1/27 Morris AMPS 248, +8~55

Status
Not open for further replies.

Brenda and Morris

Member Since 2009
Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=4054

Good morning LLanders! ~O)

Another day here in Liquipoo Land...almost a month of it and I'm ready for it to stop. I have started up the probiotics again to see if maybe his colon is less populated with bad stuff and give the good stuff a chance to grow....this is how I think of it anyway. Will get a stool sample on Friday and have tested to see. :roll:

WCR: Morris continues to improve in all other areas except the LB. He's more interested in his food and cuddles with me in bed at night...still isn't playing with his toys, but that day will come too.

To reply to Sienne's post in yesterday's condo:

I transitioned Gabby to raw a few months ago. Well, let me restate that...I switched her to raw. Given Morris' issues with liquipoo, I'd really suggest making a slow transition. Gabby did have problems with diarrhea after starting raw but it was an abrupt change vs. a transition because she really liked it! I beliebe Dr. Lisa's site discusses the transition. Once those couple of weeks passed, there were no poo problems. Be aware that there will be less poo since more of what's being eaten is being absorbed and there is less odor.

I initially purchased a frozen brand recommended on Dr. Lisa's site. My guys did not like Natural Instinct raw. I've started making my own. I buy a premix for the vitamins and supplements that are needed and just grind up chicken and freeze it in a measured out quantity. My guys still get bites of FF as snacks but their major meals are raw.

I also switched Morris to raw last summer when I began feeding low carb and purchased Felines Pride, the one Dr. Lisa recommends. He took to it rather fast and the only physical difference I saw was the smaller poos. Unfortunately, my second batch of $120 worth of food came in completely defrosted and had to be thrown away. Since I didn't have a local source and wasn't ready to make my own, I put him back on FF.

Now that I have discovered a local holistic pet food place, I am putting him back on raw. It's a different brand, the Natures Instinct that you mention, and so far he's eating it mixed about half and half with Wellness canned. He's only snacking on it at this point and doesn't gobble it down but he doesn't really eat much of anything with gusto these days. I'm just glad if he eats "something" and if it's low carb so much the better.

Well, that's it for our fun-filled condo this morning...will check back later.dancing_cat
 

Attachments

  • Chaos resized.jpg
    Chaos resized.jpg
    5.9 KB · Views: 128
Re: 1/27 Morris AMPS 248

Glad Morris is doing a little better...those cuddles are really great for you!
You have worked so hard to help him over these past weeks....he knows how good you have
been to him and how much you love him....and he loves you back big time!!! :-D
 
Re: 1/27 Morris AMPS 248

This looks a little better Morris. I hope the liquipoo clears up soon too! How frustrating that must be. Before Spooky was Dx, it wasn't just the drinking and peeing, he also poo'd about 5 times a day and it was often runny and explosive. He had a lot of gas too and we were always saying "oh, Spooky get away you stink!" no idea why, but it cleared up as soon as we began treating him (no change in diet or anything either) :?
 
Re: 1/27 Morris AMPS 248

Awww yucko for the liquipoo....I hope it goes away real soon and the probiotics do their tricks. Glad to see that he is feeling better. Good Job, Brenda!
 
Re: 1/27 Morris AMPS 248

Hey Morris,
Shadoe and I hope you are feeling better soon, and we are glad to hear that you eating little bits and hope your appetite picks up a bit soon.
 
Came home from shopping and got a 55 at +8 on Morris...tested the other ear - 57. He's not eating very well today so I gave him 4 Tempation treats, which he loves. Will recheck in 1/2 hour but he should be OK...this is his normal nadir time.

On another note, I had a call from the new vet at my same old clinic (the one we saw on Saturday) because I called them with concern about the continuing pudding poos after 9 days on Flagyl and the 3 day Panacur treatment. Of course they called while I was out, but he left a message that the Flagyl could be the culprit at this point...that it can sometimes cause diarrhea and vomiting with extended use. He said to discontinue it and see what happens.

Meanwhile, just last night I refilled the prescription from the online compounding pharmacy because the OTHER vet, the old vet at the same clinic, said he would probably need more than 10 days on it....who do I believe???? grr_red

I'm going to stop the treatments but I will have the transdermal on hand to start it up again instantly if I need to.
 
Re: 1/27 Morris PMPS 252

I think I forgot to shoot Morris tonight!!!! Just thinking about it...I know I tested but pretty sure I didn't shoot. Oh well, he was doing so well too!

He is eating a LOT better tonight, and he had one of his toys out carrying it around and crying so I KNOW he's feeling much better! And I had to go and forget his shot...bad mamabean! grr_red
 
This too will pass. You will deplete his shed a little but get back on track. Glad he is eating and feeling better. Nice number. Go Morris.
 
That's OK - it happens. I thought I had forgotten once too, but then realized I had not.

He's eating better so that's a good thing. Like was said, some of that shed gets used and you will just start to refill it, just like when you increase the dose, right?

I made a change to my routine when I thought I forgot by putting the empty syringe on the kitchen counter first thing in the morn when I get up and then when I get home from work. Even though the times are way ahead of shot times, the syringe is there to remind me.

And Morris, awesome number!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top