I'll pick some up tomorrow, just in case the other methods don't produce results. I didn't think to ask the OV if the AB could be constipating him, but from what I've been reading, it may be the problem. Hopefully that means he'll get back to regularity once the AB is gone. Paws crossed.

I saw how low Chyna dipped. Good thing you got up for that +5.5. Hope she surfed the rest of the night for you.! Thanks again. :-D
 
Forti Flora is used for diarrhea, or liquid poos, especially if you're switching foods suddenly, and you know it's going to upset their system a bit. Plus, it also entices them to eat. You can get it at your vet, if they carry it, and if not, I know that PetFoodDirect.com sells it as I get it from there all the time.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top