1/28 Baby PMPS 253 +2 30 +2.15 55 +3.5 75 +6 115

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nicole & Baby

Member Since 2009
Good morning, LL
Baby seems to have some high AMPS #s the past few days - I think it is her LTS, but who knows.
Overall things are well & Baby is doing good IMHO

WCR Baby has had her breakfast & we are B2B

Wishing everyone a Beautiful, Blessed Day! cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 1/28 Baby AMPS 347 +3.5 236

Thank you to you both! I am hoping she passes LTS soon too, it seems we do good & then get high #s, I wish I could find a way to make her stay & not bounce :sad:

I know increasing the dose is not the answer, she seems to be on the right dose...
 
Re: 1/28 Baby AMPS 347 +3.5 236

You are right, she does seem to be on the right dose. I love how Monique said "she will be less rubbery". lol

The good thing is that Baby does seem to clear out those bounces pretty quickly. Look how great she has already done with just 3.5 hours!!!

Have a wonderful day......and Baby......you be a good girl k? cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 1/28 Baby AMPS 347 +3.5 236

Aww, thanks everyone! Just feeling a little defeated this morning after seeing her high AMPS #s the past 2 days, but when I look at the entire day - it is not bad. Just ready for less rubbery bouncing Baby.
 
Re: 1/28 Baby AMPS 347 +3.5 236 +6 248 Dosecrease?

Baby is on Fat .50 Doses, but I notice that her #s are still not greens & sometimes higher (pinks)
Other kitties that started about her time are on higher doses than her, do you think it is time to dosecrease?
 
Re: 1/28 Baby AMPS 347 +3.5 236 +6 248 Dosecrease?

Hi Nicole and Baby,

I am not sure what to make of Baby's ss. Yesterday and last Sunday she had an AMPS in the 300's, but then she dropped down into the green later that same day. Today, she looks like she is on the same path. She definitely is a bouncy girl.

Anyway, based on this history, I would be inclined to stick to the dose a few more days because maybe she will stop bouncing. But then again, this is what the protocol states:

If nadir blood glucose concentration < 200mg/dL but peak is >
200mg/dL (11 mmol/L)

Increase every 5-7 days by 0.25-0.5 IU depending on
if cat on low or high dose of insulin

After tonight's dose you will be through your 10th cycle at this dose and technically within protocol to bump up the dose a little, maybe just to a .75. But for me, I would probably still wait the full 7 days just to see what happens.
 
Re: 1/28 Baby AMPS 347 +3.5 236 +6 248 +9 174

Tina & Sami.. thank you for replying & your input.. we will see how tonight goes & what her AMPS # is in the morning :mrgreen:

You are right.. she sure does Bounce & I need some expert eyes! Thank you!
 
Re: 1/28 Baby AMPS 347 +3.5 236 +6 248 +9 174

Given her recent numbers, I would be inclined to hold the dose through tonight and see what it brings. You may need to increase soon if Baby doesn't show you some nadirs below 80 (we aim for about 50-80 at nadir), but she is getting green or close to it most days/nights. The higher AMPS numbers are a combination of liver training from the lower night numbers coupled with dawn phenomenon, which is common in many kitties.
 
Re: 1/28 Baby AMPS 347 +3.5 236 +6 248 +9 174

You can do it, Baby! Perhaps the bouncing is on it's last hop! :RAHCAT
 
Re: 1/28 Baby PMPS 253

Thanks, everyone. I just gave her evening injection & will see how it goes.. maybe with a dosecrease in the AM.
 
Re: 1/28 Baby PMPS 253 +1.45 70 ?? What?

OMG! There is your rubbery Baby!! Wow what is going on today??? That is awesome thought. Surf Baby surf!!!

ETA - she is telling you not to increase the dose :mrgreen:
 
Re: 1/28 Baby PMPS 253 +1.45 70 ?? What?

Paige, Amen sister! I think so....... geez. This is craziness... Baby & her bouncing.. I was gonna test at +3, but her literally flying around the apartment playing made me know something was up!
 
Re: 1/28 Baby PMPS 253 +1.45 70 ?? What?

I am starting to wonder if all these low numbers have anything to do with the full moon, which is tomorrow I think.
 
Re: 1/28 Baby PMPS 253 +1.45 70 ?? What?

Call me if you need to talk. YOu for my cell? I am about to run out to get some more strips and food in case webber keeps me up surfing those low numbers :-D
 
Re: 1/28 Baby PMPS 253 +1.45 70 ?? What?

Wow, Baby! That was a heck of a drop there... she must have heard you considering an increase and thought.... well, I'll show her, dose increase... I don't think so! Sheesh, these cats. :roll:

Nicole, you know the drill, lots 'o testing is a good thing. :lol:
 
Re: 1/28 Baby PMPS 253 +1.45 70 ?? What?

Don't forget - dose changes are based on nadir, not the pre-shot values (unless nadir IS your pre-shot, like with my kitty, but that's not the norm).

Congrats on more green!
 
Re: 1/28 Baby PMPS 253 +2 30

I guess the 70 was a good test. :roll:

See ya in 15.

And uh, no dose increase. :lol: How about a decrease instead?
 
Re: 1/28 Baby PMPS 253 +2 30 +2.15 55 Advice PLEASE

Hey furbaby family.. lil Drama Momma is back.. I am lost & confused.
Liver Training School is in full effect & now had to feed High Carb @ +2, I can only imagine the recipe for disaster tommorrow & so on. I know not to increase the dose, but if a Fat .50 gives AMPS of 300s lately & then we get here.. how in the heck is any educated decision made? I need help.. am feeling helpless.. :cry:
 
Re: 1/28 Baby PMPS 253 +2 30 +2.15 55 Advice PLEASE

I would test again 30 minutes after the last one. That is a bump from the HC food and she might drop again after the food wears off and as the insulin kicks in. Just stay on top of it (I know you will!). :smile:

I'll look at your SS, but don't worry too much about the AMPS numbers. They are the last to come down, it's not unusual for the AMPS to stay high when the nadirs are low, even on small doses.
 
Re: 1/28 Baby PMPS 253 +2 30 +2.15 55 Advice PLEASE

Baby earned a decrease with these numbers. So no, you don't increase!

The AMPS was a bounce from the green last night. Depending on where things are at in the morning, you can shoot the same dose as tonight to get through the rebound and you will shoot the decreased dose at PM. AMPS levels are also frequently the last to come down due to cortisol levels "waking up" in the mornings.

Am I understanding your question?
 
Re: 1/28 Baby PMPS 253 +2 30 +2.15 55 Advice PLEASE

Nicole & Baby said:
Hey furbaby family.. lil Drama Momma is back.. I am lost & confused.
Liver Training School is in full effect & now had to feed High Carb @ +2, I can only imagine the recipe for disaster tommorrow & so on. I know not to increase the dose, but if a Fat .50 gives AMPS of 300s lately & then we get here.. how in the heck is any educated decision made? I need help.. am feeling helpless.. :cry:

Scary times, but it looks like you handled it brilliantly.
 
Re: 1/28 Baby PMPS 253 +2 30 +2.15 55 +3.5 75 Advice PLEASE

(((Libby and Lucy))) & (((Sienne and Gabby))) (((Tina and Sami))) :YMHUG:

Thank you for being here when I needed someone. HC seems to have raised her #s, I need to step out for a few minutes. When should I test again? +6?
I know to shoot the same Fat .50 in the AM & then dosecrease for PM??? My head is spinning...
I do have to have a Pet Sitter come in for 3 Days next week for her PM shot.. am nervous about her BG Testing & doing it right.. I will be gone for over 12 hours.. should I just give 1 dose & forget the petsitter?

About tonight...

WCR Baby is literally Bouncing off the walls.... eating healthy.. LC now.. but BUSY! Baby is always active.. but I almsot wonder if low BG # gives them a "high" because she FLYS around the apartment when going low & that is how I know to test her......
 
Re: 1/28 Baby PMPS 253 +2 30 +2.15 55 +3.5 75 Advice PLEASE

Hi Nicole
I think Libby would like you to test again in 30 minutes from the last test. The HC bumped her up but she can drop again.
 
Re: 1/28 Baby PMPS 253 +2 30 +2.15 55 +3.5 75 Advice PLEASE

Nicole - worry about the sitter on SUnday. You may be well past this by then. I think they said go ahead and give the fat 0.5 in the AM if she is high (which she seems to be lately) and give 0.5 in the PM.

Breathe, you are doing great. You have been here before . She will be ok and you will be okay too. 75 is a good number. Test again in 30 to see if it sticks. You did not give her too much so hopefully her 30 was the lowest she will go. I;m thinking of you ((((huggs))))
 
Re: 1/28 Baby PMPS 253 +2 30 +2.15 55 +3.5 75 Advice PLEASE

How long will you be gone for this evening?

This early in the cycle with low numbers you want to monitor fairly closely. Like Miriam said, the numbers can still surprise you (not that they didn't already!) so get another test in. If you need to be gone for a while (more than an hour), I would feed some MC just to be safe.

Re. the AM, you can shoot the current dose IF there's a bounce. If not, shoot the reduced dose. All of our cats have "tells" -- the behaviors they do when their numbers are low. Baby flies around your apartment. Gabby follows me to the kitchen and sits in front of her bowl looking pathetic. It's both an ECID thing and you knowing your cat!

Paige is right - one thing at a time. Keep steering Baby's numbers. We can help you with the petsitter once your head stops spinning!
 
Re: 1/28 Baby PMPS 253 +2 30 +2.15 55 +3.5 75 Advice PLEASE

Cannot read answers right now.. my grandmother just fell.. have to take her to the ER.. will test real quick right now & try to be back soon...
 
Re: 1/28 Baby PMPS 253 +2 30 +2.15 55 +3.5 75 Advice PLEASE

I am back & am trying not to make this about me.. Grandma broke her wrist.. Baby is good...
Eating & alert & surfing......(((Thank you)))
 
(((Miriam and Putty)))
Thank you.. always healthy.. but in the ER the past 3 weeks... wondering if she is lonely or real reasons? Tonight was real.. I worry.. thank you...
 
(((Nicole))) I am sorry to hear about your grandma.

Baby is doing great. Is she holding on her own? Eating as needed or are you having to intervene?
 
Baby's numbers are rising very nicely. This is a relief with all you are going through. (((Nicole)))
So sorry about your grandmother's broken wrist.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top