? 1/27 Pudge AMPS 195 His BG is sonhigh (for us) rn.. and afraid i heard a cough tonite..

kitten68

Member Since 2024
1/26/26 Prev Thread Pudgles

.. i gave him Mirataz last night and he seemed better, his numbers went down too and i could tell he felt better.. and this morning he seemed like i had to coax eating, tho he did eat, got his shot, but now he doesnt wanna eat much. He ate some.. but not a lot. I dont know what to do.. 😥 hes sleeping a lot.. his PS is s bit high (for us) again too…

Last night the Mirataz got rubbed off a little cuz i forgot its his testing ear.. and maybe w some tests it got rubbed off more.. but i tried waiting at least an hour.. theres so much to remember i remembered after to try to get it on the sides…… idk if from this his dose was less.. 😭

I dont know what to do anymore.. i regret a few things and feel like some things got by me.. but ive been trying and hes been trying so hard..

Im making him treats.. and feel like its a waste of time.

idk what to do. im so sad. :(
 
Last edited:
1/26/26 Prev Thread Pudgles

.. i gave him Mirataz last night and he seemed better, his numbers went down too and i could tell he felt better.. and this morning he seemed like i had to coax eating, tho he did eat, got his shot, but now he doesnt wanna eat much. He ate some.. but not a lot. I dont know what to do.. 😥 hes sleeping a lot..

Last night the Mirataz got rubbed off a little cuz i forgot its his testing ear.. and maybe w some tests it got rubbed off more.. but i tried waiting at least an hour.. theres so much to remember i remembered after to try to get it on the sides…… idk if from this his dose was less.. 😭

I dont know what to do anymore.. i regret a few things and feel like some things got by me.. but ive been trying and hes been trying so hard..

Im making him treats.. and feel like its a waste of time.

idk what to do. im so sad. :(
You're doing as well as any of us can possibly do. You are watching over Pudge 24/7 and working around the clock to give care and ask questions and decipher information.
That's all anyone could possibly do!

I hope he likes the treats, maybe that will entice him to have a nice snack.
Sending you both big hugs. Pudge, please eat :kiss: :bighug: :kiss: :bighug: 💕 💕
 
Have you tried to entice him with Gerbers ham baby food? Lotus raw sardines? Both are helping when Chai is turning away from her food. Stop being so hard on yourself. You are doing a wonderful job with a complicated situation. 💕
 
You're doing as well as any of us can possibly do. You are watching over Pudge 24/7 and working around the clock to give care and ask questions and decipher information.
That's all anyone could possibly do!

I hope he likes the treats, maybe that will entice him to have a nice snack.
Sending you both big hugs. Pudge, please eat :kiss: :bighug: :kiss: :bighug: 💕 💕
ty so so so much.. its just us two here and its hard. :( he ended up eating!! he ate pretty well.. he did eat the treats i made him.

hes walking around tho.. moving from spot to spot. idk :( i made him an appt today..
 
Have you tried to entice him with Gerbers ham baby food? Lotus raw sardines? Both are helping when Chai is turning away from her food. Stop being so hard on yourself. You are doing a wonderful job with a complicated situation. 💕
turns out hes ok eating now 😭 im seeing sometimes he might not eat as much, next he’ll eat well.. shrug.

tysm for your words and encouragement.. 💘💘 means a lot. this has been hard. (thanks for helping us whenever u can/could..)

hes like restless a little, stays in one spot.. then moves to another.. hes alert tho. maybe hes dehydrated.. i meant to give fluids yesterday but his BG has distracted me a bit and i checked his little skin didnt seem too bad.. hes been withdrawn so i didnt want to stress him.. hope didnt mess that up. Have an appt today.. gonna see if can go in sooner. 😥
 
::update::

so decided go take peanut in.. he was like moving place to place.. seemed tired. hes eating tho!! Yayy..

but went very well.. he just got checked over and went over my concerns. he DOES have a heart murmur….. grade 2/3.. but vet says its very light. these fluids should be safe. i wont do more than 50 mL at one time.. he also got his fluids there. doc says hes doing all right haha.. didnt say much on minor leakage.. but to just monitor. heart is good, lungs good.. not too dehydrated or constipated. yayy.. couldtn say on why earlier a little restless etc.. he did relax later tho. 💘 i hear kidney things can affect many systems.. (spoke to his er nurse too. followed up on regimens.. she helped too.)

picked up some more medication. CERENIA.. woof.. but he need it. glad to have Ondansetron too.. and added another week of the Zenequin antibiotics.. any thoughts? 💭 thinking 3 weeks might be a nice medium.. to see improvement.. 🫶🏼 we go back in next week.. test blood. ☃️ im glad went in.. helps me feel a little better too.. and so glad for here. i cant tell ya. ❤️‍🔥

will be adding a few drops of fish oil and his Thistle back.. on top Kidney Support Gold.. i think the method is start w 1.. then add over several days.. once settled.. begin another?

hope all faring ok. got some cool weather down here rn. certainly not as cold tho upstate. hope all faring ok. 🥶
 
I'm so glad the appointment went well and that Pudge is eating! I know how hard it is when it's just the two of you and there are so many things to keep track of and try to understand. :bighug:
 
He had some nice blues this cycle, and a very brief green nadir, so that was nice! Seems to be feeling good overall, though I'm a little worried that his cheek is really crusty again. All in all, just glad we have an appointment with his vet in the morning!
i know thats right!! 💘🫶🏼 hope it goes very well!!!
 
Did the vet talk about more details of the heart murmur and fluids? I’ve heard online that that’s a no-go, but I’d be curious since you mention stages, maybe there’s some nuance to it rather than a hard yes/no. I suppose I could do some more reading.

Sounds like a pretty good report today. Great job managing everything :bighug:
 
There is more to it that just having a heart murmur means you can't give fluids. It depends on what is causing the heart murmur. It can be due to just age related changes, in which case fluids may be fine. However, you really need an echocardiogram, preferably by a cardiology vet, to tell you what is causing the murmur. And whether it's OK to give fluids, or for them to have anesthesia, or steroids. All three of those can be problematic with certain heart conditions. Neko had a murmur for two years before her heart got worse to the point that fluids caused her heart failure. And her heart could no longer stand anesthesia or prednisolone.

As far as the increase goes, with blue nadirs you can increase after 6-10 nadirs. I held a little longer for lower blues, but you know your cat best.
 
I agree with Wendy. Not all heart murmurs indicate heart disease. You can’t tell without a cardiac ultrasound. It’s good to hear about his eating! Thank you for keeping us posted!
 
There is more to it that just having a heart murmur means you can't give fluids. It depends on what is causing the heart murmur. It can be due to just age related changes, in which case fluids may be fine. However, you really need an echocardiogram, preferably by a cardiology vet, to tell you what is causing the murmur. And whether it's OK to give fluids, or for them to have anesthesia, or steroids. All three of those can be problematic with certain heart conditions. Neko had a murmur for two years before her heart got worse to the point that fluids caused her heart failure. And her heart could no longer stand anesthesia or prednisolone.

As far as the increase goes, with blue nadirs you can increase after 6-10 nadirs. I held a little longer for lower blues, but you know your cat best.
oh my 😭🫶🏼 well.. sigh. primary said its ok.. esp at 50 mL.. the ER vet suggested 120 (!) mL.. so idk. ill look into maybe getting him an echo.. 😕 he needs fluids tho.. (?) what ton do?

thanks! i finally tracked down the page.. but did remember this. we’ve increased after 6 w green nadirs so i increased tonite.. 😇🫶🏼
 
I agree with Wendy. Not all heart murmurs indicate heart disease. You can’t tell without a cardiac ultrasound. It’s good to hear about his eating! Thank you for keeping us posted!
i been nervous about it since Wendy shared it w me…. so i should try to get one?.. 😕💟

i am so glad.. 🫶🏼😭 i was afraid he was having trouble.. and of course!! haha.. i appreciate the support here a lot.. 🥹💘 thanks.

thing is.. can a kitty be on Mirataz, Cerenia, etc, if needed, long term too?.. thats ok?
 
I would get the echo. Max had a benign heart murmur checked out by an echo and for years fluids were fine. I lost him at 19 when he developed a different type of murmur and although he had ckd could not have fluids.
 
I would get the echo. Max had a benign heart murmur checked out by an echo and for years fluids were fine. I lost him at 19 when he developed a different type of murmur and although he had ckd could not have fluids.
im so sorry.. 🫶🏼😭 ok 💘😭 will try.. the only thing is that idk when the appt will be…. what to donin the meantime?.. no fluids? :(
 
@Wendy&Neko @Suzanne & Darcy @tiffmaxee

will try to get the echo.. only thing is idk when the appt will be because theyre backed up for months.. going to call tmw.

his glucose is terrible, too, rn.. idk what to do. :( hes congested w a little something.. i also heard what im not sure was a cough or a sneeze when he was drinking water tonite….. 🤡
 
idk what to do. i went to bed around 2, fed him, and woke up a bit ago and his number is 241 rn…… hes not eating great. hes also congested.. lungs ok, but is congested.. and i think i heard a cough/sneeze when he was drinking water.. hopefully its not heart related.. not being able to smell good affects eating, too.

is it the insulin?.. it accidentally got left out like over 30 min yesterday morning… but thats supposed to be ok. if its back in the fridge within an hour. its a brand new pen too.

i understand we really need to get an echo.. idk when appts will be. idk what to do! his number is terrible!! :(
 
..are we dealing with glucose toxicity?.. this is my fault for not increasing sooner and for briefly misunderstanding increases.. how do we get out if this now? :(
 
Any kind of infection, inflammation, pain etc can elevate numbers. It's also not unusual for a cat's insulin requirements to go up and down over time. For whatever reason he came down from 5U to 1.75U. The reductions you took after that didn't hold. Not blaming you. You have a lot to deal with and are doing the best you can. :bighug:

It's possible he might go up a bit more in dose or he might decide that 1.75U or thereabouts works for him.

Just keep increasing as per the protocol. While his numbers are higher than his usual norm range, they are below 200 which is good in terms of being below his renal threshold.
 
Any kind of infection, inflammation, pain etc can elevate numbers. It's also not unusual for a cat's insulin requirements to go up and down over time. For whatever reason he came down from 5U to 1.75U. The reductions you took after that didn't hold. Not blaming you. You have a lot to deal with and are doing the best you can. :bighug:

It's possible he might go up a bit more in dose or he might decide that 1.75U or thereabouts works for him.

Just keep increasing as per the protocol. While his numbers are higher than his usual norm range, they are below 200 which is good in terms of being below his renal threshold.
hiiii 🫶🏼💖💖 ahh.. right.. :( and noo right they wouldnt hold; only reduced because of trying to get his eating ok again and the new health things.. health reasons. went right back when could.. wish had done a few days sooner tho. :( thanks for the encouragement.. have been hard on myself.

exactly; didnt get a chance to sit in the 1.5 u properly.. so i wasnt too surprised to go back up more a bit.. hoping 1.75 u works for him too.

ive been doing best to keep them under 200-220 but hes 241 tonite.. alarming. :(
 
Last edited:
Any kind of infection, inflammation, pain etc can elevate numbers. It's also not unusual for a cat's insulin requirements to go up and down over time. For whatever reason he came down from 5U to 1.75U. The reductions you took after that didn't hold. Not blaming you. You have a lot to deal with and are doing the best you can. :bighug:

It's possible he might go up a bit more in dose or he might decide that 1.75U or thereabouts works for him.

Just keep increasing as per the protocol. While his numbers are higher than his usual norm range, they are below 200 which is good in terms of being below his renal threshold.
sorry didnt answer sooner.. was resting my eyes for 20-30 min then feeding him and getting him his Cerenia.. i dont like no gaps in dose w that. ❤️‍🩹 (he ate well 😭 and got his medicine.. ❤️‍🔥)
 
Any kind of infection, inflammation, pain etc can elevate numbers. It's also not unusual for a cat's insulin requirements to go up and down over time. For whatever reason he came down from 5U to 1.75U. The reductions you took after that didn't hold. Not blaming you. You have a lot to deal with and are doing the best you can. :bighug:

It's possible he might go up a bit more in dose or he might decide that 1.75U or thereabouts works for him.

Just keep increasing as per the protocol. While his numbers are higher than his usual norm range, they are below 200 which is good in terms of being below his renal threshold.
he was coming down prior to his pressure worsening last year; i think helping his pressure get better thus helped his numbers 😇 its possible.. i understand for some they didnt see a difference, but high BP isnt good to have generally. harms your veins, can cause insulin resistance, etc.. 😕 im hoping thats what we continue to see and recover.. i check his BP at home and see good numbers.. idk. 🙃
 
He is doing really well. Let’s look forward to seeing some green now that he’s back on the 1.75 unit dose, but even if he stays in mostly blue, there’s nothing wrong with that. He has a lot going on, and he’s very fortunate to have you dedicated to taking care of him.
 
@Wendy&Neko @Suzanne & Darcy @tiffmaxee

will try to get the echo.. only thing is idk when the appt will be because theyre backed up for months.. going to call tmw.

his glucose is terrible, too, rn.. idk what to do. :( hes congested w a little something.. i also heard what im not sure was a cough or a sneeze when he was drinking water tonite….. 🤡
This little cough or sneeze could just be a little water up his nose, right? If he has a persistent cough then I would worry, but not the occasional sneeze.
 
He is doing really well. Let’s look forward to seeing some green now that he’s back on the 1.75 unit dose, but even if he stays in mostly blue, there’s nothing wrong with that. He has a lot going on, and he’s very fortunate to have you dedicated to taking care of him.
u think so???.. tysm for that.. idk im panicking w some of these mid yellows.. :( freaks me out.. i try to make sure he eats..

thanks for saying blue is ok too. 🥲 he feels better in lower numbers..
 
This little cough or sneeze could just be a little water up his nose, right? If he has a persistent cough then I would worry, but not the occasional sneeze.
🫶🏼 yes sure could.. am just freaked out. cuz it was a little cough. none ive heard since.. but all this fluids and getting and echo has worried me.. :/
 
I’d see if your vet can get you in to a cardiologist for an echo. In the meantime I would not give more than 100 ml fluids a day and maybe divide into 50 twice a day to play it safe. The murmur could be totally benign. I don’t want to raise your stress level. I would want to get it checked out though.
 
I’d see if your vet can get you in to a cardiologist for an echo. In the meantime I would not give more than 100 ml fluids a day and maybe divide into 50 twice a day to play it safe. The murmur could be totally benign. I don’t want to raise your stress level. I would want to get it checked out though.
ok 😭💘.. I'll see.
 
Back
Top