1/27 Tiki AMPS 300, +8 246, PMPS 229, +5 48, Dose Question??

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 1/27 Tiki AMPS 300, +8 246, PMPS 229, +5 48, Dose Questi

Nice catch Tonya! Come up a little and surf please Tiki. :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Since Tiki was first diagnosed over a year ago, he could be considered a long term diabetic. From the protocol with relevant bit bolded:
Reducing the dose:

If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit.
It looks like you have the option of waiting for a drop into the 30's or sneaking the dose down instead of doing a full .25U decrease. Or you could try the decrease again - sometimes kitties need to go up again before going down.
 
Re: 1/27 Tiki AMPS 300, +8 246, PMPS 229, +5 48, Dose Questi

Tonya, just wondering, after looking at Tiki's spreadsheet - did you retest to make sure that 48 was accurate? I have discovered more and more lately that an surprising number can be an invalid one. ohmygod_smile I'd hate to see you base a dosing decision on a number that wasn't what you think it was. Just thought I'd throw that in. Good luck, whatever you decide. :-D
 
Re: 1/27 Tiki AMPS 300, +8 246, PMPS 229, +5 48, Dose Questi

That was a good catch! Wendy's right -- the rules are a little different for a longer term diabetic and/or a kitty that's back from the Falls. Either Tiki needs to drop below 40 or you hold the dose for 3 drops between 40 - 50 or you are working really hard to keep the numbers up.
 
Re: 1/27 Tiki AMPS 300, +8 246, PMPS 229, +5 48, Dose Questi

Ok, will hold firm at 3.0. I wont be around today to monitor so I hope today's bounce (AMPS = 400) sticks around and keeps him high. nailbite_smile
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top