1/28/18 - Luci AMPS 126.3+ 101, 7+204, PMPS 416,3+259,5+186

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm disappointed to see that Luci is just not letting go of those 100's and 200's - do you think it's time to increase her insulin by .25?

If not now, when should I consider? Every now and then she'll take a dip into the green pool...but for whatever reason isn't comfortable there and just can't stay for very long...

Please advise.
 
Hi. She did have that 82 for PMPS the other night. You just have to be patient and let her body work out the panicking part.
 
Hi. She did have that 82 for PMPS the other night. You just have to be patient and let her body work out the panicking part.
I guess she's really panicking now...and I don't feel good about her last number either. This is the first time I've seen it that high...even when she was stressed at the vet it was in the 370's...never before in the 400's ... poor baby :(
 
I guess she's really panicking now...and I don't feel good about her last number either. This is the first time I've seen it that high...even when she was stressed at the vet it was in the 370's...never before in the 400's ... poor baby :(
Sue, I know it sucks. But I'll say from experience, that number is not your fault, Luci has to bounce her own way, and it won't be permanent. :bighug:Myagi gave me red on new years day and I was freaked! And everyone told me breathe and wait fur the bounce to clear. And lo and behold... You'll be fine (and so will Luci). :bighug:
 
Please advise.
Next time you want dose advice - modify the subject prefix to "?" and add something like - "dose advice" to the subject line so people know you are looking for help. For those of us who scan the board for who needs help, it'll get our eyes on you.

First, did you retest that 416? Sometimes you can get wonky strips. There is also a phenomenon where some cats will go high before they go low. You should find out tonight if Luci is one of those types of cats. Neko was. I had to learn to hold the dose when she gave me an out of character high number as it was her warning signal.

Are you following SLGS or TR for dosing? It'll help us help you if you put either SLGS or TR in your signature, so we know at a glance. I'm going to guess TR cause you are holding the dose for greens below 90. In that case, and if she doesn't give you a lower green by end of tomorrow, I'd increase.
 
Next time you want dose advice - modify the subject prefix to "?" and add something like - "dose advice" to the subject line so people know you are looking for help. For those of us who scan the board for who needs help, it'll get our eyes on you.

First, did you retest that 416? Sometimes you can get wonky strips. There is also a phenomenon where some cats will go high before they go low. You should find out tonight if Luci is one of those types of cats. Neko was. I had to learn to hold the dose when she gave me an out of character high number as it was her warning signal.

Are you following SLGS or TR for dosing? It'll help us help you if you put either SLGS or TR in your signature, so we know at a glance. I'm going to guess TR cause you are holding the dose for greens below 90. In that case, and if she doesn't give you a lower green by end of tomorrow, I'd increase.

I did not retest at the time of getting that high number.
I'm not sure what you mean 'hold the dose' . Are you saying 'withhold her insulin' if she's that high why would I do that?
I do not know which SLGS or TR I'm following for dosing - I took a look at those and if it's about testing I test as often as possible.
I have never withheld a dose based on any number. We've never gotten a number below 50 - which is the only time I would consider not giving insulin, but instead feed her FF with gravy and/or a bit of honey or karo syrup...check again and then shoot...haven't had to cross that bridge yet.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top