"ready" is relative. Ready for what? There's no standard anymore. I have three food choices, one of which I was told originally I shouldn't use(hc) (glad i didn't throw the glyco away,) and changing dose suggestions.
I understand varying carbs and what that means but that doesn't help me come feeding time.
Are you saying that you guys wake up and determine/ augment your cats intake and insulin every day?
No I don't have any more questions I guess I can't word anything correctly
Things change. Diabetes is not static. Therefore, how and what we feed changes. I don’t believe you were ever told to NOT ever use HC. I believe you were likely told that the glycobalance isn’t the best choice as it is 14% calories from carbs, I believe, it’s expensive, and the ingredients are not great. But Jasper is your cat and if that’s what you want to feed him, then you should because the dose can always be adjusted to account for it.
It is incumbent upon you to learn all you can about FD by reading the stickys at the top of this page. You’ll see that there is an outlined way we approach dosing depending on whether you are doing Tight Regulation or Start Low Go Slow. You need to read those two and decide which works better for Jasper because, up until now (at least since you’ve been back), we’ve been going based on TR as it gives the best chance of remission. So, there is, in fact, a “standard”. It’s just the standard is not and never has been to keep shooting 2u cycle after cycle after cycle even when he’s dropped below 50. These are all things we could have been teaching you in the last several months. I understand very much that you hit some hard times and that makes it difficult to post here routinely but the info was always there even back when he had DKA.
I understand varying carbs and what that means but that doesn't help me come feeding time.
You have to learn how he responds to carbs. I suggest that you start writing down what you feed him and when in the “Remarks” section on the SS. That way, if he gives you a low number and you feed something very specific, then you know in the future how that worked for him and whether you need to try something different. By and large, you’ll be feeding LC food except when his numbers are dropping fast or are going low. Then you’ll need to up the ante. This is where
you have to learn about
him. For example, when we first got here, we were advised to get HC food 17-20% for the low numbers. That did not work for Gracie....she was more carb sensitive than that so the most I ever had to use for her was 10-13% with occasional drops of syrup if she went really low.
Are you saying that you guys wake up and determine/ augment your cats intake and insulin every day?
No. Members are either following TR or SLGS and, based on whether the cat earns a reduction or needs an increase per one of those methods, the insulin dose is adjusted as stated in those methods. A reduction is earned if the BG drops under 50 under TR which Jasper did today. The reductions are typically 0.25u; thus the suggestion to lower his dose to 0.25u today. I believe if you’d gotten a +2, you likely would have caught that drop before it got too low and could have fed to bring the nadir up and potentially held onto the dose a bit longer. However, with your work schedule and the fact that he did drop lower, then we need to be cautious and be sure you take the reduction to keep him safe.
Members feed based on what the numbers are telling them. The goal is to feed LC to the greatest extent possible; however, as I explained above, if the numbers are dropping fast esp early in the cycle or are relatively low, esp early in the cycle, it’s best to feed something more than LC food.
Instead of feeding him just a couple times a day, it might be best if your grandmother can feed him smaller meals earlier in the cycle or perhaps you can get an auto feeder set up to open at specific times.