1/27 Sullivan AMBG 111, PMBG 107 (no shots)

SullivansDad

Member Since 2020
Yesterday's post.

Sullivan tested at 111 this morning despite testing at 134 last night and not receiving any insulin. We did not shoot and are awaiting a call from his doctor. His normal dose is 2.5 units of Lantus.

How abnormal is it for his BG to come down further after 12 hours with no insulin (he has not had an insulin injection since 7:15pm on Saturday; the test this morning was at 6:45am)? Is this happening because of the Lantus "depot", or is it an indication that he's producing his own insulin and possibly heading toward remission (not there yet, but heading that direction?)?
 
Dang, just heard from his vet's office that the doctor is out of the office today. I don't want to set our guy back by missing doses, but I'd rather do that than risk him going too low.
 
Out of curiosity, what was his Vetsulin dose? Just wondering how the 2.5 units Lantus was arrived at. And was that the dose all of January?

As for numbers coming down, it could be his pancreas is sputtering. Though typically we take the dose down more gradually, to give the pancreas support as long as safely possible, to allow it to fully heal. The Lantus depot takes 4-6 cycles to deplete, so you should have a good idea what he is doing on his own tomorrow.
 
One more thing, could you change the subject line on your first post to read AMBG (blood glucose) instead of AMPS. That’s an indication you did not shoot.

Go Sullivan!
 
Out of curiosity, what was his Vetsulin dose? Just wondering how the 2.5 units Lantus was arrived at. And was that the dose all of January?

As for numbers coming down, it could be his pancreas is sputtering. Though typically we take the dose down more gradually, to give the pancreas support as long as safely possible, to allow it to fully heal. The Lantus depot takes 4-6 cycles to deplete, so you should have a good idea what he is doing on his own tomorrow.

He was on 2 units of Vetsulin from 10/29/19 through 12/20/19. On the night of 12/20, he went into this weird mode where he was like a zombie on speed for lack of a better description and was unresponsive to us as he paced the house. We suspected hypo and handfed him a big bowl full of high carb food and took him to the ER. He tested at 115 there about 45 minutes after chowing down on two days worth of Purina Cat Chow Indoor. They said no more insulin for at least a week and until we could see his vet. His vet's office said they couldn't see him for a month, so we got a new vet on 12/30. In that meantime, his Pu/Pd increased dramatically, so definitely still quite diabetic. Based on history and his test results at the new vet, they started him on 2.5 units of Lantus on 12/31. We were supposed to do a curve after two weeks, but we could never get blood. We kept trying every Saturday and Sunday until we finally got blood yesterday morning and now haven't given insulin since Saturday night.

He just tested 107.
 
If he went hypo on 2 units of Vetsulin, then 2.5 units of Lantus was way too much. Typically we use the dose of the previous insulin type. Well, sounds like Sullivan did OK and he was a lucky boy you started home testing.
 
I left out probably one of the most important factors in his dose: diet. He was on Friskies Pate the whole time he was on Vetsulin but gradually ate less and less, and at the end it was a battle just to get him to eat half a can a day. That was likely a large part of the presumed-hypo event. He has eaten Hills m/d dry the whole time he's been on Lantus. It's not ideal, but he actually eats it well.
 
Back
Top