1/27 Gracie PMPS 99

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marje and Gracie

Member Since 2010
Moderator
Gracie's Yesterday

1/26 Recap:
AMPS: 252 3rd cycle f1.25u lev
+3: 266
+5: 228
+7: 275
+9.5: 219
PMPS: 225 4th cycle f1.25u lev
+3: 227
+5: 288


Happy Friday. Sending more healing vines out to Sid, Rocket, Roni, and Christie.

Soooooooo....this is one of those mornings I should have taken my own advice about food management of the curve....and I didn't until it was a little late. Oh yes, I know that when Gracie is on a new dose and is bouncing that she usually clears on the 4th cycle of bounce (today) and yes, I know that when she went from an AMPS of 327 to a +3 of 219 that I should have checked her at +3.5 to see how fast she was coming down and caught it then. But no....Gracie went btb after T/F/S and so I went with her and we cuddled and I got up past +2 as Lupita was coming in and I was just muddied-headed and thought "who would check their cat again in 30 minutes when she's at 219?". Well, I do know our cat is not like other cats and I should have. I tried a different 10% on her this morning to try and get her away from her 10% fish but it didn't work as well. Of course, what I anticipate is another big bounce and she'll give us another chance (I hope) to do what I should have done today. BAD BEAN!! ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile

Other than THAT.....things in our world look pretty lovely today. It's a gorgeous day outside, all the kittens are happily napping with full bellies, Lupita is working like crazy cleaning house (but really...with the two of us, this house doesn't get bad from week to week), and we have so many things to be thankful for so I'll just deal with this little goof and remember that I have to start practicing what I preach!!!

Hope you all have a super day. I have to work on flight arrangements to go see DM this week and find a time to go pick up my SUV as the new bumper will be finished today so not sure how much I'll be around during the day.
 
Re: 1/27 Gracie AMPS 327 +3 219 +4 133 +5 80 +6 44

Maybe she'll surprise you (and all of us!) by not bouncing. We can always hope. In the meanwhile, look at those pretty numbers!
 
Re: 1/27 Gracie AMPS 327 +3 219 +4 133 +5 80 +6 44

Hi guys .. well she certainly has a nice array of colors today :-D Don't beat yourself up about not getting in that spot check .. you know full well if you would have checked her, she wouldn't of dropped :lol: Cats! Have a great weekend guys!
 
Re: 1/27 Gracie AMPS 327 +3 219 +4 133 +5 80 +6 44

Hi Marje, I agree with Devon as don't beat yourself up with missing a spot check. You and DH take such good care of little Gracie, and look how nice she's doing with her cycle. Wow with the 44 though! Besides you got some cuddles time in, and that's very important, says Gracie. Good luck with getting everything done with the SUV and flight arrangements. I'm sure DM will be so happy to see you again and get everything straightened out. Hugs.
 
Re: 1/27 Gracie AMPS 327 +3 219 +4 133 +5 80 +6 44 +7.5 60

Marje, if you don't mind my asking, what would you have considered an okay drop, from 1 to 3?
I wouldn't have thought 86 points was alarming. But then, I'm still taking lessons. :lol:

You do an amazing job of caring for Gracie....you know that :smile:
 
Re: 1/27 Gracie AMPS 327 +3 219 +4 133 +5 80 +6 44 +7.5 60

ahhhh, yes i'm smiling. it's funny how it's so much easier to pick up on "missed clues" with someone else's cat.
and you might ask how i know this...

from alex's ss the other day:

amps 74 @+12.5
+2 95 <--------- hmmm, not much of a bump for the Queen of Food Spikes
+6.25 39 <--------- kind of an early drop for a late nadir kitty. why in the world was i surprised by this number?

yep. the 95 @ +2 screamed for another test BEFORE +6.25 :roll:

stuff happens. glad you caught that 44!
 
Re: 1/27 Gracie AMPS 327 +3 219 +4 133 +5 80 +6 44 +7.5 60

Looks like she is through the bounce already!!!! Listen you are the most concerned & meticulous bean around--Sometimes I want to tell you to step away from the meter!! But I know you do what you have to for your baby, and it's all good--Keep up what is comfortable for you and just know--You cant be perfect with
this disease, it will always throw you a bit!!
Hugs & Lubs From us!! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 1/27 Gracie AMPS 327 +3 219 +4 133 +5 80 +6 44 +7.5 60

Barb: you have to keep in mind that Gracie is on levemir and so her curves look different than a lantus curve. A typical lev curve would have the kitty going UP after PS. Now...as everyone knows, Gracie never does anything "typically" and she actually gets some pretty good overlap between cycles. It's not that the 88 mg/dl drop was that big it's just that I know her and I do know that when she clears a bounce, she will often zoom zoom. If she is not going to do much, she either stays about the same or comes down just a little bit. Again...it's that know thy cat and as Jill points out....sometimes you do and you still "overlook" it just for a nicer word.

Jill: I'm so relieved that I'm not the only CG that "overlooks" the cues :lol: :lol: I do LOVE your example of Alex, though, because most of us lev folks would look at that and say "she's going up...good job". But we don't know Alex and, as you remarked, that isn't much of a spike for her. Mike asked me the other day why you can test her so little and her numbers look so great and I said (1) because she's TR'd and (2) because Jill knows her.

I didn't really catch the 44. I was checking her and feeding as needed every half hour from the +4 till +6.5....I just didn't post all those numbers. And finally...I did get a little something right....she was surfing at +7.5 but I have to go get my SUV shortly so I gave her a tiny bit of 4% and she's at 71 now....so surf baby!!

ETA:
Sometimes I want to tell you to step away from the meter
Oh Roni!! How I wish I could but if you look at Gracie's SS, you'll see why we can't. And because I'm trying to not use the karo to slow her down or bring her up, I have to check more to be sure that the food is doing the job. This morning, it wasn't so I had to keep testing and feeding to get her to a safe number. She would have just kept going down because she was onsetting and clearing the bounce at the same time.
 
Re: 1/27 Gracie AMPS 327 +3 219 +4 133 +5 80 +6 44 +7.5 60

Mike asked me the other day why you can test her so little and her numbers look so great and I said (1) because she's TR'd and (2) because Jill knows her.
and (3) because alex helps out occasionally.

she was sleeping in the next room. she just literally ran in here and plopped herself down between me and the laptop. this prompted me to test her.
48 @+11. guess who got a freeze dried chicken treat an hour before pmps? :lol:
 
Re: 1/27 Gracie AMPS 327 +3 219 +4 133 +5 80 +6 44 +7.5 60

You've been so busy helping me with Champ, you forgot to look closer to home!!! Oops!!! Happens to everyone, I guess!!!

Hope you've had a good day!!!!
 
Re: 1/27 Gracie AMPS 327 +3 219 +4 133 +5 80 +6 44 +7.5 60

Hey Marje, Nice data collecting today!! You have a great handle on things. I know that Gracie's super-sensitivities make that imperative, but it is impressive none the less.

Surf, Gracie, surf, and no bouncing, OK?

Enjoy the evening. I hope you got everything done today that you needed to do.

Ella & Rusty

p.s. Thanks for your help with Rusty's dose.
p.p.s. What's that guy Tobey up to?
 
Jill: and that, too! :lol: :lol:

Patty: no kidding....it's so much easier to see on someone else's SS!

Ella: Thank you...that is really kind of you to say. Tobey said to send you his love...he's coming to see you soon.

I had to go get my SUV and then my friend that took me there wanted to go to dinner. Got back for Gracie's T/F/S and we're going to watch "Midnight in Paris" so I won't be around until later.

My sweet girl did not zoom zoom up in the a.m. cycle so we'll see how the p.m. cycle goes. NICE PMPS Baby girl!!!

Have a great evening. Sending hugs and YIPPEE on Weezers GREEN PMBG!!
 
:mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: Keeping it GREEN, Miss Gracie! WE all do it, especially in our sleep deprived states. I probably should have upped Tess's carbs last night too, but I was too wiped out to think.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top