1/27 Rooh AMPS 438 +6 473...have questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jmeli

Member Since 2014
I was out all day and not able to get any more tests in. Rooh's been on 3.25u for 5 cycles now, a decrease from 3.5. He hit black last night. I need thoughts on keeping him here, reduce, or increase?

I did give skinny shots the last 2 cycles because i shot a little earlier than 15 mins. I am still learning but thought if shooting early is like a dose increase that maybe i should skinny it up. Someone please throw a snowball at me if that was a bad idea.

My gut is telling me to give 3.25u a few more cycles but I could use y'alls opinions since I am still so new at this.
 
A couple of things....

First, I don't see any numbers over 500 last night. In fact, there's nothing on your SS from PMPS yesterday forward. It's hard to respond to your question about dose without the info on Rooh's SS.

No doubt the high numbers last night were due to Rooh dropping almost 300 points during the AM cycle. Big drops like that cause big bounces!

If you shoot within 30 min. of your usual shot time it shouldn't have an effect on the numbers. "Adjusting" the dose to try to account for not being consistent with shot time usually results in especially wonky numbers. Inconsistent dose and inconsistent shot time amounts to a double whammy on the numbers.

I agree about holding the dose. You don't want to increase until the bounce clears.
 
Sienne - Sorry about that, I know darn well i updated that spreadsheet a few hours ago. I guess it didn't save, but i just updated it again. Thanks for your input. The vetty left me vm today and suggested we drop the dose to 2.75u because of his low a few days ago. I never got the chance to call her back but do not understand why she wants to drop it so much.
 
Most vets tell us to keep in higher numbers because most people don't home test (of course if more vets would suggest it, that could change!!)

They are more interested in keeping them "safe" (but in higher numbers).

Most of us are more interested in getting them into remission if at all possible!
 
I plan to take Rooh to a specialist soon - something has caused his FD and I have a gut feeling it wasn't HC food but something much deeper. I am just not sure where i want to take him. If anyone knows a good DVM to suggest in Houston, TX or surrounding area please chime in.
 
Last edited:
Hopefully you'll hit a dose that gives you good, consistent results soon.

I've often had trouble with the SS not retaining info I know I've entered...it sits there forever "thinking", then decides it can't save what I entered. It's been better lately, but I bet something like that happened with Rooh's SS.

One other SS note: since you did shoot skinny for a few shots, it would be helpful to enter that information directly in the dose column, and then add a note as to why you shot a reduced dose in the notes. When the SS loads, the notes are cut off to the side and if you hadn't mentioned you shot skinny, I wouldn't have noticed the note. That will help make things more visible to folks who are checking things out for you.

When you shot tonight, Rooh was lower than he was earlier today, so he could still be on a downward trend...keep an eye on things, and don't be fooled just because he started out in the pinks - Rooh has proven he can drop quickly when he wants to!
 
Thanks Amy,

I will keep an eye out and i always check him before i head to bed. The past few days I have been trying to ween myself off of hovering over him and testing him every 2 hrs. to give his ears a break . I think i was becoming obsessed with testing. :D

I know i should have gotten a +11 but it slipped past me.
 
Tonight would be 3 nights past the low numbers on 1/24. It doesn't look like he's cleared the bounce that caused yet, although he did have blue numbers yesterday's day cycle. I don't *think* that was the bounce clearing.

I would definitely test tonight - if i were a betting person, i'd bet that you'll see lower numbers between now and morning. But Rooh's in charge, so i could be wrong.
 
Oh never mind, i reread it 3 times and caught the bounce info. Im tired.. off to bed soon for a nap.
 
there's a difference between waiting for a bounce to clear. when you reduce the dose, you want to see where the blood sugar lands after the bounce clears before you decide that it is a failed reduction.

as long as Rooh was in green numbers 3 nights ago, and as high as he went afterwards, my assumption is that we're looking at highs from bouncing. You want to wait until the bounce clears to see if he can hold the dose reduction and continue on in green numbers. If he doesn't get to green by tomorrow night, then you could go back up in dose tomorrow night, because that's plenty long enough for the bounce to clear.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top