? 1/28 Bubba AM-75,+3-98.+6-73,+9-43! ,+9.5-67,+10-79,PM, Redux,-77, =2.5- 129

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hope you feel better soon Bobbie, thanks for stopping bye, 'see' you later:)

Be a good boy Bubba, momma's not feeling so good.
 
He just went down to 43 @ +9, 2 tsps. HC and 1 tsp lc , I had a feeling.....So the question is this: he just had a reduction the cycle before this. Can he get another reduction this soon? I am very happy this is daytime instead of nighttime! No nap for me though.....
 
Last edited:
LOL I think he has heard through the sugarvine that there's more fuds on offer if you go for a shark hunt. Hope he comes up for you what with his late nadir and all.
I know this is his time to be at his highest, NOT! Well let's see what happens. He will love the extra fuds. I am surprised he is asking for a reduction again!
 
I know this is his time to be at his highest, NOT! Well let's see what happens. He will love the extra fuds. I am surprised he is asking for a reduction again!
I don't know whether or not he should have a reduction:confused:

The Depot could still be in play and I seem to remember reading that with the higher the dose the more of an impact the depot can have on other cycles, can't remember where I read that or who was saying so don't know if that's true, hopefully you'll hear from the gurus soon;)

Why did you take the reduction?? I've lost track. was it cause of the drop on the 26 jan that you had to work taking him up?
 
I don't know whether or not he should have a reduction:confused:

The Depot could still be in play and I seem to remember reading that with the higher the dose the more of an impact the depot can have on other cycles, can't remember where I read that or who was saying so don't know if that's true, hopefully you'll hear from the gurus soon;)

Why did you take the reduction?? I've lost track. was it cause of the drop on the 26 jan that you had to work taking him up?
Yes the reduction was for the 26. The next cycle on the 27 I shot the same dose to shoot through the bounce and then reduced on the PM of the 27th. This is only his 2nd cycle since the reduction.
 
Last edited:
Yes the reduction was for the 26. The next cycle on the 27 I shot the same dose to shoot through the bounce and then reduced on the PM of the 27th. This is only his cycle since the reduction.
that's kenda what I remembered, but with the roller coaster of FD I wasn't sure if I was remembering right. Has he come up yet?? guess you are waiting for +9.5
 
Found this in a sticky so, it looks like I should just shave the reduction because of them being so close together.


REDUCING THE DOSE: The TR Protocol is an aggressive method in itself. The modified version of the protocol is slightly more aggressive. Let's keep all our kitties in the Lantus & Levemir ISG safe by suggesting and taking appropriate reductions.



    • If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. See additional notes in the next paragraph about drops into the 20s and 30s. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.
 
Good catch!

He just went down to 43 @ +9, 2 tsps. HC and 1 tsp lc , I had a feeling.....So the question is this: he just had a reduction the cycle before this. Can he get another reduction this soon? I am very happy this is daytime instead of nighttime! No nap for me though.....
Talk to me about what happened this morning... "He threw up after his AM test".
Did you feed again and if so, did he keep it down?

What I'm trying to figure out... did he drop because he needs another reduction OR because he didn't have the usual amount of food on board?
 
Good catch!


Talk to me about what happened this morning... "He threw up after his AM test".
Did you feed again and if so, did he keep it down?

What I'm trying to figure out... did he drop because he needs another reduction OR because he didn't have the usual amount of food on board?
He threw up after I tested him for his AMPS , But it was before he ate. His breakfast stayed down, no problem.
 
He threw up after I tested him for his AMPS , But it was before he ate. His breakfast stayed down, no problem.
Hmm. Interesting.

We can't have him dropping into the 40s... especially at night. We also have the diminishing effects of the 5u dose still at work. Let's see how the rest of the cycle plays out, but I'd be inclined to take a little better than a shave simply to err on the side of caution. I'm not sure how long you can maintain the schedule you've been keeping and still be able to function (I'm trying to factor in all the variables, not necessarily following protocol to the letter).

Maybe shoot a fat 4.5 units. That's what I would do in your shoes, but what do you think?
 
Hmm. Interesting.

We can't have him dropping into the 40s... especially at night. We also have the diminishing effects of the 5u dose still at work. Let's see how the rest of the cycle plays out, but I'd be inclined to take a little better than a shave simply to err on the side of caution. I'm not sure how long you can maintain the schedule you've been keeping and still be able to function (I'm trying to factor in all the variables, not necessarily following protocol to the letter).

Maybe shoot a fat 4.5 units. That's what I would do in your shoes, but what do you think?
I was glad to see you popping in! Thanks Jill, and hope you are feeling better? That plan sounds good to make it a fat 4.5. So glad this was today and hopefully not to tonight but, I see it as progress and I am so excited!! :cat::joyful:
 
Congrats on handling the first under 50. Great job Bobbie! Good luck with the reduction. I am not surprised he wanted a little more juice off.

@Jill & Alex (GA) we can get email notifications too, if we ask for them.
I am thrilled! I usually don't test him till 9.5 and feed snack and today I had the feeling to test at +9, that's when he popped me the 43. Our first chartruese color :cat::D
 
Good to know he'll let you know when he is low.
How long do you think the effects of the 5 units will still be effecting things? Also, they is very little difference with a fat 4.5 and a 4.75. I really think I need to get calipers because there is a lot of wiggle room in these syringes (Relion)
 
How long do you think the effects of the 5 units will still be effecting things? Also, they is very little difference with a fat 4.5 and a 4.75. I really think I need to get calipers because there is a lot of wiggle room in these syringes (Relion)
To answer your first question, - ECID, but I bet you knew that answer. ;)The bigger depot can influence 4-6 cycles, tending to the longer time with the higher doses. More info on the Sticky What is the Insulin Depot?

I'm a big fan of calipers. I'm using the BD's, cause that's all we have in Canada, but they have longer skinnier barrels, so the lines are a little farther apart, which I like. But they are horribly inconsistent with the zero line. The syringe I used this morning had the bottom of the zero line about .5U above the bottom of the barrel. :rolleyes: Without calipers I would have shot .5U more than I meant to. The other thing I like about calipers is that when DH does the shot, I tell him to just use what the calipers say. :cool:
 
To answer your first question, - ECID, but I bet you knew that answer. ;)The bigger depot can influence 4-6 cycles, tending to the longer time with the higher doses. More info on the Sticky What is the Insulin Depot?

I'm a big fan of calipers. I'm using the BD's, cause that's all we have in Canada, but they have longer skinnier barrels, so the lines are a little farther apart, which I like. But they are horribly inconsistent with the zero line. The syringe I used this morning had the bottom of the zero line about .5U above the bottom of the barrel. :rolleyes: Without calipers I would have shot .5U more than I meant to. The other thing I like about calipers is that when DH does the shot, I tell him to just use what the calipers say. :cool:
Going to get some calipers, as I think it can make a huge diff when fine tuning. I will look at the sticky you linked again. Thanks Wendy.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top