1/27 MAX AMPS 143+3.5/140+6/104 PMPS 109 +2.5/122+5.5/103

Status
Not open for further replies.

tiffmaxee

Member Since 2013
YESTERDAY'S CONDO'S
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...5-121-5-74-6-7-5-64-pmps-134-2-75-168.132072/

Woke him to Max announcing he used his box. Pee only and more than an hour before amps. Then about 10 minutes before he tired to throw up some fur. Unsuccessful. It's cleaning day today so his schedule is off and he will likely be under the bed. He ate his baby food and will hopefully eat the ff before Marta arrives.

Prayers and vines to all in need.. Extras for Tricia's 4, Amy's DF, and all others in need. Worried about dental tomorrow. It's his first since FD.
 
Question. Since he can't have food after midnight, if he drops I presume I give him some karo only?
 
Not sure about your question re feeding, but just wanted to send good vetty vines for the dental tomorrow. :) hes starting out good today too, not green but not yellow either!
 
I think I remember someone else who's kitty was scheduled for a dental and dropped too low after midnight not long ago

If I remember right, they just went ahead and fed like they normally would when dropping too low and the vet just moved them back to later in the day on the schedule

Might be worth the phone call to talk to your vet and see what they would prefer you do tonight IF it becomes necessary
 
I could but don't you think karo alone would do it? My vet and I want him done early and I'm to get him in by 8 as he gets cage fever. If I have a lower pmps maybe I should give a reduced dose. He won't get any in the morning.
 
I'm sure you could keep him safe with Karo alone, but I'm not sure how that would effect the "nothing by mouth after midnight"

With Max's tendency to drop lower at night, I think it might not be a bad idea to lower his dose a bit tonight, but I would still call your vet and see what they say
 
Ask your vet for suggestions. When Neko had SRT (4 days of anesthesia in a row), the rule was no food after midnight too. The CSU vet said to feed if you have to, and let them know. I also gave Neko a good helping of MC just before cutoff time. I think midnight is +5 for you? Maybe just give him a higher carb food for meals tonight? That way you don't impact the depot as much and can keep in him in safer numbers.

For Neko's dental, she got 1/2 breffs before 6AM. But she eats raw food which digests faster.
 
Thanks for the feedback. I'll ask when they call me today. I think feeding higher carb until midnight is a good idea.
 
Elise, before Cinco's surgery, the vet said to use Karo if he went too low, so I'm sure that would be okay. Let's hope this is an unnecessary worry and Max behaves like the gentleman I know he is! (hint, hint, Max!)
 
Thank, Tricia. I know water is okay so I figured karo would be too. I'm hoping for a cycle like today's but the surfing blue is a tad worrisome.
 
I think giving Max some HC food this evening is a good idea. Hopefully he'll surf safely tonight. Sending good vetty vines.
 
Thanks for all the good wishes and vines. My vet said karo is fine and I think I will give him some mc instead of lc unless he is high at PMPS.
 
fingers crossed for the dental tomorow. I'm sure it will go well! we'll be thinking of you, so please let us know how things are progressing.

Good to know about the karo.

how's your mom doing today?
 
Thanks, Julie. If all goes according to plan he will get done early in the morning and be home by lunch.

My mom has not gotten a different antibiotic. She's going to see her internist tomorrow probably but hopefully he will change the antibiotic even if she refuses to go. Thanks for asking.
 
Just adding more prayers for safe surfing tonight and excellent dental procedure tomorrow...and more for your Mom, too!
 
Thanks, Amy. Trying to decide what to feed right now, 3% or 9%? Decided to go with 9%.

I also gave him just a bit less insulin tonight.
 
Last edited:
Hope he surfs a little higher tonight. Many pass crossed and prayers for an excellent dental tomorrow because I won't be on (work day).

More prayers for your mom, too.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top