Karen Mulholland
Member Since 2017
Rocky AMPS is 167 should I shoot. He has a HX of low #'s nervous to do that under 250. He has just had 1/3 can FF. Thank you
The low numbers you saw with switching insulin is not completely surprising. Many cats have a dramatic response to a switch in insulin and then numbers come back up.
Let me make a couple of observations. The low numbers you saw with switching insulin is not completely surprising. Many cats have a dramatic response to a switch in insulin and then numbers come back up. There's no way to know whether that's the case. However, I would encourage you to routinely get some tests throughout the cycle in addition to your pre-shot tests. Lantus dosing is based on the lowest number in the cycle -- not the pre-shot values. This is one of the ways Lantus differs from Novolin.
When you're nervous about shooting and are stalling, you do NOT want to feed your cat. Despite Rocky knowing when it's breakfast time, if you feed your cat, you are going to test and get a food influenced number. If you decide to stall until you see numbers rising, don't feed your cat!!
It also helps to remember that Lantus doesn't "kick in" for roughly 2 hours. It's onset is delayed. This is another difference from Novolin. With Novolin, you have to have food on board before you shoot. Most of us test, feed, and shoot all within minutes. In the situation with a lower than expected pre-shot, it helps to remember that the number you're shooting is hours away. In addition, over those 2 hrs, you will be feeding your cat and it is the end of the cycle for the previous dose so numbers should be coming up.
If you opt to follow Tight Regulation, when you're new to Lantus, we suggest you post and ask for input if numbers are below 150; which Start Low, Go Slow, the point for input is 200.
I would suggest you get another test and let us know where Rocky's numbers are despite the food. Alternatively, like others noted, if you'll be home, are available to monitor and have plenty of supplies (strips and high carb food) should you need it, then 167 is likely a very shootable number.
I saw this with my kitty-- she dropped right down to greens on the first Lantus shot, and I thought I was home-free on the way to remission. She did get there, but it took a few months of yellows and pinks along the way, it was quite a while before I saw anything like the numbers she got on that very first shot. As Sienne says, there's no way to know if Rocky's dive on his first shot is due to this kind of reaction, but just to reassure you that it's not at all unusual, and to give you some more confidence to shoot lower numbers.
Even if you don't end up shooting today, it would be good to grab a test or two, just to see what Rocky is doing. It all helps to fill out the picture and figure out what he's doing.
Karen --
How many hours past your usual time die your shoot? (It looks like you shot 2 hrs late?) The headache with stalling is that your PM shot is due at 9:30 PM. You can move your shot time either by 15 min every shot until you're back on schedule or by 30 min once a day. Will your schedule be able to accommodate the change in shot time? If not, you may have been better off skipping the shots You may need to skip this evening in order to get back on schedule.
FYI - the 167 isn't your AMPS. It would be your +12. The AMPS would be the actual number you shot -- the 141. If you look at Gabby's SS, you can see how I stacked numbers in the cells. You'll need to manually color the cell if you stack the numbers.