? 1/28 Bella AMPS 66

Status
Not open for further replies.

JanetMR

Member Since 2017
Bella got back on Lantus last evening. 1/27. .1 unit.
BG prior to pm shot @ 6 pm : 255
8pm: +2 hrs 229
11pm: .+ 5 hrs 186
6am: +12 hrs 66

Obviously I’m not giving her an AM shot this morning.
My husband gave her small bit of honey, Karo and got her to eat licks of high carb wet food and some routissere chicken pieces.
Will recheck her BG frequently...
To make sure she’s going back up.
Any thoughts?
She’s is super sensitive to meds. ( duh)
Janet

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/help-with-micro-dosing.190228/#post-2120376
 
Last edited:
If you aren't giving her a shot this morning, there is no need to give honey as you don't want to send her to the moon. I would just feed her as normal. Chances are she will bounce and rise anyway and she will get a food hike from just eating her normal meal. Just to be sure, test her again 30 minutes after she eats to make sure the Lantus isn't still hanging with her.
 
When you get a chance, can you connect the last thread to this one.

Find your yesterday's thread. Open it up. In the browser at the top put your curser there and click, it will turn all blue. Then hit the Ctrl key and the C key. It will copy that link. Then come back to this page and edit your morning thread and in a blank space put your curser and then hit the Ctrl and V key which will copy the link .
 
If you aren't giving her a shot this morning, there is no need to give honey as you don't want to send her to the moon. I would just feed her as normal. Chances are she will bounce and rise anyway and she will get a food hike from just eating her normal meal. Just to be sure, test her again 30 minutes after she eats to make sure the Lantus isn't still hanging with her.

My husband fed her the honey and Kayro trying to be proactive.
I’m giving her pieces of routissere chicken.. won’t eat cat food this morning.
6:45 BG 98
I will check again in a half hour or so
 
Remember also that the 66 you got as a Amps is a safe number using a human meter.

Now she is 98? How long after her shot time would have been , +1? We talk in in plus talk as we are all in different time zones and we can understand better that way.
 
Remember also that the 66 you got as a Amps is a safe number using a human meter.

Now she is 98? How long after her shot time would have been , +1? We talk in in plus talk as we are all in different time zones and we can understand better that way.

I’m not sure what you are asking me.
She’s was 98 about 45 minutes after her first blood glucose of 66 at 6 am
( she got .1 unit of Lantus insulin at 6pm last evening)
 
For instance if I wanted the board to know what Bubba's number was two hours after his insulin, I would say " he was 76 @ +2". If I said he was 76 at 8 Am that doesn't help the peeps in Spain to know how my cycle is going with them in another time zone or someone on Pacific time here in the states. If it were 2n1/4 hours later , I would say +2.25.
Does that make sense. Another words you are talking in SS time so we are all on the same time frame.
 
For instance if I wanted the board to know what Bubba's number was two hours after his insulin, I would say " he was 76 @ +2". If I said he was 76 at 8 Am that doesn't help the peeps in Spain to know how my cycle is going with them in another time zone or someone on Pacific time here in the states. If it were 2n1/4 hours later , I would say +2.25.
Does that make sense. Another words you are talking in SS time so we are all on the same time frame.

Not operating on all cylinders
I get the + 2
The the + 2.25 makes no sense to me at all
Do you want the hours after last nights shot?
I didn’t give one this morning.
I’m just trying to convey the info as best I can
 
Good morning :cool:

Janet, does Bella eat at all overnight?
What is her typical feeding schedule?

I have three cats cats ALL on different foods.
I feed Bella when she is hungry. I cannot leave food out. She eats about every 2-3 hours during the day but give her her last meal between 10-11 pm
She eats small amounts frequently.
 
We exprrss BG to how many hours have passed since the last shot; +1, +2, etc
15 mins is .25, 30 mins is.5 and 45 min is .75

So since you skipped the (6am) shot this morning she is at +13.75 at 7:45am eastern.
 
She’s 102 at + 13.75 ( 7:45 am)
She’s not interested in eating. Should I try to keep feeding her?
Test in an hour?
 
She’s 102 at + 13.75 ( 7:45 am)
She’s not interested in eating. Should I try to keep feeding her?
Test in an hour?
Since you didn't shot this morning , I wouldn't worry to much that she's not interested in eating just yet. A test in a hour would be good to see how she's doing and maybe then she'll want to eat.
 
Since you didn't shot this morning , I wouldn't worry to much that she's not interested in eating just yet. A test in a hour would be good to see how she's doing and maybe then she'll want to eat.

This has been a repeating adventure.
She loses interest in food when her blood glucose levels drop to more “ normal” proportions. I cannot give her less insulin than I’m already giving her. I can not force feed her when she’s not eating.
I’m exhausted and frustrated.
I’m not sure that there is a point in continuing down this path.
 
This has been a repeating adventure.
She loses interest in food when her blood glucose levels drop to more “ normal” proportions. I cannot give her less insulin than I’m already giving her. I can not force feed her when she’s not eating.
I’m exhausted and frustrated.
I’m not sure that there is a point in continuing down this path.

+ 15 : 140
Ate about 2 tablespoons 6% carb fancy feast out of my hand
Urine ketones: negative.
 
I’m exhausted and frustrated.
I’m not sure that there is a point in continuing down this path.
How about some serious data gathering today? Feed as you normally do, making note of the times, amounts and carb content. Test every 2-3 hours and see where her BG goes. There may be important clues in the hours that make up those wide open empty spaces on the ss.

Try to get at least 1 ketone test each cycle.

Also check for the presence of what we call ‘the 5 Ps’ - Peeing, Pooping, Purring, Playing and Preening.

Question- How did you discover Bella was diabetic? What was her BG at diagnosis?

Hang in there, and hang in here.
 
I agree with Sandy. Hang in there sweetie. She has only been on a new food regime since Dec. 26 and on Lantus since January 16th. It takes their bodies a few months to get used to the insulin along with a new food and feeding schedule.
 
How about some serious data gathering today? Feed as you normally do, making note of the times, amounts and carb content. Test every 2-3 hours and see where her BG goes. There may be important clues in the hours that make up those wide open empty spaces on the ss.

Try to get at least 1 ketone test each cycle.

Also check for the presence of what we call ‘the 5 Ps’ - Peeing, Pooping, Purring, Playing and Preening.

Question- How did you discover Bella was diabetic? What was her BG at diagnosis?

Hang in there, and hang in here.

I will try to hang in there and to gather some data. I do keep detailed records of what she eats, how much etc. I will add the carb content.

Bella was diagnosed 12/23/17
Long story. Her cat sister ( not related) was diagnosed with bladder stones the end of November. I put all three cats on the new prescription diet thinking it would be easier.
( ha ha) I transitioned them over to the new food in a two week period. (Blue buffalo weight loss and urinary health dry) my other two cats tolerated the diet. Bella did not. Started vomiting.. lost weight. I switched her back to her old food ( IAms sensitive stomach dry with wet Friskies Pate supplemented)
Three days before Christmas Bella’s brother Ed had emergency surgery for bladder stones/urethra blockage ( the prescription food worked a little too well on him)
Bella refused food a day later and was diagnosed with diabetes. Her blood sugar at the time was 410. Fructosamine was 500
Total Christmas from hell
I hope this answers your question.

Bella seems ok today.. doing the 5 P’s though not with as much gusto as prior to her diagnosis.
 
I do keep detailed records of what she eats, how much etc. I will add the carb content.
Great!
To help us best help you, please incorporate those important details onto the ss either in the cell that corresponds with the timing of the meal/snack or in the remarks column.

Bella seems ok today.. doing the 5 P’s though not with as much gusto as prior to her diagnosis.
That's good news. All Ps present is a very good thing :cool:
 
Thanks for getting the feeding info onto the ss. Its a whole other picture when you evaluate a cycle seeing where the food fits in.

A couple small housekeeping items -
Please use +hours instead of times in your feeding notes. It is the universal language around here and makes it possible for any member anywhere in the world to quickly size things up.
Lastly, on the ss we indicate skipped shots with either 'NS' or 'skip' in the cell.
 
Boy, I say! Hugs :bighug:
Thanks for getting the feeding info onto the ss. Its a whole other picture when you evaluate a cycle seeing where the food fits in.

A couple small housekeeping items -
Please use +hours instead of times in your feeding notes. It is the universal language around here and makes it possible for any member anywhere in the world to quickly size things up.
Lastly, on the ss we indicate skipped shots with either 'NS' or 'skip' in the cell.

Ok.
You mean the times after her shot, is that correct?
She went from a BG of 66 this morning to 350 this evening. That is the highest I’ve ever tested at home. Needless to say I gave her insulin this evening. I’ve been feeding her a slightly higher carb food... should I decrease it to low? She’s hungry when her glucose is elevated not hungry when it’s low. I would think it would be the opposite.
Is this a “ normal” occurrence? ( the low- high numbers)
Be patient with me ...I’m learning the lingo plus everything else. It’s quite a bit of work.
 
You mean the times after her shot, is that correct?
Correct :cool:
She went from a BG of 66 this morning to 350 this evening. That is the highest I’ve ever tested at home.
Bella has likely been seeing those numbers, you just have not caught them. ;)
Going forward from here collect as much data as you can. Test strategically, sprinkling tests in different times on different days, so that when you take a step back from your screen and look at the overall ss, there are not any 'data deserts' (vast stretches of white) visible.
I’ve been feeding her a slightly higher carb food... should I decrease it to low?
Stay with the slightly higher for now. It may be the key to being able to get more insulin into her, which is what is needed to keep ahead of ketone formation.
She’s hungry when her glucose is elevated not hungry when it’s low. I would think it would be the opposite.
When BG is up, without enough insulin the glucose does not get converted to energy for her cells, no energy being delivered to the cells creates the hunger. When BG is normal, energy makes it into her cells and the hunger subsides.
Is this a “ normal” occurrence? ( the low- high numbers)
It is quite normal to go through a period of ups and downs until you get to know your cat and get into somewhat of a groove with the testing, shooting,feeding and dat collecting.
Be patient with me ...I’m learning the lingo plus everything else. It’s quite a bit of work.
You are doing a great job :bighug:
The presence of ketones makes things a bit more intense, unfortunately creating an 'initiation by fire' for you.
Keeping them at bay is a top priority for now.

gotta run-
BBL
 
Correct :cool:
Bella has likely been seeing those numbers, you just have not caught them. ;)
Going forward from here collect as much data as you can. Test strategically, sprinkling tests in different times on different days, so that when you take a step back from your screen and look at the overall ss, there are not any 'data deserts' (vast stretches of white) visible.
Stay with the slightly higher for now. It may be the key to being able to get more insulin into her, which is what is needed to keep ahead of ketone formation.

When BG is up, without enough insulin the glucose does not get converted to energy for her cells, no energy being delivered to the cells creates the hunger. When BG is normal, energy makes it into her cells and the hunger subsides.

It is quite normal to go through a period of ups and downs until you get to know your cat and get into somewhat of a groove with the testing, shooting,feeding and dat collecting.
You are doing a great job :bighug:
The presence of ketones makes things a bit more intense, unfortunately creating an 'initiation by fire' for you.
Keeping them at bay is a top priority for now.

gotta run-
BBL
Thanks
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top